Diego

Suspended
OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!! :( :( :(

In Hindsight i think a root canal would have been better..

HAs anybody had a tooth extraction..how long does this pain and discomfort last?

Las time I had a tooth extraction my dad tied it with a piece of string to a door and slammed the door. It was a while ago.

• Banned
ouch...now thats doing it the old skool way..ouch!!

What discomfort? I've had a couple of teeth removed. The only painful thing was the injection into the roof of my mouth. No pain with the extraction as my mouth was numb. All the pain was gone once the feeling returned.

• Banned
Nah mine was a toughy..it still hurts..but its going away.

Well i have a feeling that im going to have to have a tooth extraction shortly, got a wisdom tooth half through(and now starting to push through further) but there isnt really any room for it TO come through:S I feel sorry for kids who have to get like 20 of these things!(teeth, not wisdom teeth lol)

It's actually easier EKA if the tooth is even a little way through, I had a wisdom tooth removed recently that had cut right through and was pushing on the rest of my teeth. I had pain for a whole night and NOTHING made it go away. :( But the extraction was very easy - I had a bit of discomfort and a LOT of bleeding :mad: but I had a lot of Nurofen Plus so it didn't really bother me and I had little swelling or anything so it was good. I'd had no sleep the night before so I waited till the bleeding stopped and crashed for a while - only to wake up covered in blood which wasn't pleasant. :mad:

Generally though FF, the pain and discomfort will last maybe 1-2 days (if that) and you should be right after that, just make sure you look after the wound. If the pain is likely to keep you up at night or anything just make sure you have some Nurofen Plus handy (or something similar, I'm not advertising Nurofen it's just what was given to me when I had my extraction :p) and you'll be fine. :)

Originally posted by lioness22
It's actually easier EKA if the tooth is even a little way through,

Only as long as the tooth wasn't 'crushed' in the jaw/gums in the first place.

Working from home in a family business is a 24/7 job alot of the time. Find a week where the 'big boss' is away for work - you get a holiday! Except of course when he leaves Sunday arvo - you get up and eat breaky on Monday morning, find a sharp bit in part the way through wisdom tooth after that, and end up spending your week off recuperating from having a wisdom tooth extracted!!! No room in the jaw? No worries - it just forces it's way out then crumbles when the 'pressure' of the jaw isn't there anymore!

Now I got 3 more to come out. One was bad enough 7 or 9 or whatever weeks ago - my gums are still sore there. I've told the dentist - not a chance to remove em till footy season is over - it'll take a good 2 weeks minimum for the swelling and bruising to go down, and for me not to have to 'eat' through a straw.

Painful? No not at all - the novacane works really well!!!! The few days after aren't so much painful as they are majorly discomforting, but the gums once they have healed are still tender for a couple of months after.

I had a shocking experience where i had to make room for other teeth and it couldn't wait, i still had my baby teeth and they took 4 of them out, then he dug into the guums and took the 4 adult teeth out that werent even through yet, it left massive holes in my gum and the pain was shocking!!. the swelling in my mouth lasted up to 2 weeks

Dentists ............... YUCK

I'm gonna run away and hide

Only problem is I have a dentist appointment on Monday morning, has anyone here ever had an injection into the gum in the direction of the nose?

God dammit, that hurts

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank

HAs anybody had a tooth extraction..how long does this pain and discomfort last?

Had a wisdom tooth taken out in December.

Didn't hurt then, doesn't hurt now. The Dentist I go to is very good at extractions.

It sounded awful, but I didn't feel a thing. The only nuisance was the bleeding following it. I had the taste of blood for the next 6 hours. Not very pleasant.

The only pain, a minor nip at that, was the pain killer to numb the gum.

I didn't have a problem with it. It felt strange afterwards but you get used to it. With it being a wisdom tooth and it was so far up the back that I didn't even know it was gone a week later.

I've got a filling to have tomorrow. Hate the injection. Other than that its fine.

How much do you hate how they stick the needle in there, it starts hurting, and they KEEP THE NEEDLE IN THERE FOR ABOUT A FLAMIN' MINUTE?

It shouldn't hurt, coz by the time you see how big that needle is that they are going to use for the local anasthesic (sp.?), you should have fainted by then. Even better is when you have your wisdom teeth removed, as they put you to sleep altogether. Me well i wasn't too fussed with either one.

Re: Re: Tooth Extraction..

Originally posted by Catman
Had a wisdom tooth taken out in December.

Didn't hurt then, doesn't hurt now. The Dentist I go to is very good at extractions.

That's actually very important. I've had three extractions in total, for various reasons, and with three different dentists. Two were performed well because there were few complications. The third was a complete disaster from start to finish and I sought advice from another dentist who said the extraction may not have even been necessary. :mad:

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank

I had one not long ago, I've had other teeth out before, but with a general anestetic, I decided to have it out in the chair rather than wait for 6 months and see a specialist.

He gave me 2 of the biggest needles I have ever seen in my entire life, and they stay in your mouth for twice as long as normal. It hurt for about 3 days afterward.

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
I've got a filling to have tomorrow. Hate the injection. Other than that its fine.

How much do you hate how they stick the needle in there, it starts hurting, and they KEEP THE NEEDLE IN THERE FOR ABOUT A FLAMIN' MINUTE?

BLOODY OATH!!!!

I didnt enjoy the needle..i just closed my eyes and didnt think about a thing.

I didnt like it.

I am still hurt'n and i just had some mash..i think it was a abd move as it has decided to swell up again.

Uggh! Brings back bad memories. I had ALL FOUR wisdom teeth out at once. Thank God I had a general anaesthetic.

My face swelled up for about four days and I couldn't eat anything but soup etc.

Now next week I have to have two root canals done and a filling.

Just shoot me now. :( :eek:

I had a choice between a root canal and an extraction, since a root canal is so damn expensive I decided to have it out, so thankfully (so far) I've been spared the root canal experience. :)

Originally posted by Katthawk
Now next week I have to have two root canals done and a filling.

i bet your dentist is really happy as now he can pay off the expensive sports car parked in the garage quicker.

When i told the dentist i wanted the tooth ripped out as opposed to paying 3k for a root canal he treated me with contempt.

Why are dentist like this?

Oh yes! He made sure to tell me it would cost at LEAST 600 buckeroonies. :D ... so did I still want to have it all done?

As if I have a friggin choice. :rolleyes:

FF, mine just tried to talk me out of it, as the tooth in question chewed with two teeth below it, she tried telling me that I would have problems eating and my teeth would shift around and stuff like that.............then when she realised I REALLY wasn't going to budge she admitted it would all be fine.

Nice one. :rolleyes: