Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

We don’t really need to add much to improve I don’t reckon.
A winger with pace would be ideal, and key defence depth.
Outside of that, we play such a bland style of footy. Our next coach I think could change that, get us to move the footy quicker and give our forwards a better chance.

Dogs reach out to Noah Balta management earlier this year to see if he would be keen for a trade

Sadly we got rejected as he's seen as long term prospect for Richmond and wants to be part of their rebuild
Thank god for that!

He is one of the dumbest footballers i've ever seen is just freakishly athletic which covers up for it

We've changed our game style to be such a boring slow style to protect our defence and it hasn't paid off.

The thing is though that we've got JUH, Naughton, Lobb (who while not a world beater is one of the better 2nd ruck/forwards), and Weightman up forward. Then Richards and Dale as two of the best rebounding defenders in the league. We'd really benefit by playing a faster more direct brand. To do this though we really need:

* Defenders who can really go 1 on 1 to protect the inevitable fast counter attack of going quicker ourselves. Jones went some way to addressing this, but I'm not confident in any one else other than Richards down back. A guy like Liam Duggan would do wonders, as would a better 2nd key defender.

* Better leadership to identify when its appropriate to slow the game down (I.e. when the opposition have a run on). This can't be left just to the coaches with limited options to use the runner. In the past we had Morris and Moyd down back to steer the ship, and the experience of guys like that is missed.

No way Buss gets anywhere near Moore. He is either a Ridley type or bust.

Smith of the last few months I agree but that doesn't reflect the player he is merely the player our system is turning him into.
Poulter is one of my favourites and his upside is huge, and the idea of him being soft isn't something I can Fathem. He has saved multiple goals going back with the flight of the ball the last few weeks. The biggest issue is his consistency from play to play and week to week but that is an issue for our whole squad not just Poulter who is 194cm and 20 years old.

Moore has had one of top few 1v1 loss percentages in the league 3 out of the last 4 years. Fifth most 1v1s in the comp last year and only Steven May lost fewer. He’s genuinely great 1v1 and has been for years. Haven’t seen anything yet to suggest that sort of level is on the cards for Busslinger.

Thank god for that!

He is one of the dumbest footballers i've ever seen is just freakishly athletic which covers up for it

He would have been in good company

We are one of the dumbest sides if not the dumbest in terms of football smart

Further to Bailey , we had the bad old days of the 70's when we traded top end talent for various reasons

Typically mentioned on many occasions Thorpe , Dempsey etc and a young local lad Dennis Collins RIP.
Bailey reminds me of Dennis, the young kids loved him , a dashing young lad and losing him ripped us apart.
Cheers
Stephen

Hey Stephen, enjoy your posting, but just wanted to correct something.
While players like Collins, Quinlan and others were sold off (due to the club's precarious financial position), Thorpe and Dempsey were slightly different.

Dempsey stayed loyal as others left, but finally after 12 seasons, he wanted to play more than the 2 finals he'd experienced at WO (in 1974 and 1976). So he told the club at the end of 1978 he wanted to be traded to North, so was a player instigated trade.

Thorpe was different again. He busted his arse all through 1973 as captain, but wasn't a fan of coach Bob Rose, nor allegedly Rose of him. I'm not sure of all the facts, and there's slightly contradictory details depending on who you speak to, but a committee member told Thorpe there was a chance Rose wouldn't stay on, and Thorpe should throw his hat in the ring for captain-coach. I believe Thorpey was never short of self-confidence (possibly partly from the armchair ride he got as a 'salesman' at Col Paige Ford in Footscray - didn't really do much work, but business happy to use his face/name to drive sales to locals). So he spoke to other committe members, indicating he was interested in replacing Rose. Only problem is Rose wasn't leaving, Thorpe had stuck his neck out based on what I am led to believe was a mischievous (or possibly malicious) rumour by whoever encouraged him. His position was untenable as captain, and probably as a player, so he either requested, or Footscray or Richmond encouraged, a move to Richmond.
While some of those details vary depending on who is telling the story, the general gist seems to be consistent.

We've changed our game style to be such a boring slow style to protect our defence and it hasn't paid off.

The thing is though that we've got JUH, Naughton, Lobb (who while not a world beater is one of the better 2nd ruck/forwards), and Weightman up forward. Then Richards and Dale as two of the best rebounding defenders in the league. We'd really benefit by playing a faster more direct brand. To do this though we really need:

* Defenders who can really go 1 on 1 to protect the inevitable fast counter attack of going quicker ourselves. Jones went some way to addressing this, but I'm not confident in any one else other than Richards down back. A guy like Liam Duggan would do wonders, as would a better 2nd key defender.

* Better leadership to identify when its appropriate to slow the game down (I.e. when the opposition have a run on). This can't be left just to the coaches with limited options to use the runner. In the past we had Morris and Moyd down back to steer the ship, and the experience of guys like that is missed.
Duggan would be great for much needed mongrel and can kick more than 40m coming out of defence. Unrestricted at the end of 2024 I believe so Eagles need to trade him if he tells them he ain’t re-signing.

