FootyEater

Scarbrough Eagles
I know this thread is a little early. and you all know my opinion of the guy, but i am prompted to start this thread by something that i read on the essendon board. basically essendon were talking about robbie warnock, and would they like to pick him up, the general consensus said no, but there was considerable support for getting gilmore :eek::confused::eek:

now, personally, i think gilmore is a complete waste of a jumper. his skills on the weekend cost us the game, although i used to think his skills were his one positive, he is as soft as butter sitting on a car radiator, granted he is fit and obviously the club sees him as a versatile player who can "play anywhere" but i have seen him play in the ruck, in the backline and in the midfield and havent seen him play one game that i believe would warrant him getting a game the next week. and FINALLY and i believe this is the most important down side to Gilmore, he has the worst decision making process of any footballer in the AFL, in short he is a STUPID footballer.

yet bombers supporters seem to rate him, with a strong draft this year, what would you take for gilmore? personally i'd take a sixth round pick, but thats just me. thoughts?

Sorry FE,

But i for 1 would not be keen on a trade of this guy at all unless something very good came of it.

We have put to much time on his development to just give it away to another club now.

Any player is tradeable for the right price, but Gilmore does have the ability to play many different roles, and while he is not fantastic in any of them, he has been serviceable. If as seems possible Warnock may go, trading Gilmore would be high risk. At the very worst Gilmore is fantastic depth player.

yet bombers supporters seem to rate him,

Unfortunately the cluib can't trade with Essendon supporters though. I doubt opposition clubs will be climbing over each other to recruit a 6 foot 2 ruckman.

personally i'd take a sixth round pick, but thats just me. thoughts?

Now you're just being silly, eating all those Burley's has damaged your brain. ;)

yeah i see where people come from when they say that, my argument is that he is a liability when he does play. and im hoping we can draft a ruck at the end of this year so we can afford to lose warnock if we have to, and get rid of gilmore. i just think the footy world overrates this guy, and if we could get something for him, do it. for once id like to be on the right side of a trade, you know, getting rid of a dud to collingwood or essendon for a nice pick would be sweet :D:thumbsu:

by the way, is there any mature age ruckman in the wafl worth looking at at the moment? zack beek dominated for peel against the sharks the other week. any other names come to mind who would be worth a shot

He is a player who traded would be another one of those "Freo have traded ANOTHER great player" I have no doubt Gilmore would be made turn into another Medhurst.

Plus I like him in the team anyway.

He is great for Freo to have, he just needs to be released from his defensive roll and put in the midfield more often. Not sure why Harvey is trying to turn him into a defender, unless he plays the sweeper roll he has never been very good at maning up.

we must be seeing the different players. the guy stuffs up everything he does. its like the reverse midas touch.

as for the medhurst trade, well he has had a good year this year. didnt even get a regular game for the pies last year untill the end of the season. and everyone here knows how hot and cold he is. i still reckon taz will recover and we will get the better of that deal

gilmore will NEVER be a top line player

round one v T Cloke he was really good, don't think he has been absolutely smashed to often this year, although his kicking cost us against geelong, mcpharlan cannot kick to a lead either, he is mister fairy pass.

He is great for Freo to have, he just needs to be released from his defensive roll and put in the midfield more often. Not sure why Harvey is trying to turn him into a defender, unless he plays the sweeper roll he has never been very good at maning up.

I would love to see him play 3-5 games soley as a midfielder to see if he could be the "big bodied midfielder" that we've been after for years.

Or at least one of the two following :

rotated through the middle if an when mcpharlap goes back.

runs his forward of his feet by continually pushing through the middle to deliver 50m passes to the chf or beyond.

"you know, getting rid of a dud to collingwood or essendon for a nice pick would be sweet :D:thumbsu:"

Like McPhee , Clement , Medhurst ??

Gilmore has been played out of position , but tend to agree his decision making is skewif , he needs to get the ball run 15 and kick it 50 , keep it very simple for him.

I think he played most of his early footy at half forward/wing , i would play him half foward leading up the ground turn onto his left and kick long to our forwards or sandi in the square....

There are a lot worse players out there then happy...

yeah, i have an agenda, id like to see freo move forward, give josh head a go instead of a proven poor performer in gilmore. if im an idiot you a c...sucker

I dont see how Gilmore is a proven poor performer, he has had a decent start to the year and had a very good end to last year.

yeah, i have an agenda, id like to see freo move forward, give josh head a go instead of a proven poor performer in gilmore. if im an idiot you a c...sucker

You have to remember its still April so any trade talk is very premature at this stage.

Its good to float around ideas but lets not turn on each other for voicing opinions.

Lets save the trash talk for the wiggles when they come along hey :thumbsu:

will he? the feeling seems to be that we need to make a call on he middle tier seasoned players. gilmore among others is one of these.

The season will test all theories.

I think Gilmore has been okay this year, which is a big improvement on previous years. :p

The problem is that we wouldn't get anything of value for him. Why trade him for, say, a third rounder who may never play AFL, or if he does, probably no better than Gilmore?

Ease up on the lad. He is prone to brain fades but he's still quite young and his best may be ahead of him. :thumbsu:

I think Gilmore has been okay this year, which is a big improvement on previous years. :p

The problem is that we wouldn't get anything of value for him. Why trade him for, say, a third rounder who may never play AFL, or if he does, probably no better than Gilmore?

Ease up on the lad. He is prone to brain fades but he's still quite young and his best may be ahead of him. :thumbsu:

Exactly right.

Sorry FE,

But i for 1 would not be keen on a trade of this guy at all unless something very good came of it.

We have put to much time on his development to just give it away to another club now.

You cannot expect to get something very good for something that is not very good. As for time spent on his development, you could spend forever on him and he would still be a soft one sided indecisive player. FE is on the money and as long as he and others of similar ilk are on the list the club will never achieve the ultimate goal.

What club do you support mate? Maybe a tad harsh on some of the criticism there as well.

IEase up on the lad. He is prone to brain fades but he's still quite young and his best may be ahead of him. :thumbsu:

They are not brain fades they are clear cases of panic, if he can't get on his left side he will automatically hand ball and inevitably to a bad option.