Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Without going into it I think you’ll find this was the thing that might’ve been the final straw for Wilkie. Was already a touch annoyed that Aleer was gonna be on similar coin to him, then they did that.

Youre Back Ryan Reynolds GIF by Welcome to Wrexham

I don’t know why we are so focused here on whether a guy is a good bloke or not. It’s such a subjective thing and one man’s flog is another man’s great bloke. I don’t know how many times I’ve been in conversations at sporting clubs listening to how shit a guy someone is and then you actually get to know them outside cricket/footy and they’re nothing like that at all. As long as they aren’t the Tarryn Thomas types, I couldn’t care less. I feel like Lobb was described as an oddball who didn’t get along with teammates for the entirety of his career and he has been an outstanding locker room guy here, couldn’t be more different to how he was described

In terms of football fit, I’m not sure were the best place for Stephenson. I think the only position he can play is as the pseudo third tall, Bailey Dale/Gary Rohan type. He got tried at half back for North (and he was mentally checked out) but I don’t think his ball use is good enough to be playing that role

Do we need that type of forward? Sort of, but not really. At his best probably makes it work next to Darcy/Naughton (I like Croft a lot and would be giving him first crack at owning the position but don’t think we should be making list decisions based on a two gamer cementing a spot). I do feel like we have more than enough scoring power in Darcy/Naughton/Weightman/West + midfielders that I think we should be focusing the supporting forwards on their defensive pressure and tackling firstly and their offensive ability is just additional to that. As average of a player Gary Rohan was, his pressure stuff was enough to not be a complete liability, if you’re confident Stephenson could bring that to the table he could be handy. My thought on getting him is no, but it’s a gamble that I wouldn’t judge them for

Jeez , as wild as this board can get, multiple thread bans simply because a player has talked on the phone to another team is on another level .

Those advocating for May mustn't have watched his last few games . He was awful. Maybe he knew he was leaving & had checked out. But he was miles away from his best. He's struggled without his mate Lever . The Demons played their best footy against us, without him in the team.

The original recruiting of May & Lever was a master-stroke by the Dees. Defence wins premierships. I can't see us winning anything until we build a similar unit . One takes the best forward & the second intercepts and rebounds. The club has relied on grade B defenders & makeshift units for close to a decade. There needs to be a complete shift in thinking.

Without going into it I think you’ll find this was the thing that might’ve been the final straw for Wilkie. Was already a touch annoyed that Aleer was gonna be on similar coin to him, then they did that.

Sam Power making a fake offer to Silvagni to trick the Saints into overpaying so that Wilkie would get upset and be open to our offer

1758235507240.jpeg

To be honest, if the Saints didn’t come over the top with a high priced deal for JSOS, he would be at the pies, not us. Silvagni called McRae when he made his decision, not Bevo. We were just used to get the price up. I’m no Saints fan but we would do the same in their position. Remember when Griffen wanted to leave? I am assuming the Saints are calling every key Dog right now trying to pry one out. Same as we worked on every key Giant in the Griffen trade and every top Lion when Dunkley was going there. Hope we have this covered. If I was Saints or any other team, I’d be targeting JOD. Not on much money but a regular player and young and developing, his Dad also has history there. If they threw Leek Aleer money at JOD, we would have to scramble. Just my opinion but I’m not losing JOD to get Wilkie.

If I remember rightly, Liam Jones' father also played for StKilda

We’re offering Wilkie at least 1 mil more over the next 2 seasons than he would earn at St Kilda.

That’s serious money that would be hard for anyone to turn down.

It’s not like the NBA where everyone is on ridiculous contracts.

What is the farm in this scenario? Truly elite players make a difference, and this one is ready to go. IF the farm is a couple of first round draft picks, then why not? First of all you have nail the picks, then wait 3-4 years for them to play to their potential. We should be thinking dynasties with the likes of bont, darce, naughton, richards in the side, and instead we finished 9th.
If ever you were to sell acreage of canola it’s for Butters. Proven superstar. Hard, nasty, fast coaches dream, great teammate.
500 acres please

If I remember rightly, Liam Jones' father also played for StKilda
Just on Jones, he is very keen to play on next year but we have told him he will have to wait until after trade period before we are in a place where we could offer him a one year deal. Other clubs have deals on the table, including player-coach transition.

If we ended up with May I would mostly detach from the Dogs until he was gone. He is that much of a cancer.

I refuse to watch as we risk imploding from within, all for a player that, being incredibly generous based on the latter half of this year, is past his best.
I don’t believe you

Just a reminder that Lindsay Gilbee was a coach at the saints from 2013-2018. So this information is bulletproof!

JOD Grandfather also played at the saints so the family has a long history at that club

Stephenson playing in div 3 with Ferntree Gully, that is so far off afl level it's not funny. There is 0 chance he is playing afl next year.

It is one you'd think is a VFL signing somewhere with an eye on the mid season draft. Especially considering how poorly his North tenure finished

Was not like he was in high demand before his retirement, probably optimistic of his management to be talking to AFL teams about getting a list spot

It would be pretty hilarious if Wilkie and marshall do leave after saints splashing cash on all these c grade players
I expect Wilkie stays and Marshall ends up at the cats

I think this is how it plays out too
Mate. Good on the dogs for rattling the cage tho
At the end of the day we've signalled intent and made another club pay more for a player they already had. No harm done

It would be pretty hilarious if Wilkie and marshall do leave after saints splashing cash on all these c grade players
Replacing an all Australian that hasn't missed a game in 7 years (155 games) for a guy that hasn't nailed down a best postition and played 100 games (7 sub subbed off/on) in that same period.

Gotta give those poor saints fans some shiny new toys to keep up the hope of getting out of no man’s land

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)