AFLW Trade and list changes 2025 - Trade week Thu 4th Dec - Wed 10th Dec.

It was tongue in cheek couldn't help myself, goes back to when I first moved up from Bendigo to QLD some locals up here were up in arms about a plan for QLD to bring in daylight savings, saying it would upset the dairy cows, as cows don't have clocks, and my favourite one was that the extra hour of sunlight would fade the curtains. We missed out on that one unfortunately, times have changed a bit up here since then.

Lol, I was thinking surely he's being facetious, thanks for clarifying ;)

Tail wagging the dog, as in the Nationals saying we don't want it in Qld, when it would be a boon for the tourism industry in SEQ. Draw the line at Gympie for daylight saving - they are already 10 years behind north of that, what's another hour..... 🫣 🤣
I remember driving my mate all the way up from Ipswich to Gympie, back when it was a 2 line highway in his ford escort van so he could impress some girl he just met and after left me had to kill a couple of hours while they... went and asked a local fella who looked a bit like Chad Morgan where I could get a drink and in a not too friendly manner told me I should F off down the highway back to Brissie. Caught up with a relative a couple of years later, that I didn't know that I had, out at Goomboorian, about 20k nth of there, and he thought it was hilarious and told me it's just a Gympie welcome. Hope no one on here is from Gympie and know I don't mean offence when I say that folks there probably shouldn't marry their sisters.

I do a lot of work there. It used to have the highest % concentration of children per head of population, and frighteningly, the highest % of children with a parent or guardian in jail per head of population. That said, I know a lot of really lovely people there, and, I see the others as well ;)

Put in perspective, I went to Expo88 in Brisbane by train from Bundaberg. Had my old footy coach and his family with me, a cane cocky, a ripping bloke, a bit a Neil Balme sort of bloke, in his late 30's. We used to play against the Gympie Cats in the Wide Bay AFL league up there. As we went past the Gympie station, my old coach suddenly said (he's in his late 30's remember), "well, this is the farthest south I've ever been in my life now". My jaw hit the ground, or rather the floor of the train. None of the family had either. I suddenly felt worldly🤣 There is something in this about why we don't have daylight saving.

Afl website saying we are looking at Scarlett Johnson from northern knights as a possible number 1 pick
Good -bad- or ?? Pick
Not a bad pick, also comes with some risk as outside player, also is a bolter, which also meant she wouldn't be too likely to go pick 1, but never know what happens as hard to keep secret in this industry. We are the one who usually know how to play that game. Melbourne would have hoped that Robey didn't get any momentum, Johnson hasn't publicly outside of clubland, but have to be other club/s who saw her as up there, so otherwise we don't make that trade move.

Thanks

Richmond is another club monitoring a potential last-minute trade, having held an interest in Fremantle's Dana East across the last fortnight and having met with the midfielder in recent days.

Not sure on this one it seems to be another of those outside the core of midfielders at a club that they can easily replace like a Dallaway was and I prefer we go to the draft as was mentioned earlier by our friend a player or two will be around our pick, one was Renee Morgan a WA mid who's had has been one of WA's best for a while she is agile, clean, strong and good disposal, rather take a chance on a kid than a player in the system that has reached peak game and is still not impacting games enough.

I do think alotve talent has just been wasted over the last couple of years with fringe players getting chewed up and spat out because there’s no real competition for them to play in and clubs having to turnover lists.
Not being able to play against good opponents because there’s no overlap in the seconds and being the second or third option for the one or two positions it really was a career killer.

Reminds me a little of all the talent that was wasted on GWS and GCoast.

Dellaway has become reliable and consistent and probably behind Ellie the most improved for this season for mine.

I’m struggling to see why we traded up if we’re after a bolter
I’m not convinced the algorithms with Rookieme and the people involved in the pathway recognise anything other than stats.

I do think alotve talent has just been wasted over the last couple of years with fringe players getting chewed up and spat out because there’s no real competition for them to play in and clubs having to turnover lists.
Not being able to play against good opponents because there’s no overlap in the seconds and being the second or third option for the one or two positions it really was a career killer.

Dellaway has become reliable and consistent and probably behind Ellie the most improved for this season for mine.
That, and also the time you spend on the bench. Dana East has played nearly 50 games since 2021 but seems to be that type of player that will only get just 1/2 game, some games maybe just 5 - 8 mins per quarter while the stars get a breather. That was Dallaway but she's now playing a different role so staying on field a lot longer so more game time and she's now improving. It also adds to a players confidence if they sense that they are a valuable team member when they do hold down a position in the team in their role, and not just be that player that is inactive for much of the game and just warms the pine waiting for others to take a break.

