TOD's Book......."Once Were Sharps"

Read it a week ago and Mrs Toes read it last night. LOVED IT TOD :thumbsu:

There's nothing like a reminder of why it wasn't a great move to jump on the Epping line train late at night back in the day. I really enjoyed it, as did Mrs Toes (who developed an affinity for Peewee). Top job mate.

I dunno how you managed to fit it in whilst dealing cards out on here, but finish it you did. We have a bonafide author in our midst. A bloody good one at that! :thumbsu:

Who else has read it? Anyone else remember those glorious days?

Look, tssssssssssssssh, if you haven't read it, and you'd like a copy to see what one of your mod's gets up to in his spare time, PM The Other Dean and I'm sure he'll arrange for a copy to be sent your way, for the bargain price of only $20 + postage (approx). In fact, do yourselves a favour and buy the thing even if you can't read. It's the least you can do to help support one of your own. $20!!!!!!

Anyhoo, onya TOD. Really appreciate you getting into the lives of the Thomastown dudes, and fully realise the sacrifices you had to make in pouring your heart and soul into researching and writing the thing.

Well done. :thumbsu:

Haha. Sympathy post.

Cheers, TT. You are very, very kind. I appreciate it.

And I'm happy to take your post as an application for the job of my press agent in lieu of a regular application.

As for the rest of the reponses to this thread, well, what can I say - I'm suitably humbled. :thumbsu:

You never know when I may need that job TOD. As I once said to a street bum, who I've seen on Collins St regularly for the past 11 years, and who I know pretty well, "The reason I treat you with respect is that all of us are only ever a few bad months away from being in your position. Treat those as you'd like to be treated etc."

I'm both surprised AND disappointed in the lack of responses here actually. I know alot of posters pledged to purchase your book back when it was released so, either they haven't (yet, I hope) or they have but have it set aside for our next bye weekend, when they can devote their minds to reading it without distraction!

COME ON FOLKS, PLEASE PM TOD and purchase the thing. $20+ postage ONLY!!!!!

Help a fellow NMFC BF doyen out and, in turn, enjoy what really is a bloody good read. :thumbsu:

You never know when I may need that job TOD. As I once said to a street bum, who I've seen on Collins St regularly for the past 11 years, and who I know pretty well, "The reason I treat you with respect is that all of us are only ever a few bad months away from being in your position. Treat those as you'd like to be treated etc."

I'm both surprised AND disappointed in the lack of responses here actually. I know alot of posters pledged to purchase your book back when it was released so, either they haven't (yet, I hope) or they have but have it set aside for our next bye weekend, when they can devote their minds to reading it without distraction!

COME ON FOLKS, PLEASE PM TOD and purchase the thing. $20+ postage ONLY!!!!!

Help a fellow NMFC BF doyen out and, in turn, enjoy what really is a bloody good read. :thumbsu:

Don't worry, TT. I've got TOD's book and I've skimmed through it so far and I'm looking forward to reading it from page 1 to 'the end'. I'm not in a relaxed enough mood to read any book for enjoyment at present though. I blame our PATHETIC form for my unsettled state of mind.

Anyway, from what I've read so far (and the photographs), I will need to clarify some of the fashion points with TOD over a beer or three one day. The sharpies I knew from the mid to late 60s were quite the fashion plates - short hair, maybe a bit longer at the back, flag jeans, pinstripes or checks, purchased from places like Fairways in Elizabeth St and beautiful knitted shirts made by Crestknit mainly pale blue and maroon and handmade shoes, purchased from specialist shoe shops in places like Collingwood - Aquila was one place, near Vic Park. They may have been forerunners of the sharps.

The other thing to note is that the transport system played a big role in the collisions between rival sharpie gangs. The sharpies I knew were from Collingwood and surrounds. They would travel to leafy suburbs like Doncaster, Kew and Balwyn on the Bulleen bus or on the North Balwyn or Mont Albert tram - sort of like a weekend outing. There were plenty of mods for them to intimidate out east. However, the eastern suburbs rarely saw any of the northern sharpie gangs from West Heidelberg and Thomastown and places like that.

What "meetings" there were between rival gangs would normally occur in the city. Again the public transport system being crucial to the movement of the gangs. Access to cars was very limited - which was just as well seeing as how a fair bit of drinking was done by many of the gang members.

As I said, I'm looking forward to the read. They were fascinating times when people didn't wish to conform. So they all looked different (but in the same way). Probably nothing's changed in 30 or 40 years really.

Was there a Monty Python sketch where the mob is yelling in protest at some outrage "everyone is an individual" and a lone voice says "I'm not"? I rather like that.

