- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
Had a look down at Freo Oval this morning, and I am just going to go through players number by number and tell you what I saw.
1. Webster - training away from the main group, mainly running laps and doing some sprints, as well as some kicking skills.
2. JCarr - stayed on for awhile after everyone else went off doing some kicking. Was directing traffic out there for the younger guys.
3. Schammer - looks good and very fit. Copped a blast at one stage during a drill for not getting up quick enough after he got tackled, and for holding onto the ball too long. Didn't make the same mistake again!
4. Hase - IMO is the one "training the house down". Looks leaner, fitter, faster than anytime in his career so far. He is also the most vocal, yelling all the time, encouraging and praising his team-mates, directing traffic - really showing outstanding leadership. His skills look sharp and he is leading by example with his running and talking. I reckon he must have got dared by some of the other blokes, cos after he went off with a group right at the end, he re-appeared in his boots and a pair of budgie-smugglers... it was bloody funny. Hayden stuck his head out of the pool area and told the club photographer to get a photo. Hase didn't actually do anything, except go and stand with behind the goal line with a silly grin on his face.... he stayed for about 5 minutes then ran off, still grinning. My daughter called him over and cheekily asked for a photo of him, and he laughed and yelled "No way" as he ran off. Not a scrap of fat on him though.
5. Dunn - see Webster. They were together the whole time off to the side.
6. Solly - seems to be continuing where he left off. Crunched his old mate MJ at one stage, and they got up laughing about it.
7. Peake - runs like the wind, but his kicking is still average.
8. Macca - same as 2007. He appears to be working hard as usual.
9. MCarr - joined in with all the running and kicking, but when they went to close in stuff and tackling he didn't join in.
10. Palmer - not out there. I was sitting on the other side, and there were some guys on the bikes, so he could have been one of them, but i was too far away to see.
11. Des - same as usual.
12. Brock - doing some work with Webster and Dunn, but mostly was just running laps.
13. Pratt - See Palmer.
14. Grover - didn't notice him till near when i was leaving, and he was on the bikes just outside the gym. He might have been out on the track earlier, not sure.
15. Crowley - looks great. Still has the knee strapped, but it wasn't bothering him at all.
16. Mundy - looks bigger. Was talking a lot, and laid a ripper shepherd during one set-play.
17. MJ MkII - pretty much the same that others have said. He looks fit and solid, and directs the young blokes a lot on where to stand and when to make a lead... brings a lot of knowledge and experience with him.
18. McPharlin - he really is like a thoroughbred race horse.
Went off towards the end and got on the bikes.
19. Hinkley - See Palmer / Pratt.
20. Tarrant - looks great. Has he had some off-season surgery, cos he did all the running and kicking stuff, but was running with Brock and MCarr when the contact stuff was on.
21. Black - his kicking accuracy has not suffered after a second lot of off-season surgery. He's back running at full tilt, but i didn't notice if he was part of the contact group.
22. Thornton - did the running, but was on the bikes at the end.
23. Mayne - see Palmer & co.
24. Kiwi - seems to be over his injury, cos as far as I could see he was in everything. Seems a good sort, but you can tell even just by watching training that there are loads of others in front of him. The Joondies will have themselves a top forward for most of 2008 IMO.
25. Dodd - fit, lean, hard... I think he might be being groomed for that troublesome CHB position (given McPharlap now plays prediminantly at FB). I don't think we'll see much of Dodd in the middle or playing as a tagger. But that is just a guess.
26. Kepler - runs like a goof-ball, but then he is 199cm... A couple of times Harvs had to call out to him to re-position himself, and tell him when to lead. Again, I reckon the Joondies will have him for most of 2008 (fingers crossed anyway).
27. Gilmore - got blasted at one stage, "what are you doing Gilly? What good are you doing just standing there with your arms out - you shoulda helped him out." Then later in the "close in" stuff he got yelled at for looking sideways when he had the ball trying to pass it off to someone to the side of him and not looking forward - "turnover, it's not attacking enough". Then when thet were doing some set-play stuff he backed himself in a couple of times and took a long run and got some praise. He also laid a couple of shepherds to clear a path for a team-mate... so he was obviously listening earlier!
28. Murphy - looked to be working pretty hard, running well. I reckon from what I heard, that he will be competing with Kepler for the 3rd tall forward role - so I guess it's all down to these two to see who wants it more. They're from the same draft (4 positions difference), both played similar number of games, both have some talent... and they have Kiwi Campbell on their hammer also.
29. Pav.... aaahhh Pav. Perfect specimen of a human being. Beat every opponent put on him, but what else would you expect.
30. Drum - played with the defenders. Looks good, he has very good skills, now he needs to really step-up and force his way into the 22. Anything less will be a bit disappointing from a 1st round pick with 3 pre-seasons behind him.
31. Sandi - wasn't out there, but did see him on the bikes at the end.
32. Belly - not there.
33. Wiz - bouncing around like an ADD kid missing his ritalin.
34. Warnock - is bigger for sure. He has such good skills for a big guy... went off when they were doing the contact stuff and got on the bikes.
35. Ibbotson - I am excited about this kid. Tall, beefier, great skills and pace, and is training very, very well. I'd rate him up there as among the ones "training the house down". Looking forward to him forcing his way into the team.