We don’t really need to add much to improve I don’t reckon.
A winger with pace would be ideal, and key defence depth.
Outside of that, we play such a bland style of footy. Our next coach I think could change that, get us to move the footy quicker and give our forwards a better chance.
True. But our next coach won't be here till 2026 at the earliest.

Moore has had one of top few 1v1 loss percentages in the league 3 out of the last 4 years. Fifth most 1v1s in the comp last year and only Steven May lost fewer. He’s genuinely great 1v1 and has been for years. Haven’t seen anything yet to suggest that sort of level is on the cards for Busslinger.
Exactly right! and it isn't the role we brought Buss in to Preform.

Pretty disappointing that we gave Gardner a 3 year deal and he’s already been jumped by a 21 year old who was playing cricket only recently (not slighting JoD at all in this comp).

The club pumped him up a lot in response to the criticisms he received, gave him three years (who on earth were we bidding against there?), and he’s gone backwards at an alarming rate.

He could be reasonable injury insurance, but not how you want a player to respond to what we did for him.

Ideally Keath and Gardner both are backup to Jones and JoD. I’d rather sacrifice height defensively than watch Keath/gards kill our run every time they touch it. And dear god do I hope we let ToB go.

This would be where we need a gun intercept type to provide support to Jones and JoD without negating our run out of the backline. Hopefully Buss can be that guy in 2024 - he has been really neat by foot at vfl level all year too. Ditto Cleary. Helps in that regard.

Duggan would be great for much needed mongrel and can kick more than 40m coming out of defence. Unrestricted at the end of 2024 I believe so Eagles need to trade him if he tells them he ain’t re-signing.
He'd cost a somewhat decent pick but would be worth it. Jones, JOD with another preseason, Keath/Buss, Duggan, Dale, JJ, and Richards looks a lot more potent than what we frequently roll out.

Pretty disappointing that we gave Gardner a 3 year deal and he’s already been jumped by a 21 year old who was playing cricket only recently (not slighting JoD at all in this comp).

The club pumped him up a lot in response to the criticisms he received, gave him three years (who on earth were we bidding against there?), and he’s gone backwards at an alarming rate.

He could be reasonable injury insurance, but not how you want a player to respond to the what we did for him.

Ideally Keath and Gardner both are backup to Jones and JoD. I’d rather sacrifice height defensively than watch Keath/gards kill our run every time they touch it. And dear god do I hope we let ToB go.

This would be where we need a gun intercept type to provide support to Jones and JoD without negating our run out of the backline. Hopefully Buss can be that guy in 2024 - he has been really neat by foot at vfl level all year too. Ditto Cleary. Helps in that regard.
The worst think with Gards and Keath now is they don't even offer anything defensively in the air anyway, Keath got out marked for goals without effort twice yesterday and Gards outside of 1 or 2 games isn't even doing his usual spoil everything schtick

The value of Gardner's contract really comes down to cost. If it's 3 years at 250k/yr then it's probably a smart move even if he's first in line depth. Jones will miss games and we won't be able to count of JOD and Buss at all times, so some mature solid cheap depth is handy.

He could be reasonable injury insurance, but not how you want a player to respond to the what we did for him.

I would not be shocked if hes moves to a forward role in the off season

bbc GIF

Cost would be huge, he's under contract.
I'd rookie Sullivan from our VFL program as he knows how to play defensively. It's what we need right now. If he plays 4 games per year as a specialist tagger and that's it, that's still above average for a lot of rookie picks.

I'd even consider - perhaps sit down for this - Luke Dunstan. Far too good for VFL and he's hard, by god we need some hardness in our side.
They blame the bottom few players, or the changes to the team all the time because its the easiest people or thing to blame. Our small forwards, especially Weightman have done nothing for three weeks now, hardly see anything mentioned about them. Bont struggles vs a hard tag and has 5-6 turn overs a game. Treloar and Doc are two of the worst kicks in the league apparently. Smith looked lost and fumbled everything he touched. Dale cant shake a tag, and he, Daniel, Macrae and others had like 2 disposals in the entire third quarter or something close to that.

We blame coaches, we blame depth and fringe players. How about we start putting heat on our best 22 regulars as well for once? So many names have gone missing in our losses. They are the ones who should be standing up and leading, setting examples for those bottom few players, not crumbling when the heat is on.

What a pathetic season it has been. So angry right now.

And we won’t even get to see Busslinger, Gallagher or Clarke this year either.
These boys aren’t ready from a fitness standpoint mate. Gallagher may be close but the other two we just cannot guarantee will be able to run out a game at AFL level.

Both have had LTI struggles. Both didn’t get a full preseason. Let’s develop them properly. We don’t need them playing AFL in their first year.