The other thing to note is that the transport system played a big role in the collisions between rival sharpie gangs. The sharpies I knew were from Collingwood and surrounds. They would travel to leafy suburbs like Doncaster, Kew and Balwyn on the Bulleen bus or on the North Balwyn or Mont Albert tram - sort of like a weekend outing. There were plenty of mods for them to intimidate out east. However, the eastern suburbs rarely saw any of the northern sharpie gangs from West Heidelberg and Thomastown and places like that.

Yes, it was those weekend excursioning Sharpies in bold who I'd have to avoid when heading up to Doncaster Shoppingtown, from my family abode in Templestowe, back in the day Mr R. I'd also try to avoid them when heading into town and playing the pinnies in Swanston St, back when there was a constant traffic jam of cars in each direction of the famous street.

Oh god, those were the days. I reckon we would've crossed paths back in the late 70's and early 80's TT. Although I was born and bred in country Victoria, I spent my teenage years in Thomastown and knew some of the guys in TOD's book. Never was part of that scene but going to the local high school and shops you were confronted with the Sharps on a daily basis.

The book TOD wrote is such a great recount of the era and really transforms you back. You gotta love the high jeans, moccassins and connie jumpers look!!

Anyone wanting to know what life in suburban Melbourne was like back in those days for a teenager, you MUST grab the book.:thumbsu:

Jay-sus. Is this a mod thread?

I stumbled upon the book on ebay, thought it was about that early 90's pop group and couldn't have bought it now quick enough.

Despite my initial disappointment on opening the packaging and seeing that the author had decided to scrawl some personal greeting (and phone number, strangely), I was quickly hooked.

Deano has put out a damned good read and admittedly, had it been written by anybody else I wouldn't have been interested in the subject matter so much BUT... it is fascinating. And incredibly easy to read. Kind of like a mate reading it to you. That said, anybody that has spoken to TOD might do well to wait for the audio book read by Sir Ian McKellen.

In short, the book is awesome and I probably won't see it again as it is currently circulating through my family. And $20 is a deadset bargain. Get on.

Oh god, those were the days. I reckon we would've crossed paths back in the late 70's and early 80's TT.

You could be the dude I took on and beat at Galaga. If so, you still owe me the money for 5 Dim Sims you bastard! :fat cheeked face of fast food dining.

They were great days mate.

We may well have crossed paths in town. I was telling TOD that my nemesis were the Euro Boys, who hung around Doncaster Shoppingtown mostly. Some of them graduated to become characters in the Underbelly series. Most notably was Alphonse Gangitano of course.

Ahhhh the sweet memories.

I mostly came into contact with blokes like the Thommo Sharps when attending the Melbourne Show, or the footy, or, most of all, when catching the train. What a fun friendly bunch they were. :heart:

Good to see the flood of responses from North posters here too. No doubt people are dipping their hands into the old skyrocket to help out a bloke who's moderated this forum for the past four years, through Lidge's untimely passing, and through many tough times. Not to mention the fact that TOD was a key figure in organising the Roo-sistence gig our club so desperately required and those who attended will remember forever as one of the greatest nights ever to be a North Melbourne supporter!

If you haven't yet, please do yourself a favour and fire him a PM. Unbeknown to most, TOD went as far as leaving his employment to embark on this awhile ago, and he could do with our support. Many hands make light work, as they say, so if each of us dips in and purchases a copy for $20 (which is well worth it anyway), we're supporting our fellow North man by assisting with the costs of such a major exercise.

As we say to Euge all the time.......DO IT! Your copy of the book's but a PM to The Other Dean away.

I've been slack and haven't picked up a copy yet, but I will hand over some folding stuff to TOD shortly. I can't wait to read it!

I've got my copy and a it is a great read indeed.

Get on board everyone and buy it now as our TOD is going to be a famous author one day soon and we will all be able to say we knew him from the outset.

I would suggest that the reason not many people have commented so far as like me they rarely wander over to Lidge's Lounge. (And I am ashamed to say that. :o) Today is the first I have seen this thread, hence the first opportunity to post.

I've got my copy and a it is a great read indeed.

Get on board everyone and buy it now as our TOD is going to be a famous author one day soon and we will all be able to say we knew him from the outset.

I would suggest that the reason not many people have commented so far as like me they rarely wander over to Lidge's Lounge. (And I am ashamed to say that. :o) Today is the first I have seen this thread, hence the first opportunity to post.
I've calmed down a bit and I'd loved to buy TOD's book about the sharps, T'toes.

Good to see mate. Like the band, TOD's done plenty for us on BF so it's about time we scratched his back! Fire him a PM and he'll look after you I'm sure. :thumbsu:

Check out a story on the book here.

