Ticktak

Glenelg FC, Canucks, Seahawks
Everything you read about him makes you think he could be the best midfielder in this years draft.

I know Thunderstruck rates him.

I reckon he is worth the risk. VanBerlo could mentor him as a fellow WA lad and we end up having the best midfield for the next 10 years.

What do people think? Was Judd worth the risk?

Below is from the Collingwood board:

Seems like he's a pure accumulator, inside and outside, good skills and has a good size on him. Tested well in 20m sprint so he's not slow. Ticks so many boxes, with just the injury clouds the only criteria that stops him from being perfect. On top of this he sounds like a hard working, determined and level-headed kid.

14.1 beep = 9th at DC
2.89 seconds 20m sprint = 5th at DC
72cm standing vertical jump = 3rd at DC

Its mentioned below that some thought he was better than Rich in U16's.

Tom Swift - (OM / IM) 6 July 1990, 190cm 84kg. WA/Claremont

"The Age: Tom Swift went to Collingwood and suspects he would have had a less comfortable time had Harry O'Brien not made sure he understood all the small details he needed to know. Nick Maxwell, too."

"Nicko4: Swift underwent a knee reconstruction in April last year and as a result missed the remainder of the season. He is still a likely early draftee for 2008 after producing amazing numbers as a midfielder for Western Australia in the 2006 NAB AFL Under-16 Championships. He began the carnival with 40 possessions, followed up with 24 in the next game and racked up a whopping 45 disposals in the final game against Vic Metro. He led division one in handballs, marks, short kicks, contested possessions, uncontested possessions, handball receives, clearances and frees for and looms as a prolific ball winner."

"Dilediodelight: Tom Swift: Tom is also coming back from an ACL injury but hasn't recovered aswell as TV, while i admit he is a risk i think what he put on show in the u16 champs was absolutely amazing. he is a high possession player, in the u16 it was something like 45,30, and 40, and they where not all cheap outside touches, his skills were good, but haven't seen much of him post ACL, so will be interesting to see him over the rest of the season and especially at draft camp. could play next year as his body is a good size and weight, but would need to be fully over his injuries 190cm, 84kg"

"TOA: Swift is going to be very interesting to watch because many people rated him higher than Rich in the u16s. That doesnt mean a whole lot because many players dominate u16s and dont even get drafted but it gives an indication of what he is capable of."

"Lynch Beast: - Big praise from Vossy as the best 16 year old in the land at the time
- Did the ACL in April 07 & the cartilage this year in the other knee
- only played a handful of games since U16 champs
- book smart christ church boy
IIRC he is a Jess W. Smith style tallish running defender which I would love to get - Bones/Hurn/Davis & Schofield + Swift for run out of the backline Geelong style in a couple of years.
Nothing about where he could go in the draft (and I HIGHLY doubt a recruiter with any reputation to uphold will be letting on either) I have only seen a little of him this year and that was just recovering from injury so nothing to really go on (no video to review or notes or anything) but I would trust the recruiters to know this guys game inside out.
fwiw I don't remember a single draftee going in the first round after a knee reconstruction as a junior (TOA could help out here)
Muston the only recent one to go close anyway"

"HFF 07: TOM SWIFT 190cm 84kg UTILITY Claremont
Not sure about Tom, was injured for most of last year and only got back in April this year, was sensational from all reports in the under 16 carnival 2 years ago where he led nearly every midfield stat, is a tall midfielder who uses the ball well, will see how his second half of the yar goes.
PROS: - Tough, Kicking, Tackling,
CONS: - Nearly 2 years out of the game
PREDICTION: 15 - 30"

"foj1:: 26. Tom Swift 190cm 84kg WA
A tall utility/ midfielder who suffered an injury setback last year and looks to be just treading water a little at the moment which is understandable. Had a great U/16 year and recruiters wont forget that. His draft position will be dictated by how his second half of the year pans out."

"ant555: Tom Swift – 190cm, 84kg – Claremont.
One of the big question marks of this draft. Was sensational in the 2006 under 16 Champs for WA where he lead division one for just about every midfield stat. He missed pretty much all of last year after doing a knee in April and has had limited games since then. Personally I have not seen him play but if you can lead the division in handballs, marks, short kicks, contested possessions, uncontested possessions, handball receives and clearances then you must be doing something right. Guess it will all depend on how he gets through the end of this year and how he goes at draft camp.
Prediction - ?? pick 5 to 30."

