Top Spin 3

I'm talking about the Wii Version. Because I don't have a PS3 or Xbox 360.

ahh...now I see

Nice one mate, cheers.

I don't mind a challenge, I get bored easily with games which are easy to win from the start.

Is career mode decent then? Do you play in a heap of tourneys or something, create your own player too I assume. Do you play against randoms or real players?

Yer I'm only doing Career at the moment. You play randoms as a junior, but real players on the Pro tour. In career you don't get "game face" (like Tiger Woods 08, which I think is awesome) but you do make your own character (there's better ways of doing it though imo, but it's not really that important - my guy has some pretty weird looking eyes and a crooked mouth, lol).

As you win, you get XP (experience) points, which you can add to whichever part of your game you want (ie serve, forehand, backhand, speed, stamina etc etc) much like the last version, but better.

Thing is, the last game was pretty simplistic. This most definitely isn't. I've been playing a bit, and it's sometimes a total head**** trying to get the right shot; but that's good, because when you get good, you'll be real good.

The training is particularly useful, and awesome. it's long, and it needs to be. I'll probably do it again at some stage, because whilst I'm starting to get them, the shots can be complicated.

"Trigger shots" (which in the last version were power and drop shot) are different this year - they are power and close-to-the-line; drop shot is by pressing triangle and tilting one of the joysticks forwards and back, lob is same but tilting back then forwards. You can serve either with the buttons, or the right joystick for different effects. Also, the timing is so important, there's no timing bars or anything, it's all in the animation. Additionally, tilting the joy either way for a certain period of time dictates the direction, say, the serve will go; and it's far more touchy in general play too (and of course more accurate).

In essence, there are so many more variations, that once you master it, you'll pwn the living **** out of any n00bs!! :cool: :D

Did you choose to have sets only last 3 games or is that across board?

Seems to be, but that's cool, longer would take 5 hours like a real match! :eek:

is there an easier way to get experience? or better yet, an easier way to beat the players with overall 60 when i have overall 35?

Other than taking the easy way out and selecting Very Easy ? not really.

You've got to master the shots, try to end the rallies as quick as you can, throw in a risk shot here or there (LT/RT on 360, L2/R2 (i assume) on ps3). Once you do, it becomes relatively easy (although i sometimes still do get blown off the court if i'm not on fire early on). I was getting beaten relatively easily until halfway through the Junior tour, but after that i started to dominate and only lost a handful of matches (especially when in Pro).

Play in exhibition mode, build up your skills by playing against female players, select tournament mode and play a few tournaments (you'll build up XP to get your ovr rating up quickly providing you win the matches).

On my second play through the career, i've only lost 2 matches as i know the playing patterns of the AI.

I'm playing on Normal, finding it pretty difficult at junior level - is tehre any way to get XP without playing career?

You can play in exhibition mode or tournament mode. You'll get more XP if you play in the main tournaments (Aus Open, French, London Championship, US Open etc), might vary between 120-175 per match.

If you do it thorugh exhibition mode you'll gradually get less XP per match (i started off with 80 points..... but now only get 8 - 15 points per match).

If you are desperate enough, connect the second controller (via the second profile or whatnot - depending on if you're playing the PS3 or 360 version). and setup a 2 player game.... obviously making the player you want to build XP for, as the winner. Again the more times you do it, the less XP you'll get per match.

Once you get the hang of the shots, winning should be a little easier.

I think it finally clicked for me last night, started winning some games.

Its all about shot timing and placement.

I was thinking about buying this from JB but instead tried to hire it, to my surprise just about every game was available.. usually I get a choice of 10 games and 9 are crap. So I picked this up and MGS4.. try before I buy kind of thing. I also left work 5 hours early because I am pretty crook so I will have a fair crack at this in the arvo, tennis bores me but I don't mind tennis games, and this sounds decent.

I also bought a CAT5E cable so I can finally get online as I couldn't be arsed buying a wireless router after buying a hardwire one only a month or so ago, it's taken me a while to get my online cranking (lazy I know) but I am looking forward to it.

This game is pretty fun to play, and this is coming from someone who never watches tennis.

It takes a bit of getting used to but now I'm hitting a few nice winners which is pretty awesome. In the round robin thing first time round, I lost my first match then won the next two but didn't qualify. Next time I won my first two and lost my last (choked) but now into the Quarters.

I've invested in this game today. Fair shit so far :p I've done a few training sessions and made a player (Zapp Brannigan) and have started my career mode. I lost a few games before finally winning my first one. I'm an Australian hero.

Takes a while to get used to at the start. Just finished my first year as a junior ranked #1 and won 11 titles (skipped the 12th tournament). First tournament as a pro: Beat Federer and James Blake en route to the Australian Open title* :D

*I'm playing on default (ie normal difficulty)

First tournament as a pro: Beat Federer and James Blake en route to the Australian Open title* :D

*I'm playing on default (ie normal difficulty)
Yeah I suggest bumping it up to Hard difficulty once you reach pro, it is way to easy on normal once you move on up.

Just got this game on Monday.

Fantastic :thumbsu:

Only just became a Junior, lost 3-1 in my opening 2 matches so I think I'll have to give training a shot.