Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 2 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

I reckon Bevo should be more creative and shift Easton to the forward line. This will makes more versatile and creative. Other clubs will not cope. [emoji15]

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

News just out of the kennel.

I was at Barker's Cafe yesterday and while I was chatting to Jon Patton as we ate our egg and bacon rolls with cheese (the big fella knocked over 6 - I think he's addicted) Libba was running past the window back and forward with Sam Power in hot pursuit, with a piece of paper in one hand and a pen in the other. Curiously, the were reruns of Benny Hill playing on the TV. Libba kept running close to the pot hole and side stepping around it. Poor old Sammy just didn't have the evasiveness he once had. Jon couldn't stop chuckling.
Over near the front door we saw recently departed footy show newshound Damian Barrett stacking the rocks from the pot plants mumbling something to a bloke I didn't recognise. He might have been a doctor as he had MD emblazoned on his shirt. They were both saying something like Macca Macca??
Anyway, Jon and I looked out on the oval, and there was Moz having shots on goal. Bevo was there too and he appeared to begging. Make of that what you will.

We simply have to sign Libba. His best is A grade and if he gets even close to that he's very important to us.
People forget how well he was training last pre-season and if he's training already it's an absolute no brainer. Forget this one year deal stuff - if he wants two years do it. He's coming off a knee so will be signing for unders anyway.

We simply have to sign Libba. His best is A grade and if he gets even close to that he's very important to us.
People forget how well he was training last pre-season and if he's training already it's an absolute no brainer. Forget this one year deal stuff - if he wants two years do it. He's coming off a knee so will be signing for unders anyway.

I totally agree with you when Libba is on the dogs are on Its a no brainier please show me your a better recruiting (football manager) then you where a player Sam Power .

Hi Folks,
Interested to hear opinions on Fletcher Roberts' future. Almost 26 at the start of next season and not getting games.
Do you see him breaking into the side, just depth, or is he likely to be cut at the end of 2019?
Thank you in advance.

Hi Folks,
Interested to hear opinions on Fletcher Roberts' future. Almost 26 at the start of next season and not getting games.
Do you see him breaking into the side, just depth, or is he likely to be cut at the end of 2019?
Thank you in advance.

Just cheap depth; can basically be cut any year we want but he knows the systems and costs very little.

If he doesn't sign on, and we lose Libba, without any form of compensation (trade or free agency compensation picks), it will go down as one of the biggest list management screw ups in the clubs history.
Agree with this. I'm yet to pass judgement on Sam Power, because it's still too early, but this would be a huge mark against him. Frankly, we should be re-signing Libba for a couple of years given the current position of the list. His past injury history shouldn't really be much of a factor.

Not to mention we're ridiculously young as a list and have gotten younger over the off-season so desperately need players in his age group and experience.

“Losing” Libba is like the Hawks “losing” Cyril. It’s not a list management failure. It’s not supercoach, these guys are human, and if we can’t convince Libba to carry on at the club where he won a premiership, B&F, and where his dad had a proud and storied career, that is not list management’s fault. The show goes on.

The decision rests with Tom. If he is not going to be able to motivate himself, I don't see how we can blame anyone else at the club. He's always been a complete individual. One premiership medal may be enough for him.

that is not list management’s fault.
Well that depends on what we're offering him.

If it's 20%-30% below a salary that he already considers unders, or that an extra year is typical for a player of his standing and experience and would guarantee he signs and we refuse to do that, then, rightly or wrongly, it's our club's list management that's putting him in that position to potentially leave.

Just like Dahlhaus - some see it as some kind of greedy cash grab by him, others see him as having had no choice to leave given such a disparity in offers - whether we were correct to make that unders offer will be seen in 3-4 years time. Everyone can have an opinion one way or the other, but we can't make a definitive call until we have an clear picture of his output to judge whether the extra $100k a year and extra season (which would have got him over the line to stay) would have been a worthwhile investment.

Similar story for Duryea and Lloyd - my opinion is that that they'll have one great season each before falling to the fringes and being delisted shortly after, and in 2-3 years we'll look back on them as a waste of time and resources which could have been better spent on giving a shot to the best mature state league players available in the fourth and fifth rounds - but the great thing is both of them have every chance to prove a few of us doubters wrong and put in 3-4 great seasons for the club, and I genuinely hope they do. It's just that unfortunately there's a mountain of history which suggests that they won't.

Unfortunately the (arguably) best five state leaguers in the country were off the table due to the Carlton/Gold Coast concessions.
I still wouldn't mind some mature talent though at the draft proper or rookie draft - Hayes as midfield depth (we only had Porter in the VFL as a running option at one stage last year) and a mature ager forward.

“Losing” Libba is like the Hawks “losing” Cyril. It’s not a list management failure. It’s not supercoach, these guys are human, and if we can’t convince Libba to carry on at the club where he won a premiership, B&F, and where his dad had a proud and storied career, that is not list management’s fault. The show goes on.

We are not talking about if he retires or walks away, different thing entirely. If he chooses to ditch a contract from us for another club, well after the FA window closes, its basically a big middle finger to the club, we could have gotten a similar compensation level to Dahlhaus which would have been heaps handy. Instead if he walks into another club, we've lost an at his healthiest, best and most committed is potentially top 5-10 in the league in tackles and clearances, for basically nothing at all. Hence it would be a failure on our part, unless he stuffed us around.

Didn't we hear that there was no interest in him from other clubs during the trade week? If he goes to the draft there's every chance he won't be picked up, or will have to take (or not) whatever is offered, which is likely to be less than we are offering.

His past injury history has nothing to do with it. It's his off-field exploits/habits that are turning everyone off him.