WTTF

Steelers, Hotspurs
Still think we don't need the Priority Pick?

We got a good dose of reality on the weekend. We had as good as our best team playing and got absolutely smashed by the youngest team Sheedy has ever coached.

Anyone who suggests we tanked are kidding themselves too...........we played to win, but resorted back to old habits from earlier in the year when put under pressure by the opposition.

Our defence has been a disgrace all season...........the midfield got smashed yet again..........the forward line continues to look ok.

We need to face facts...........we need the priority pick more the anyone else as we have a distinct lack of talented young players.

The backline has been very poor for a few years now.
Don't know why the coach keeps faith in Thornton, in my opinion he is:
a/ too short
b/ not that good overhead
c/ not aggressive enough
d/ not strong enough
e/ plays behind the forward too much, giving the forward a good look at the ball.
Apart from Thornton, we have no other "recognised" backmen.
In this case then, getting a good defender or two would be a priority, along with a ruckman and midfielder.
Could do with a forward to..................but would then need to de-list about 15 players so will have to use the upcoming draft VERY wisely.
Was talk of Mal Michael being a prospect, any more on this ?
:)

I don't think anybody said that we don't need the priority pick. Some people just can't abide by the tanking talk and that is a fair point that can't be shouted down. Some don't want the wooden spoon, that too is a fair point that can't be shouted down.

The general theme is that we wanted the guys to try, if they weren't good enough, then so be it. Whatever happens happens but I and others did not want us to engineer ourselves into a wooden spoon to get the picks. If we had have won, then we would not have been worthy of the priority pick according to the rules of the comp. We didn't win and a likely loss this week means we are worthy of the picks.

I want entertain any criticism of fellow Carlton supporters (as has been the case) because they want to win. We may have an extra pick come November but it has been made obvious to us by opposition supporters that half of us have sold our souls, sold out to the system, forfeited our pride along the way. We had respect at least because our resolve was unshaken previously. After only four years, it seems we run the risk of being labelled frontrunners.

I'm not attacking anyone directly here, just expressing a concern I have. I want the picks too but I never barracked for them.

Just a pitiful, heartless and disgraceful display by us yesterday. The picks don't ease the pain at all.

Uhumagoo said:
I definately wanted to win yesterday, but the loss did not even remotely hurt as much as it should.

I know. What's with the knee-jerk reaction from everybody? Yesterday's game was a nothing game. It was between 2 bottom 4 clubs that had no bearing on the finals. Carlton's effort was minimal. There was nothing to play for, and you could see that though their attitude. We lacked the sting that was there in previous weeks, but that was to be expected given the priority pick situation. Infact, I would be a little worried if the club wasn't putting in most of its resources into preparing for 2006.

As I stated last week, the Carlton FC has closed early this year.

This game will soon be forgotten, as will the season.

WTTF said:
Still think we don't need the Priority Pick?

We got a good dose of reality on the weekend. We had as good as our best team playing and got absolutely smashed by the youngest team Sheedy has ever coached.

Anyone who suggests we tanked are kidding themselves too...........we played to win, but resorted back to old habits from earlier in the year when put under pressure by the opposition.

Our defence has been a disgrace all season...........the midfield got smashed yet again..........the forward line continues to look ok.

We need to face facts...........we need the priority pick more the anyone else as we have a distinct lack of talented young players.

I am one of the blues supporters who wants us to play to win and play with passion. If we play with passion and dont win I will still be happy. I would also be happy to get the draft pics if we did lose.

However in my opinion it wouldn't matter if we got the first 4 pics if the culture of the present side continues the way it is. We are a team that is like a bipolar person. We are up and amazing when things are flowing and terrible and depressive when the chips are down.

Koutoufides, Stevens, Scotland are all highly skilled and are supposed leaders of the club but have such a wide scope of passion in their footy. Camporeale is another. He had 30 plus possessions but no passion. How well would 4 super kids go if they play in an environment such as is present at the Carlton footy club at the moment.

Kouta could be a great and inspirational leader but something is missing in his mind. We have so many skilled people who just keep missing in the mental department. Denis I believe is also not at home half the time with his awareness. It will be great if we get the picks but unless we look at the deep issues at the club the draft pics are going to be a fake saviour to mask things even more.