Ha, well spotted, man. Any publicity is good publicity I suppose, but I must admit that the article's scant regard for factual accuracy kinda makes me want to puke all over my pc.

Just to clarify a point which the article neglects to properly distinguish, all the words in the book were written by my good self. The tales were culled from interviews with the Sharps, but I was the one who went through all the interview tapes and wrote up their stories. No one assisted me in writing those words. They all come from me and my tiny brain.

For the article to insinuate anything other than the above, after all the hard work I put into writing it, is pretty insulting. But then what can you expect from a bunch of hack journos.

"metro guns" lol.

Sorry, I missed this post earlier, Mr R.

Yes, "metro guns".

A nice facepalm moment. Idiot journalist ftw.

No doubt Caro's prints are all over that article TOD.

Should have written about the Gold Coast.

Either way, you live and learn, mate. You live and learn.

Sorry, I missed this post earlier, Mr R.

Yes, "metro guns".

A nice facepalm moment. Idiot journalist ftw.

No worries, TOD. Speaking of fake tatts, have you had the misfortune of seeing "the River Boys" and their fake tatts on Home and Away? Terrifying stuff.

I've always "admired" (it's not the right word, but I can't think of a better one) the tatts that prisoners put on themselves in the 60s and 70s. I think they used to gouge and burn letters and symbols into their skin with anything sharp or hot that they could get their hands on. Crude but morbidly effective.

My late cousin (who spent quite a bit of time at Her Majesty's pleasure) had "love" on the knuckles of one hand and "hate" on the other. I saw the latter close up one day when I refused to "lend" him some money for booze.

Just to clarify a point which the article neglects to properly distinguish, all the words in the book were written by my good self. The tales were culled from interviews with the Sharps, but I was the one who went through all the interview tapes and wrote up their stories. No one assisted me in writing those words. They all come from me and my tiny brain.

For the article to insinuate anything other than the above, after all the hard work I put into writing it, is pretty insulting. But then what can you expect from a bunch of hack journos.

You should have just sent them a press release and you can be sure it would have been printed verbatim in a suburban newspaper. (Years of PR taught me this)

And the book is a great read.

No worries, TOD. Speaking of fake tatts, have you had the misfortune of seeing "the River Boys" and their fake tatts on Home and Away? Terrifying stuff.

Errr, no. A long time ago I made a decision not to watch Home And Away. And there hasn't been a single day since that I have regretted that decision.

I've always "admired" (it's not the right word, but I can't think of a better one) the tatts that prisoners put on themselves in the 60s and 70s. I think they used to gouge and burn letters and symbols into their skin with anything sharp or hot that they could get their hands on. Crude but morbidly effective.

Big fan of prison tatts. Talking of fake tatts/prison tatts, love De Niro's work in the remake of Cape Fear. Looks awesome. My own ever-growing number are kinda modelled on that. True story.

My late cousin (who spent quite a bit of time at Her Majesty's pleasure) had "love" on the knuckles of one hand and "hate" on the other. I saw the latter close up one day when I refused to "lend" him some money for booze.

Ha. The old love/hate combo. One day I plan to get "gun!" and "jet!" tattooed on my fingers. They're not actually the same thing, you know.

You should have just sent them a press release and you can be sure it would have been printed verbatim in a suburban newspaper. (Years of PR taught me this)

And the book is a great read.

Thanks, bs.

And cheers for the good advice. As I said, you live and learn.

Anyone interested in TOD's book would probably be interested in this little gem I found on youtube - film is by Greg Macainsh from The Skyhooks shot at a Billy Thorpe and Lobby Lloyd concert at Melbourne showgrounds in 1974. Awesome music by Lobby Lloyd.

Without referring back to the book there was at least one sharp story in TOD's book at the showground (but I think it may have been at the show).

[YOUTUBE]JNcdUbVWH8E[/YOUTUBE]

Good find there bs. I remember those days well, albeit through the eyes of a 6 year old. That footage reminded me of the walk into AAMI Stadium for the Port prelim.

Anyone interested in TOD's book would probably be interested in this little gem I found on youtube - film is by Greg Macainsh from The Skyhooks shot at a Billy Thorpe and Lobby Lloyd concert at Melbourne showgrounds in 1974. Awesome music by Lobby Lloyd.

Yeah, nice one, bs. That Macainsh film is pretty sacred footage among the ex-Sharp community.

Haven't got around to sending him a book yet. :cheers for reminding me face

Although, maybe playing off the Skyhooks (million dollar) riff, a friend of Nick's forwarded a copy to Macainsh's old bandmate, Red Symons. He's read the book and he's a fan. Got his producer to track us down for an interview for his radio show.

Slowly, slowly....