Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

nervous marco mama GIF by Worcester Warriors
This could be Bulldogs AND Saints supporters.

I see him as Pendlebury 2.0, he oozes talent and football IQ. Just my personal opinion but he’s currently priceless to us.
Priceless? He should be considering the draft capital we gave up for him. He hasn’t lived up to expectations so far. His trajectory of improvement would be a soft rise instead of a rapid one.
He is lacking in two very important categories that stick out to me. Pace and spatial awareness. Pendles and Sam Mitchell both slowish, both extremely aware of surroundings. Both had it early and in Mitchell’s cases a tinge of nastiness to go with it.
I would say Ed Richard’s is priceless because he can break a game open. Sanders is a Macrae 2.0

I am seeing a little bit of smoke on Wilkie. The only way it turns to fire is if the Wilkie camp know a trade can be done. Do not thing anything plays out in public where Wilkie camp agrees to a bidding war with the possibility it fails, and he has to go back cap in hand to the saints.
If you are optimistic then it’s not happening…..

Hasn’t stopped them before
Hate Geelong as much as the next guy but I can't remember them paying unders for a player still under contract before.

People forgetting Curnow has 4 years left on is contract and no reason why Carlton would trade him for unders. Smith situation was lot different and our hands were tied. Blues could just hold him and try and trade next with different clubs intereted.

I still reckon he most likely ends up with Suns. They have a lot to play with including Flanders.

Hate Geelong as much as the next guy but I can't remember them paying unders for a player still under contract before.

People forgetting Curnow has 4 years left on is contract and no reason why Carlton would trade him for unders. Smith situation was lot different and our hands were tied. Blues could just hold him and try and trade next with different clubs intereted.

I still reckon he most likely ends up with Suns. They have a lot to play with including Flanders.
They're smart with what they do and wait for players to come OOC to get them as FA can mean free agent can mean **** All take your pick:

Cameron/Smith/Danger/Bruhn(yikies)/Henry and soon to be Worpel

Outside of that they brought in Bowes which got them pick 7 (thank god Clark sucks so far)/Stanley (pick 21) via trade

They're annpyingly good with mid to late picks though

I see him as Pendlebury 2.0, he oozes talent and football IQ. Just my personal opinion but he’s currently priceless to us.
Sanders is Grade A Vanilla. He is indecisive, rarely kicks the ball and unfortunately he does not have the vision nor hands to play the Jack MacRae role. He doesn’t appear to have a lot of campaigner about him either. I see a previous poster was impressed with Sanders statistics with possessions. I would take 5 of Ed Richard’s possessions than 20 possessions from Sanders.

That’s a fair whack and pretty much some where Sanders is at.

How does he get better ?

Is it youth and inexperience or ability ?

How does he get better ?

Ed Richards is the perfect example here started his career a little bit half back but mainly half forward and couldn't get more then 15 disposals until his 5th year Sanders is already 16.5 and 18.57 after 2 years

Year 1: 14.57 disposals (21 Games)
Year 2: 11.65 disposals (20 Games)
Year 3: 10.76 disposals (17 Games)
Year 4: 13.60 disposals (5 Games)
Year 5: 18.45 disposals (22 Games)
Year 6: 21.21 disposals (19 Games)
Year 7: 21.38 disposals (21 Games)
Year 8: 25.78 disposals (23 Games)

How does he get better ?

Ability (he is slow). I’m not sure why he doesn’t kick the ball more because technically it looks like he can kick a ball just fine, he’s no Ed or Bont with his kicking, but he isn’t terrible.

The most worrying thing is he seems to play without alot of intent or willing to hunt the opposition.

Ed Richards is the perfect example here started his career a little bit half back but mainly half forward and couldn't get more then 15 disposals until his 5th year Sanders is already 16.5 and 18.57 after 2 years

Who cares? Richards carries a M60, Sanders a butter knife.

Ability (he is slow). I’m not sure why he doesn’t kick the ball more because technically it looks like he can kick a ball just fine, he’s no Ed or Bont with his kicking, but he isn’t terrible.

The most worrying thing is he seems to play without alot of intent or willing to hunt the opposition.

Sanders looks quicker this year than last year. I actually thought he showed an ability to get through contested situations with good agility and speed.

I couldn’t disagree more with your point on his intent. He always plays the game with good intent, as do all out of all players.

Exactly, He’s tracking better than most superstars were at his age. His ability to set up plays and find a team mate in space is better than I’ve ever seen for a young kid, and time slows down when he has the ball - hence the comparison to Pendlebury.

I’m very bullish on the player he will become and think some of the takes on here writing him off a generic mid are laughable.

Some here are very harsh towards Sanders.

Vanilla or not. Hard to develop when you're an inside player getting stuck on outside roles. Personally he should have played some time in the VFL in the centre to develop more. I wouldn't be trading him when we have Libba and Treloar likely to retire at the end of next season, though wouldn't put it past Libba to keep on going.

The stuff people point out, can be improved. Richards was nothing for a few years until moved to half back. Some players are just slow burns.

And we will be back to square one of having a lack of young mids coming through entering a period of extremely compromised drafts if TAS gets approved. Freijah still goes for long periods of low impact games. Sanders was also very good in that Sydney game where Freijah stood out. Hynes has showed nothing yet at AFL level aside from some hardness and Martin like fend offs.

If Sanders is vanilla, then so is Busslinger. If we get Butts and Wilkie. He will suddenly find himself 5th in the pecking order. Until Lobb retires at least. Even he could be used are a bargaining chip.

But we need to protect our future. We keep getting the list unbalanced at the wrong time in terms of positional balance and age profile.

To date, I’d be happy for Sanders to find even less footy than he does if he showed he was particularly dynamic at something.

Having said that, I’m not writing him off. I hopefully see a similar trajectory to Boyd or Wallis, who both took a few years to pull it all together with similar physical attributes.

Exactly, He’s tracking better than most superstars were at his age. His ability to set up plays and find a team mate in space is better than I’ve ever seen for a young kid, and time slows down when he has the ball - hence the comparison to Pendlebury.

I’m very bullish on the player he will become and think some of the takes on here writing him off a generic mid are laughable.
The big one for me this year though was going from no goals last year to 13 this year

finally started backing himself and it paid off

Just heard from a current AFL player that Curnot is nailed on for Geelong at this stage. Player wants it and Geelong want it.
Of course Geel want it.
Tell you what if Geelong land Curnow, I hope clubs band together and force the league to do what they did to Sydney after they got Franklin. It's not 'clever' it's blatant cheating.
You can bet they’ve been in his ear for a couple of years telling him to tank his value….they are pricks

Frank Costa's estate buys 1m cans of Barry per month. They then get buried in some farmland at Armstrong's Creek
I heard Ford buys another million and gives them to danger to take out in his boat and uses them to build an artificial reef.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)