Anyone that thinks winning the spoon and getting a couple of early drafts picks will turn the club around is mistaken.

Why is it when we sign a player to a long term contract (re Whitnall, Fevola) they then do nothing for a couple of years. Then in their last year they pull the finger out in time to put their hand up for another fat contract.

Our young players are going along alright we need our more experienced players to be more consistent and actually care about the result.

Wooden spoons are for losers and St Kilda.

So many people talk crap here. We need the picks and Sunday made that all the more obvious. We are on the bottom for a reason and its not rocket science to know why.

Lack of talent & young talent at that. Clearly the worst list in the legue and some people on this board cant realise this obvious point.

Its not a matter of "Oh geez lets try and loose this game for picks"

THEY HAVENT GOT TALENT TO WIN!

I thought the boys from Princess Park did good job yesterday.

Wait to you get your list back!!! Oh sorry they are all available.

But you played a top side!! Oh Sorry Top 14 side.

The word is that Campo will not run out with the team through the Banner.

He reckons it is a bit too much like a pack!. If Dennis wants him to run out through the banner next week he might also want him to get a hard ball.

Of course that will never happen : :p

WhyWilliams said:

He reckons it is a bit too much like a pack!. If Dennis wants him to run out through the banner next week he might also want him to get a hard ball.

oh and i suppose collingwood did great this weekend??? didnt they lose by over 100???

your teams ********ter than ours and the main reason. you complain about injuries

Anthony Rocca Achilles - season (still ok but not like he used to be)
Rhyce Shaw Knee - season (nothing special)
Cameron Cloke shoulder - season (same as shaw)
Sean Rusling collarbone - season (who?)
David King Knee - season (thers only one david king)
Tristen Walker Ankle - season (dud)
Richard Cole broken hand - season (dud)
Chris Tarrant knee - season (not even injured just ur crap club tanking)
Josh Fraser knee - season(2nd biggest joke of a number 1 draft pick after godard)
Brayden Shaw ankle – season(isnt he the 1 getting delisted)
Alan Didak - 1 week ( overated)

bunch of duds and rejects that eddie makes out to be superstars.

oh and the main reason we r better than you just go back 9 days

It saddens me that we play in a system that makes losing acceptable. It sucks that we got flogged by the bombers, but that's supposedly ok cos we now look like getting a pp. Before everyone tees off at me, I know how much we need the early picks - yesterday showed that - but it feels wrong thinking that it's ok to get the spoon cos it means early picks.

I'd like to be able to cheer loud and proud every week for a win, rather than walk out thing "that's ok, at least we didn't lose the pp" :(

For the first time in my life I left a game at half time yesterday, I was so digusted and annoyed with the efforts Carlton put in...

Sticks 4 said:
It saddens me that we play in a system that makes losing acceptable. It sucks that we got flogged by the bombers, but that's supposedly ok cos we now look like getting a pp. Before everyone tees off at me, I know how much we need the early picks - yesterday showed that - but it feels wrong thinking that it's ok to get the spoon cos it means early picks.

I'd like to be able to cheer loud and proud every week for a win, rather than walk out thing "that's ok, at least we didn't lose the pp" :(

No one is saying it is OK to lose. I hate losing as much as the next person, but sometimes the truth hurts. Fact of the matter is we are severely lacking quality, class youngters.

Yes, we have Waite, Carrazzo, Simpson, Thornton, Walker, Fisher and the like, but if we are fair dinkum, of those players only Waite as proven he is going to be a class act going forward so far.

Having lost those 3 first round draft picks a few seasons ago (turned put to be Goddard, Wells & McLean) and two second rounders we are a long way behind most of the other teams that have struggled in recent times in regards to quality youth.

This is the hand we've been dealt, and as much as the Prioty Pick system is floored, it does provide clubs with a lifeline. A lifeline we desperately need.

I'm sick of going the footy each week watching the likes of Wiggins, Davies, Prendergast, Sporn, Bowyer, Morrell, Longmuir and the like rotated in and out of the team, because there are no youngsters ready to come in yet.

We need a few class acts, as they few we have are getting on in years. I'm all for exploring trades to stock up on as many early picks as possible. ie/ Whitnall, Lappin & Houlihan. I don't think Campo is going anywhere, nor that too many teams would want him.