"Realistic Tiger: Tom Swift - 183cm 75kg midfielder from Claremont. In the 2006 U/16's Championships he had 3 games with 40, 24 & 45 disposals. He led division 1 in handballs, marks, short kicks, contested & uncontested possessions, handball recieves, clearances and frees for. Would not mind adding him to the midfield group if he was to slide which is a possibility after missing all of last year through injury."

Would love it.

Not sure what our policies with injury clouded players is though.

Would have no problems with it considering the injuries seem to be the only ? over his head, seems to be elite in other ways.

:thumbsu:

What was rendell's involvement in recruiting prior to his appointment with afc?

Would he have seen Swift in action 2 yrs ago in U16 champs?

I think he will be the midfielder that falls to us, unfortunatly, I dont think we will pick him as they want to go 'tall'.

Do we really want to take a chance with someone who has just had a knee reconstruction.
We already have Burton and Hentschel with similar injuries why would we want to add a 17/18 year old to that list.
To big a risk IMO especially with the importance of this draft.

Do we really want to take a chance with someone who has just had a knee reconstruction.
We already have Burton and Hentschel with similar injuries why would we want to add a 17/18 year old to that list.
To big a risk IMO especially with the importance of this draft.

Think you answered you own Q:D

I think he would be high on our radar. similar height to Danger and Otten who were our firt 2 picks last year. Like them 2 his height would allow him to play in a variety of positions which we know craigy loves

I cant see it happening im afraid.

1. Rendell and Craig have made it obvious theyre heavily targetting a KPP forward with our first pick

2. That being said, why would we go for a risky, injured midfielder.

Unfortunately I see either Hawthorn or Geelong picking up another bargain in Swift with their first pick

I cant see it happening im afraid.

1. Rendell and Craig have made it obvious theyre heavily targetting a KPP forward with our first pick

2. That being said, why would we go for a risky, injured midfielder.

Unfortunately I see either Hawthorn or Geelong picking up another bargain in Swift with their first pick

You are probably right but lets hope they are playing ducks and drakes and we get him.

A couple of things in our favour - that is those of us who want him - is that Rendell is definitely not predictable. He also would surely have a couple of midfielders in his top 10 so lets hope Swift is one of these.

He has got a beautiful size for a mid. What I've seen of him, I must admit, wasn't super impressive, but you can just tell that he has a bit of something. The thing that strikes you about him is that he is a great size for a modern midfielder. That combined with his athleticism makes him the prototype for the way the game is played these days. I was kind of cool on him just because I haven't seen enough of him, but for him to have lost none of his athleticism after pretty much missing the last two seasons is pretty amazing.

FWIW, he had his knee reco early 2007. His injury this year did not require a reco as far as I know, so it's not like he's just coming off a reco.

I think he will go fairly early like Dawes did despite injury. Given the pool I doubt it would be top 10 but wouldn't be surprised to see him go late first round or second round.

He has got a beautiful size for a mid. What I've seen of him, I must admit, wasn't super impressive, but you can just tell that he has a bit of something. The thing that strikes you about him is that he is a great size for a modern midfielder. That combined with his athleticism makes him the prototype for the way the game is played these days. I was kind of cool on him just because I haven't seen enough of him, but for him to have lost none of his athleticism after pretty much missing the last two seasons is pretty amazing.

FWIW, he had his knee reco early 2007. His injury this year did not require a reco as far as I know, so it's not like he's just coming off a reco.

Where'd you see him play mate?

Was it not long before he did his knee in the aus warm up game?

Sorry to bunch on the Q's but he's an intreaging prospect.

Do you know if he's played footy at any level in the last year?

The thing that strikes you about him is that he is a great size for a modern midfielder. That combined with his athleticism makes him the prototype for the way the game is played these days. I was kind of cool on him just because I haven't seen enough of him, but for him to have lost none of his athleticism after pretty much missing the last two seasons is pretty amazing.

Sounds like Neil Craig's wet dream. Did he attend the draft camp? How did he test?