Mick98

Sep 11, 2011
Tasmania
Seriously I'm sick of his concrete hands and teeth grinding when he has numerous free kicks paid against him.
Sure he is a big boy, but what does he actually contribute to this team?
Is physical presence the only thing saving his arse?

I say bye bye Chris.......Goldsack is built like a black lead pencil and makes Dawes goal kicking look pathetic.

End rant/

Is having a woeful season, needs to regain confidence and learn how to lead and mark above his head in the VFL but big no to trade.

Only issue with this is with all our current injuries can we afford to drop him especially with GC which might as well be a vfl side.

He should have been given a run in the VFL weeks ago but the simple fact is that we have too many injuries to do it. Hopefully when we (fingers crossed) get Tarrant, Reid and Brown back this can happen. One of Tarrant or Reid to go forward while he's out.

The only problem is that we don't have another back up ruckman now that Keeffe is out for the year. :(

That is Totally Stupid Mate.

Yes he is not in the Greatest Form and Yes his Overhead Marking is Woeful but what he can do is make players around him better by hitting packs hard and then trying hard and tiring his man.

Also has Great Dispsoal for a Big Man and Sets up quite a Few Goals.

Plus he is Loyal To Us so we need to be Loyal to Him

Tarrant in, Dawes out? I'd hope so however since Keefeys injury doesn't look to good we probably will keep Dawes in. Might be a good thing if he can play well against the Dees and the Suns. It's his chance to play himself into some form.

That is Totally Stupid Mate.

Yes he is not in the Greatest Form and Yes his Overhead Marking is Woeful but what he can do is make players around him better by hitting packs hard and then trying hard and tiring his man.

Also has Great Dispsoal for a Big Man and Sets up quite a Few Goals.

Plus he is Loyal To Us so we need to be Loyal to Him
When was he actually in form Dave?

Tell me mate.

Seriously I'm sick of his concrete hands and teeth grinding when he has numerous free kicks paid against him.
Sure he is a big boy, but what does he actually contribute to this team?
Is physical presence the only thing saving his arse?

I say bye bye Chris.......Goldsack is built like a black lead pencil and makes Dawes goal kicking look pathetic.

End rant/

Cloke had 4 possessions this week.
Should we get rid of him also?

Won't trade him but should be dropped to regain some form

Who is going to play at Full Forward and be the second ruck??

Really Guys.
How did Tippet go after the 1st qtr playing on an 8 gamer?

Cloke had 4 possessions this week.
Should we get rid of him also?

Won't trade him but should be dropped to regain some form

Who is going to play at Full Forward and be the second ruck??

Really Guys.
How did Tippet go after the 1st qtr playing on an 8 gamer?
Cloke has been rubbish this year I'll agree with that.But he has the runs on the board.AA,The record in contested marks for the history of the AFL.
What has Dawes done?

Horrible, horrible thread. After such a great game and a great effort there had to be a downer. Get a clue. Not every team can have two brilliant KPF who rip down contested marks and kick goals.
What you get from Dawes is a contest, and there were things he did tonight that were quite good. He was also very competitive as the second ruckman and I can see improvment in this area from the start of the season.

The funny thing is, he played probably his best game for the season last week against the Cats (remember his 55 metre goal that gave us a 4 goal lead???), and what, we give him one week and then we want his head. Such an easy target for foolish supporters. Look at the stats sheet, he is not kicking goals not taking marks, he must be hopeless let's bring in anyone else. The folly of this argument is that not anyone else can perform the role Dawes plays. He is quite good at ground level and his handball can be creative, but his biggest positive is that he has a massive workrate and is always providing that long get-out target. Cloke has a big tank too, that's why they work so well together.
In 2010 when we won the premiership, we were happy for both key forwards to be competitive and honest, now we want them to be matchwinners every week.

Stop imagining him to be a dominant key forward, and imagine him as a competitive 52 game kpf/developing 2nd ruckman.

Horrible, horrible thread. After such a great game and a great effort there had to be a downer. Get a clue. Not every team can have two brilliant KPF who rip down contested marks and kick goals.
What you get from Dawes is a contest, and there were things he did tonight that were quite good. He was also very competitive as the second ruckman and I can see improvment in this area from the start of the season.

The funny thing is, he played probably his best game for the season last week against the Cats (remember his 55 metre goal that gave us a 4 goal lead???), and what, we give him one week and then we want his head. Such an easy target for foolish supporters. Look at the stats sheet, he is not kicking goals not taking marks, he must be hopeless let's bring in anyone else. The folly of this argument is that not anyone else can perform the role Dawes plays. He is quite good at ground level and his handball can be creative, but his biggest positive is that he has a massive workrate and is always providing that long get-out target. Cloke has a big tank too, that's why they work so well together.
In 2010 when we won the premiership, we were happy for both key forwards to be competitive and honest, now we want them to be matchwinners every week.

Stop imagining him to be a dominant key forward, and imagine him as a competitive 52 game kpf/developing 2nd ruckman.
He was almost single handedly responsible for the a 3rd quarter in which Adelaide dominated and if not for poor conversion could have wrapped up the game.

He was literally a black hole in that quarter, anything he touched or was near went to shit, whether it be a ridiculous snap attempt from 55 that he should have centered but went out on the full, or giving away frees, or failing to mark easy balls that were swept away by opposition crumbers. He was a significant contributor to Adelaides dominance by basically destroying the hard work done by our mids to get the ball forward in a game where getting even an inch of ball movement forward was at a premium.

Today was just the cherry on top of a cake made of **** which represents his season. There is no point in sugar coating it or glossing over it because of how the rest of the team is playing. In fact if anything it makes it more glaring.

Why should I not think Chris Dawes is a KPF flog?
Is he a ruckman?
Does he take contested marks?
Does he kick goals?
Keep burying your head in the sand mate,seems to be the norm for a lot of Collingwood supporters on here.

Cant kick.. cant mark. After every contest he cries to the umpire instead of giving a honest 2nd effort.

Reminds me of jack anthony now.. except anthony was always a good kick, and a decent mark. If we can get decent value for him at the trade table do it, assuming the rest of 2012 plays out like this. Deff needs a vfl run.

Thank God that I persisted and read this comment after reading so much crap...is someone kidding? Didnt we have a bloody fantastic win tonight?? The thing that I was thinking at the end was " great team effort"....even Bucks said it in the press conference...and yet people come on here and want to write about a player out of form. I just dont get it.

What did our so called KPF gorillas contribute to that win?

And I don't get why people think that the teams result should have any relevance whatsoever to the analysis of an individual players performance.

As far as I'm concerned these two things are not related in any way, and is a completely redundant argument in this thread.

Fair enough, so continue to post your "redundant" opinion in this thread. It's a free world..
Correct.
"Redundant" is your opinion and you're entitled to it.
But I couldn't care less what you think.
No doubt you are one of the Ostrich supporters with your head in the sand.

Correct.
"Redundant" is your opinion and you're entitled to it.
But I couldn't care less what you think.
No doubt you are one of the Ostrich supporters with your head in the sand.

Ostrichs dont put their head in the sand.

because they would die.

Your mind has just been blown.

Dawesy got angry, he got meannnnnnn in the second half (sorry to quote Dodgeball :p) but the man needs confidence.

If you watched the Footy Show, even he admitted to being down on form and the man looks like the world is on his shoulders. I'd play him for the rest of the year, and make sure he knows he is a vital cog in our premiership tilt.

The guys is awesome, we have just forgotten how good he can be.