Top 8

kidneyhawks

Just interested to see on what other Hawks supporters think will be the top 8 this year, to see whether im being disillusional by truly believe that we will finish inside the top 8. Please tell me im not insane because i honestly believe we are a great chance at finals this year.

1. Fremantle
2. St. Kilda
3. West Coast
4. Bulldogs
5. Sydney
6. Melbourne
7. Hawthorn :thumbsu:
8. Adelaide

And it was tough putting adelaide in there cos i think after about round 10 they will slide dramatically.

Sydney to fight off for the GF
WCE

Adelaide - Be there somewhere
Freo

Others
Bullies - especially if Luke D, Chrissy Grant, Scotty West & Johnson can stay fit

St Kilda - new coach???? Gotta be better at match day than Grant Thomas and Gehrig, Rei and some others? maybe, should be.

Melbourne - only because they have Aaron Davey (worth the price of admission ticket alone just to watch him play)

Hawthorn - getting better and better with the youngies - more like the Hawks of old.

Those who wont

Geelong - reason: The coach. Why would the players get in the finals and possibly get to keep Bomber as coach? Cant see it, they want change.

Gold Coast North - reason: The coach. Why would the players want to begin training 3 days after the GF to for season 2008? Their impending move means the AFL might tip some money in to buy someone that can coach.

Essendon - reason: The coach. Time for a change - father time has caught up to the senior group and the juniors just not good enough to fill the void.

Brissy - reason - rebuilding

Port Adelaide - reason - only 1 SA team allowed

Richmond - reason - have the mortage on 9th

Collingwood - reason - the coach and playing group too old. Going to miss Tarrant.

Carlton - reason - The coach - This time the board dont want him and he wants to get the sack. Great young forward line though. Like Fisher, Fev (off field is a ******** - on field a real tough have a go football player :)), Waite, Lappin & Josh Kennedy up forward. Could be one of the real danger forward lines of the future if they can get fit and on the park all at one time.

WestCoast, Sydney, Fremantle, WesternBulldogs, Hawthorn, Richmond, Adelaide, Melbourne. No hope for Collingwood and i have a feeling St Kilda will just miss out, It's either them or Melbourne.

Wouldn't say that we are a "great chance", more along the lines that we would need a lot of luck with injuries to us other teams above us etc..

Realistically i peg us as winning b/w 10-12/`13 games so if we misss out shouldn't be too far off them.

My top 8 are:

1. W/Coast
2. Bulldogs
3. Freo
4. Sydney
5. Adelaide
5. Saints
6. Melbourne
7. Richmond
8. Hawks/Geelong/Collingwood

Saints
Hawthorn/Collingwood - injuries to determine this spot

W. Coast
St. Kilda
W. Bulldogs

Gutsy call...NO HAWKS:)

Tend to agree. Though the order is a punt. Last two positions could be fought out between Demons, Cats, Tigers and Power. I'll go for Tigers ahead of Dees. Hawks and Bombers fighting for 11th.:D

Weagles to fight out the GF with whoever. Hawks still in the bottom four with the Tiges, Cats and the other either Lions/Blues. The big smokey the indigenous Bombers to make the Eight, with the Roo boys the other big improver. I really want the Power to LANGUISH in MEDIOCRITY for about a DECADE...............about 10th to 12th every one of those years. My eight:... Weagles, Saints, Swans, Bombers, the Dees, Crows, Freo and the Roos...... Box Hill is a definite for Finals, and a cinderella year for the Borough !!!!!!!!

I am forecasting at least 12 wins for our Hawks. That many wins with a reasonably strong percentage should give us a good chance to finish in the top eight.

Weagles to fight out the GF with whoever. Hawks still in the bottom four with the Tiges, Cats and the other either Lions/Blues.
We finished 11th.

I'm expecting us to finish 11th - 9th. We have a very inexperianced team so we can't expect too much from them. But there is a chance that we will make the 8 if we keep playing like we did at the end of last season.

My heart tells me will play finals this year, but my brains expects us not to. I think we are still another year away from finals footy.

Hopfully I am wrong at the end of this year though :D

to understand where we will finish in 07, you need to look at where the improvement might come from.

my expectations for where we might improve are:

* Roughead to play in the forward line giving us another realistic strong KPP target in addition to Williams, Dixon, Franklin

* Franklin to continue his 2nd half of 2006 form and continue to kick 2.2 goals per game or more

* More midfield rotation / run and carry than last yr with Birchall in the rotation, Sewell and Hodge might interchange roles in defence and midfield, Smith in the middle as well.

* With Muston, Tuck, Kennedy and Ellis, some of them are likely to break into the side giving us more midfield rotation. Muston looks physically well developed for his age and wouldn't surprise me if he made an immediate impression.

* Backline - more cohesion than last yr and experience - Gilham, Murphy and Dawson showed a bit last yr. Expecting more of the same but more consistency and experience from lessons learnt.

* Croad to move to CHB and steady up the backline.

In summary, with a bit more depth and experience in the spine, we should straighten up a bit and play more direct. Secondly, with more rotation and legs to run and carry, we should be able to run out games better than 06 giving us more wins.

If improvement goes as it should, we should win between 10 and 13 games IMO.

I'm hoping for a finish between 8 and 11.

My thinking is that I'd rather see more consistency from week to week and smaller losses as opposed to playing well one week and getting a 8 goal hammering (or worse!) the next.

Ladder position in this case is reasonably irrelevant again for me this year providing we can get some consitency.

I'd rather be surprised at finishing somewhere in the top 8, then aiming high and being depressed at not making it :)

i hope your right jarmans, i also believe we need taylor to step up big time in the ruck especially now bailey is injured, cos we cant expect to much out of Renouf or Mcentee(if he gets promoted). But it should be a very interesting year, even if we dont make the 8 i hope were at least alot more consistent than last year.

i believe that the competition is still so even that almost anyone can make the finals, besides richmond who will finish 9th, and carlton are where we were 2-3 years ago.

brisbane could even make it if j brown (absolute f*cking star!) managed to play most of the games this season.

if u look at it, we were flogged a few times last season, but we were competitive in plenty of games also, so yes we can make finals in 07, and i reckon anyone can be pushed out of the 8 besides adel, wce and sydney.

mysteryadv.jpg

Go to The Mystery Competition ... CLICK HERE