lamby29

I went all the way down to TBO today, and saw the boys train.

The most impressive players out there were: McLean, Smith, Read, Green, Heffernan and Jamar.

Just a brief report on our newest additions:

Ben Holland: I don't think he was there. Not sure why.

Phil Read: He was actually very impressive. Read is very quick over the first 20m and disposes the ball well. I'll have to see more of him, but maybe I judged him wrong to begin with.

Colin Sylvia: Only walked a few laps. It's looking unlikely that we'll see him in the Wizard Cup and the first few rounds of the season.

Brock McLean: Very, very impressive. His disposal is outstanding. He was spearing his kicks low and hard, and did not miss a single target. He is massive too. One to watch this season.

Chris Johnson: He looks like a long term prospect, but is still very skinny. He is a very good kick on either foot and moves well, considering his height.

Aaron Davey: I didn't see a lot of him, but apparently he is easily the quickest player at the club (not surprising). His disposal was good without being brilliant.

Paul Newman: Nothing special. Didn't impress me much.

Joel Campbell: He moved well, looked like TJ from a distance.

Overall, the team looked good, but they always do at this time of year.

Bring on the Wizard Cup!

Well done lamby, thanks for the report.

Yeah, interesting that a few who did lighter work Monday sound like they impressed yesterday. Might've been some flu around who knows.

No worries guys.

Jamar was still a bit restricted, but was marking everything that came his way, and is also good on his non preferred right foot!

Smith is enourmous, has an amazing pair of hands and is a great kick. I like the look of him.

But the one to watch is McLean.

Originally posted by lamby29
No worries guys.

Jamar was still a bit restricted, but was marking everything that came his way, and is also good on his non preferred right foot!

Smith is enourmous, has an amazing pair of hands and is a great kick. I like the look of him.

But the one to watch is McLean.

Jamar being decent with his preferred foot is exciting enough, let alone his opposite foot:eek: The bloke's come a long way in the past two years.

Deadset bucket hands Nick Smith! Never seen him drop a mark.

Originally posted by BT
Better than Yze? I have my doubts but I'll reserve my judgement until I've seen him in a Dees game.

At training monday and while i admit didnt see much of brocks kicking he ceranly seemed to be very good in close and thats what he is with us for isnt he? get to he contests and dive in. I think that Ratten will be a really good influence on him. Im not to sure what player I would liken him to, although I agree with Finks i was really excited about him, especially after the uproar about his selection at #5 from what we have seen so far (lol games havent even started) it might go a little way to justify he selction!

During the touch games it looked like he stood in a pack, the ball turned up in his hands (some of the boys were calling him a ball magnet) and he dished out cleanly to a player in space.

At this stage i to would question if his kicking is on a par with yze or tj (only cos i didnt see that much of it) but ill have to wait what 4-5 weeks now to find out!

On a side note im getting a bit impatiant waiting for Sylvia to get into full training... if this is how brock is would love to see what collin can do!

Finks does a great job with his training reports at Demonland, however I reckon he might've gone a bit over the top on this one. It's easy enough to do, as Brock is a very exciting prospect. From the little i've seen of Brock he has good disposal but his strength is his hardness, that's why I always preffered him to Kane Tenace.

I don't think there was that much uproar at drafting Brock at 5 was there? I few thought we might've gone for Tenace (we have enough of his type already) or Clarke (No way in my book) but McLean was an obvious choice for mine.

We're all keen to see Sylvia in action, but we'll have to be patient with him.

ok maybe not an uproar... but considerng what wizby or who ever it was said about him... a few people on this board (obviously not melbourne supporters) thaught we could have done better. Was definatly differing opinions about him, which now in my book now seing what he can do have been settled.

As for Collin.. saw him running laps at training last week and he looked hug... then he was at a nightclub in hawthorn on Tuesday night this week (obviously enjoyying taking it easy) and he is HUGE... ok im like 6'1-2 and 82kg.... but this guy is just big compared to me... not tall, but across the shoulders... for an 18/19 year old dam.

Originally posted by DEEdicated
ok maybe not an uproar... but considerng what wizby or who ever it was said about him... a few people on this board (obviously not melbourne supporters) thaught we could have done better. Was definatly differing opinions about him, which now in my book now seing what he can do have been settled.
On the other hand, Noel Judkins saw McLean as the best player in the draft behind Cooney.

Exactly it's all just opinion.

Some of the critisism from non Melbourne supporters could be explained by, acknowledging that some of these people didn't realise the type of player we needed.

Also you can never rule out the fact that some people will just critisise for the sake of it. :)

:) Opinions thats right! and in my opinion we did damn good to get both brock and collin from what I have seen... not thats it's much... Bring on the wizzard cup!

I actually went to training again today. Not much to add from my original report....

Positives:

- Travis is on fire! He is more reliable on his left foot than most players in the AFL are on their preferred feet. He's bulked up a fair bit too. We're a completely different side when he fires, so hopefully 2004 is his year!

- Although he is still raw, CJ has a ****load of natural talent. He might even surprise us all and play a few senior games this year.

- Jared Rivers is set for a big year. He has added a lot of muscle, is quick across the ground, and consistently hits targets. He will surprise many.

- Williams is injured.

Negatives:

- Godfrey can't kick. As much as I love his attack on the footy, I don't think we can afford to have him in the senior side.

- Yze and Heffernan were consistently missing targets. Yze in particular worries me, as he wasn't much better last week and we need him firing again this year.

- Sylvia still hasn't started training. I highly doubt we will see him in the senior side until at least Round 5.

Overall, a fairly decent session.

The 3 players to watch this year are Trapper, Rivers and McLean.

I actually went to training again today. Not much to add from my original report....

Positives:

- Travis is on fire! He is more reliable on his left foot than most players in the AFL are on their preferred feet. He's bulked up a fair bit too. We're a completely different side when he fires, so hopefully 2004 is his year!

No doubt he's not far behind Neeta & Yze in importance to us, we can only hope...

Negatives:

- Godfrey can't kick. As much as I love his attack on the footy, I don't think we can afford to have him in the senior side.

Gotta be kidding! He's the only guy who imposes himself on the opposition. We get intimidated often enough as it is & with out Godders, it'd happen every week. We need more of his type not less. He's smart enough to give it off on most occasions these days anyway & he's the fittest bloke on the list.

Negatives:

- Yze and Heffernan were consistently missing targets. Yze in particular worries me, as he wasn't much better last week and we need him firing again this year.

I thought Yze's disposal was poor on a few occasions last year & every time he misses you notice, because it's out of character. He might just be one of those lazy trainers? As long as he sorts it out by Round 1, it won't bother me much. ;)

Dunno what to make of Heff :confused: . He like Yze is supposed to be one of our better disposers, maybe we judge them more harshly? Apparently he's very self critical (too critical I've heard) so I'm sure he'd be aware of & will improve on this effort.

Thanx Lamby.

*Saturday 31st January, Trevor Barker Oval, 8.30am
* Monday 2nd February, Optus Oval, 9.00am

I hope to be going down there on Monday...

I would read the Finks training report, but normally it's filled with topless photos of the players, and I really think I can do without that.

But by all reports, things are really taking shape. But let's not blow a load yet - we still have to do it out on the field, and until we do, I'm not at all convinced.

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
I would read the Finks training report, but normally it's filled with topless photos of the players, and I really think I can do without that.

hehehe, I know what you mean.