• Thread starter Thread starter PieLebo87

PieLebo87

Hall of Famer
Veteran A Star Wars Fan 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur
This is not a completely confident opinion yet, but I don't want it to develop into one in time. It just seemed last night that they kept directing the footy towards Dawes in the forward line, even when he had 2 up against him. It wasn't soooo bad last night, but I saw signs of it getting ridicious in time if they continue that pattern.

Medhurst wasn't rewarded inside the 50, and as usual, got his footy out on the flanks of HF and Anthony was given a few passes but it seemed majority of the entries were towards Dawes and he wasn't even one-out.

There were no issues from last night, but I hope this doesn't turn Fevola-esque where midfielders automatically just start aiming for Chris Dawes up forward for Collingwood in years to come.

Anyone else notice this?

I thought we looked for Cloke and Anthony more than we did with Dawes. It doesn't bother me because we are generally not concious of any one forward unless Rocca plays.

This is not a completely confident opinion yet, but I don't want it to develop into one in time. It just seemed last night that they kept directing the footy towards Dawes in the forward line, even when he had 2 up against him. It wasn't soooo bad last night, but I saw signs of it getting ridicious in time if they continue that pattern.

Medhurst wasn't rewarded inside the 50, and as usual, got his footy out on the flanks of HF and Anthony was given a few passes but it seemed majority of the entries were towards Dawes and he wasn't even one-out.

There were no issues from last night, but I hope this doesn't turn Fevola-esque where midfielders automatically just start aiming for Chris Dawes up forward for Collingwood in years to come.

Anyone else notice this?
I most definitely did not notice even the slightest hint of this.
When Dawes presented he was honored a few times.
He did spend a fair bit of time a long way from home for a "new" forward, which I thought was interesting, but I really can't see where you got the impression we were overly conscious of Dawes at the least.

I'm not really sure what you're on about with this one, PieLebo87. There were a few kicks to contested situations I50, for sure, but I don't think it was necessarily in an attempt to target Dawes specifically.

Just an initial thought on Dawes, it looks as though he does not know where to lead in the f/Line, he looks lost. Even in the VFL he tends to go for thr chest mark too often and won't use his strong body in a pack. He will be a good forward but needs more time in the 2's. Perhaps even with the way Jack is playing up forward we could use Dawes in the B/Line.
There is the typical Collingwod hype about this guy by every one, let him learn the game more, he has done nothing yet!! If you watch his game as a football watcher you will see he has a very very long way to go, he is playing this year because of the loss of Rocca and Reid other wise you would not have seen him this year.
Players to watch, Ricky's boy and Mcaffer, there is some talent there.

He wasour lead up player most of the night and did it pretty well, even chased and tackled last night.

But no i dont think we were dawes-consicous atall

Dawes has been fine, in fact quite good, and should keep his spot for the rest of the season if his form holds. It's unlikely, albeit not impossible, that Rocca and Reid will return to push him out.

Cloke used to have the same problem of trying to mark the ball on his chest all the time, allowing the opposition backs to spoil. He didn't have to go back to the 2's to work out his problems.

Also, Dawes hasn't really shown much in his limited time in the backline. I don't like that option, as I think he looks best suited as a deep forward.

Okay, fine, I guess they didn't kick to Dawes, more than once, when he had 2 Port Adelaide defenders on him, sorry, my bad.

I don't know where the opinion comes from.
Yes, he was in a 2 on 1 situation a few times.
However, maybe they kicked to him because they were under pressure and could not see a better option at the time.
Now way will Reid get a game ahead of Dawes this season.
Malthouse praised Dawes after the game because he kept his feet during the contests. He won a lot of the ball and set up a few goals.
Reid has been no where near as impressive as Dawes.
I am not over hyping and realize that Dawes has a lot of work ahead.
However, he has shown that he is a strong mark and at least provides a contest. He does not lose the ball easily. He provides a structure to the forward line.
I reckon he will be a gun.
Might be proved wrong, but that's football. :cool:
Anything can happen ! :rolleyes:

Malthouse praised Dawes after the game because he kept his feet during the contests. He won a lot of the ball and set up a few goals.
Reid has been no where near as impressive as Dawes.
I am not over hyping and realize that Dawes has a lot of work ahead.
However, he has shown that he is a strong mark and at least provides a contest.

Reid VS Dawes, summed up perfectly.

I'd say they were looking to expose Damon White who was struggling. The guy got beaten by Cloke and so the put him Dawes. Some of the kicks going I50 had a bit of hang time allowing the second defender to come in.

Cloke seemed to be the main target last night.

They need to start kicking it to Medders as well. He was put on a few good leads and was unrewarded; the only time I remember it going to him inside 50 was a shonky O'Bree kick.