I’m not convinced the algorithms with Rookieme and the people involved in the pathway recognise anything other than stats.
I guess they are outside all the intricacy too that exists at clubland that dictates decision making on players when meeting requirements other than physical ability and skill execution. A lot of weight placed on personalities, character, leadership, game plans etc. I digress but also find some footy journo's to be clueless. One in particular doesn't seem to change style if they are on special comments or actually calling a play by play, constantly talking over the top of their co-commentator and not picking up on their cues to dial it down. Never seen a punch up in a commentary box but I'm sure they've happened.

I agree, Dallaway has been one of the better recruits in what was a bit of a budget trade. It will be interesting to see if Ally can take the next steps that our whole squad needs to take for us to become a solid finals team instead of a yoyo team.

Hope we don’t go past the obvious star in baker for this Smokey scarlet Johnson , just has Stella reig and who was that other fizzer Sophie written all over it ,,, don’t stuff it up . There are no smokies in W draft

Have a bit of a soft spot for Sophie Molan. Our first ever draftee. Pity we didn't try her as a key back like Essendon VFLW have done. Has done very well back there although injuries have smashed her 2025 season.

That, and also the time you spend on the bench. Dana East has played nearly 50 games since 2021 but seems to be that type of player that will only get just 1/2 game, some games maybe just 5 - 8 mins per quarter while the stars get a breather. That was Dallaway but she's now playing a different role so staying on field a lot longer so more game time and she's now improving. It also adds to a players confidence if they sense that they are a valuable team member when they do hold down a position in the team in their role, and not just be that player that is inactive for much of the game and just warms the pine waiting for others to take a break.

I guess that's why her name is up there in trade talks...more opportunity.

Despite the lower game time she still racks up disposals and obviously cracks in given her tackle numbers. Gets a few clearances too.
I'd certainly chase Dana if the cost isn't too high.

2025 Season
RoundTOG %DispTacklesClearances

I guess that's why her name is up there in trade talks...more opportunity.

Despite the lower game time she still racks up disposals and obviously cracks in given her tackle numbers. Gets a few clearances too.
I'd certainly chase Dana if the cost isn't too high.

2025 Season
RoundTOG %DispTacklesClearances
We have pick 38 and 40 and at the moment and will have to take one of these, unless we spring two players trades today which may be unlikely, maybe either 38 or 40 for her and a pick swap of future picks in our favour, as we may have to be prepared for the possibility to have a bit of a clean out this time next year with our new coach whoever comes in to make changes to the list dependant on game style.

There are a few mids or mid forwards we could also use on pick 38 or 40 in the draft, like a Renee Morgan, or if we want to continue to target the athletic ones, Lucy Waye from SA has speed to burn, would start her as a forward as knows that role, to build her tank, so still options there to bring in young talented footballer with a 38 or 40

All the best to Coxy, gave the best of what she had, a lot of players at multiple clubs who have spent years on lists and haven't done anything wrong are being cut, seems to be be change in the air and in looking at the other clubs delistings out there, a few years ago would have gladly given them a lifeline. Only Geelong seem to be the one so far continuing with the moneyball approach.

Bit sad for Shelby, only the one game and not a particularly fruitful time with injury and lack of opportunity so I do hope she gets to develop elsewhere.

Interestingly there are not the tall forwards in this draft down the order who are not a development type, so maybe a trade?, not a lot of backup if Greiser goes down.

All the best to Coxy, gave the best of what she had, a lot of players at multiple clubs who have spent years on lists and haven't done anything wrong are being cut, seems to be be change in the air and in looking at the other clubs delistings out there, a few years ago would have gladly given them a lifeline. Only Geelong seem to be the one so far continuing with the moneyball approach.

Bit sad for Shelby, only the one game and not a particularly fruitful time with injury and lack of opportunity so I do hope she gets to develop elsewhere.

Interestingly there are not the tall forwards in this draft down the order who are not a development type, so maybe a trade?, not a lot of backup if Greiser goes down.

Yes agree on both.

Think Cox's vibrant personality will be missed by the girls.

Unfortunate for Shelby. Glad she played that last game and she has a memory to cherish. Probably considered a bit one dimensional and just ran out of time to change that.

On Egan, I really thing being versatile is important and it’s really only the one position for her.
We should persist with Bacon in different positions it’s going to help bring her on and worth noting Bacon has played 23 games and kicked 6 goals
Scott’s last 23 games she’s kicked 5 goals but is pretty consistent at giving away 2.4 Frees a game

I think its been covered by probably yourself and others that Scott needs a big preseason Bonnie Toogood style and be fit enough to make better use of her footy talent.

AFLW Trade and list changes 2025 - Trade week Thu 4th Dec - Wed 10th Dec.