WTTF said:
No one is saying it is OK to lose. I hate losing as much as the next person, but sometimes the truth hurts. Fact of the matter is we are severely lacking quality, class youngters.

Yes, we have Waite, Carrazzo, Simpson, Thornton, Walker, Fisher and the like, but if we are fair dinkum, of those players only Waite as proven he is going to be a class act going forward so far.

Having lost those 3 first round draft picks a few seasons ago (turned put to be Goddard, Wells & McLean) and two second rounders we are a long way behind most of the other teams that have struggled in recent times in regards to quality youth.

This is the hand we've been dealt, and as much as the Prioty Pick system is floored, it does provide clubs with a lifeline. A lifeline we desperately need.

I'm sick of going the footy each week watching the likes of Wiggins, Davies, Prendergast, Sporn, Bowyer, Morrell, Longmuir and the like rotated in and out of the team, because there are no youngsters ready to come in yet.

We need a few class acts, as they few we have are getting on in years. I'm all for exploring trades to stock up on as many early picks as possible. ie/ Whitnall, Lappin & Houlihan. I don't think Campo is going anywhere, nor that too many teams would want him.

Well said WTTF. IMHO yesterday's debacle proved that we need young talent more than ever. I don't like losing or finishing last either but do Blues' supporters honestly think that the team would have played any better if there wasn't a PP system in place.

Whether we like or not, the system is there is to help teams like CARLTON who have a deficiency of talent. God knows how many draft picks we have missed out on over the past 8 to 10 years because of salary cap penalties or have traded away for other teams' has beens or never wasas.

We have to face up to the reality of the situation that our present squad is not good to enough to get us into the 8 and we need to recruit some quality players. Finishing last we will also give us the 1st pick in the PSD which hopefully be a tall, hard bodied defender or a quick experienced midfielder, both of which we desperately need.

WTTF, thanks for quoting me. Your the first to do that. It makes me feel special ;)

I know we need these picks. I know we're not good enough to consistently play to the standard required. I can't believe we went from looking so competitive over the last 3 weeks to putting in that sort of performance. I'm shattered that we can play like that just when we were looking like our young players were making some real inroads.

Win or lose this week I just hope we use our picks wisely, trade very wisely, and make sure these games are a thing of the past.

For the record when we picked up the spoon in 2002 I made a drunken bet with a mate that we'd win the flag in 2006. We're going to need some pretty rapid improvement for me to keep my cash :o

WhyWilliams said:

get back to the filth board you toothless feral ...at least we take comfort that our list is way ahead of the hacks down at collywobble land . the clokes are an amazing talent aren't they ?? LMAO

Stop being a bunch of drama queens.

There's a very fine line between pride and stupidity.

Because of draft and financial constraints we find our club pretty much ********ed at present, but that's made worse because we have been totally spoiled as supporters for the last 20-30 years in regards to success and watching top players.

It's not just a case of players its also a case of financial importance. face it finishing 2nd last isnt going to bring any more money into a club than finishing last

What does bring money and memberships back to a club is the promise of something in the future.

Look at Hawthorn and maybe even Richmond.

Normally a Richmond side that is going to miss a finals AGAIN would be beying for blood but because they have a kid like Deledio who shows massive promise they are all starting to jump back on the wagon in anticipation.

Hawthorn is another example of what a few exciting young draft picks can do for the confidence of a team lacking talent.
Roughead and franklin and lewis will ensure new members sign up and the old ones all re-sign.

If anyone thinks that pick 6 or 7 will have people flooding back to resign or sign up as members for carlton you are deluded.

Give them a #1 pick and someone like marc murphy and a shannon hurn and they will be excited by the prospects for the future.

The NBA is a good example of how a high draft pick can improve the marketability of a club in financial termsas well as its playing roster.

Wooden spoons are irrelevant

Just learn to temper one's pride before it become stupidity.

AndSmithMustScore said:
Just learn to temper one's pride before it become stupidity.
I have to object again. This is an emotional issue and while their is a realist side to football, there is a massive emotional side and pride does play a part. If our hearts are in the right place ultimately, then the abuse between the two sides of the coin is completely unnecessary. Some live for the now and some live for the future. As far as I can see, this is just like the republican referendum, on the same side but tore each other apart over details.

I will never agree with people going to the football and outwardly barracking for a loss, as has been claimed on this site. How the hell does that look?