Notice that he hasn't scored any goals since Dids has been out of the side. :(

having three tall forwards has helped us so much.

we have so many big targets the defenders dont know who to go to.

they spent a lot of time on dawes which is why trav probably had a ripper.

These players are all so important to our game plan.

Cloke seemed to be the main target last night.

They need to start kicking it to Medders as well. He was put on a few good leads and was unrewarded; the only time I remember it going to him inside 50 was a shonky O'Bree kick.

Notice that he hasn't scored any goals since Dids has been out of the side. :(
With dawes in the side he is now a small forward playing as a small not a small forward playing as a full forward. He is also getting midfieeld time and played loose in defence in the last (replacing wakes who went forward:p)

I thought it might happen, nothing to do with didak being out

With dawes in the side he is now a small forward playing as a small not a small forward playing as a full forward. He is also getting midfieeld time and played loose in defence in the last (replacing wakes who went forward:p)

I thought it might happen, nothing to do with didak being out

:confused: ??? please explain.

Sorry, I get it now. Thought you were talking about Dawes. I should read the previous posts.

I've never been an advocate of the "three tall forwards is too many" theory. Providing they are mobile and can provide forward pressure, and we have good smalls roving to them, I think it's perfect to ensure the defence can't triple team any one player, as happens to Cloke when Rocca's out and we have Anthony as the only other tall inside 50m. Cloke/Dawes/Anthony is a good combination right now.

I thought having Dawes stopped teams gaining upon Cloke and When Cloke is a 1 vs 1 Marking contest he normally wins and takes the mark. With Dawes in the side they just can't leave him and go to Cloke they have to stay with Dawes and Let the 1 vs 1 Happen with Cloke

yeah thats it Dave.

With dawes in thside shoiwng he c an damaging along with anthony, Cloke just has to deal with his man only. There isnt many defenders who can take cloke 1 out so its a very good thing

The other thing too is that with us being a relatively poor kicking side we need the three big men so that we can make a contest when the ball is bombed down there.

Dawes is a big boy, can take a contested grab and attracts the ball. JA is a lead up forward. Having the two there, Dawes can start closer to goal and when he goes upfield on a lead, Trav drops back.

If we do kick it to Dawes in a contest (or Trav for that matter) having the 3 of them makes it harder for tall opposition backs to double team anyone and if we don't mark it, we create crumbs for the smalls.

it's our ideal forward structure, just substitute Dawes for Rocca and JA for Ruz and it's working the same.

Plant Reid on a HFF/Wing when he's fit and watch out.

Dawes was one of our better players Friday night and his game was much better than last weeks. Whilst he kicked no goals his presenting was great and being at the ground he did a lot of little things right. He dropped a lot of marks and burtpies was right in the sense that he didn't quite do the right thing when going up for marks but his leading was great. His ability to keep his feet and pick up the ball at ground level and then deliver was brilliant. It's when things aren't going right for them that you see how good a player is.

Jack Anthony to me is the player who gets confused as to where to lead and often clogs up other players leads. He also misjudges the flight of the ball and just doesn't get the right angle. That's to be expected since he hasn't had extensive training or experience in the forward line unlike Dawes.

Dawes, Cloke and Anthony is working very well because all 3 are players who if things aren't going well for them can find different ways to get the ball.

yeh i agree with that jabs.
i prefer JA to Rusling because he plays a similar role and although he doesn't have the same pace he gets his goals many different ways. he's ok overhead, good at ground level, and has the knack of sneaking off into a dangerouns position. rusling can be lethal on his day, but i think JA will provide much more of a steady output i.e. JA will kick 2-3 each week, whereas rus could kick 4,0,0,1,4 etc etc.
Dawesy was great friday night, he didn't take the big marks but geez he was great at dishing off and chased hard, doing things that good footballers do.he got himself into the game despite not being hit up very well, and he reminded a bit of trav early on in that sense. won't kick big bags for a year or 2 but can always have a bit of an impact. He frees up trav very nicely as other posters have mentioned. in a couple of years i think they will be 2 very similar players rotating from FF to CHF and will make it difficult for clubs to contain them both. early days i know, but fingers crossed it works out!
im liking the look of these 3 big boys, im really liking it.!!

We were looking for Dawes so much, quite simply because he found himself playing as the lead up forward (the target our defenders look for when coming out of defence) for the majority of the game.

This role is usually reserved for Cloke, but why have Cloke play it when he was giving his opponent an absolute touch up in one on one contests in the forward 50m.

Having Dawes play up the ground allowed Cloke to stay closer to goal and have more of an impact on the scoreboard than he has had in recent weeks.

Great forward line set up from Malthouse and the coaching staff.

Saying we are or were too Dawes concious is more than a bit premature.