36. Browne - was just working on upper body stuff the other day, and he wasn't out there today...
37. Johnno - Mr Smooth. Leaner and fitter. Mr Smooth...
38. Smith - another one that just runs and runs... He's still learning, and I reckon 2009 will be his year. He has a bloody deep voice too, and he's very vocal out there.
39. Mourish - the baby-fat is coming off and his fitness is increasing. He has good skills, and all things being excellent (!!), we might have another MJ on our hands after he's trimmed down the fat and bulked up the muscle a bit more. Certainly didn't look to be struggling so the rookie thing must have given him a boot up the bum. During the contact stuff he managed to get from one end to the other (about 40m) ducking and weaving and not getting caught. He got a bid rap from the coaches for that effort.
40. Foster - I didn't see my buddy. Hope he's not injured...
41. Duffield - seems to be having a solid pre-season like he has the last 2 years. Hopefully he can translate that more consistently in the H&A.
42. Head - see Palmer & co.
43. Roger - gee I love this guy. Roger is Roger - looking good.
44. Connelly - see Palmer & co.
So that's pretty much it.
1. Webster - training away from the main group, mainly running laps and doing some sprints, as well as some kicking skills.
2. JCarr - stayed on for awhile after everyone else went off doing some kicking. Was directing traffic out there for the younger guys.
3. Schammer - looks good and very fit. Copped a blast at one stage during a drill for not getting up quick enough after he got tackled, and for holding onto the ball too long. Didn't make the same mistake again!
4. Hase - IMO is the one "training the house down". Looks leaner, fitter, faster than anytime in his career so far. He is also the most vocal, yelling all the time, encouraging and praising his team-mates, directing traffic - really showing outstanding leadership. His skills look sharp and he is leading by example with his running and talking. I reckon he must have got dared by some of the other blokes, cos after he went off with a group right at the end, he re-appeared in his boots and a pair of budgie-smugglers... it was bloody funny. Hayden stuck his head out of the pool area and told the club photographer to get a photo. Hase didn't actually do anything, except go and stand with behind the goal line with a silly grin on his face.... he stayed for about 5 minutes then ran off, still grinning. My daughter called him over and cheekily asked for a photo of him, and he laughed and yelled "No way" as he ran off. Not a scrap of fat on him though.
5. Dunn - see Webster. They were together the whole time off to the side.
6. Solly - seems to be continuing where he left off. Crunched his old mate MJ at one stage, and they got up laughing about it.
7. Peake - runs like the wind, but his kicking is still average.
8. Macca - same as 2007. He appears to be working hard as usual.
9. MCarr - joined in with all the running and kicking, but when they went to close in stuff and tackling he didn't join in.
10. Palmer - not out there. I was sitting on the other side, and there were some guys on the bikes, so he could have been one of them, but i was too far away to see.
11. Des - same as usual.
12. Brock - doing some work with Webster and Dunn, but mostly was just running laps.
13. Pratt - See Palmer.
14. Grover - didn't notice him till near when i was leaving, and he was on the bikes just outside the gym. He might have been out on the track earlier, not sure.
15. Crowley - looks great. Still has the knee strapped, but it wasn't bothering him at all.
16. Mundy - looks bigger. Was talking a lot, and laid a ripper shepherd during one set-play.

17. MJ MkII - pretty much the same that others have said. He looks fit and solid, and directs the young blokes a lot on where to stand and when to make a lead... brings a lot of knowledge and experience with him.
18. McPharlin - he really is like a thoroughbred race horse.
19. Hinkley - See Palmer / Pratt.
20. Tarrant - looks great. Has he had some off-season surgery, cos he did all the running and kicking stuff, but was running with Brock and MCarr when the contact stuff was on.
21. Black - his kicking accuracy has not suffered after a second lot of off-season surgery. He's back running at full tilt, but i didn't notice if he was part of the contact group.
22. Thornton - did the running, but was on the bikes at the end.
23. Mayne - see Palmer & co.
24. Kiwi - seems to be over his injury, cos as far as I could see he was in everything. Seems a good sort, but you can tell even just by watching training that there are loads of others in front of him. The Joondies will have themselves a top forward for most of 2008 IMO.
25. Dodd - fit, lean, hard... I think he might be being groomed for that troublesome CHB position (given McPharlap now plays prediminantly at FB). I don't think we'll see much of Dodd in the middle or playing as a tagger. But that is just a guess.
26. Kepler - runs like a goof-ball, but then he is 199cm... A couple of times Harvs had to call out to him to re-position himself, and tell him when to lead. Again, I reckon the Joondies will have him for most of 2008 (fingers crossed anyway).
27. Gilmore - got blasted at one stage, "what are you doing Gilly? What good are you doing just standing there with your arms out - you shoulda helped him out." Then later in the "close in" stuff he got yelled at for looking sideways when he had the ball trying to pass it off to someone to the side of him and not looking forward - "turnover, it's not attacking enough". Then when thet were doing some set-play stuff he backed himself in a couple of times and took a long run and got some praise. He also laid a couple of shepherds to clear a path for a team-mate... so he was obviously listening earlier!
28. Murphy - looked to be working pretty hard, running well. I reckon from what I heard, that he will be competing with Kepler for the 3rd tall forward role - so I guess it's all down to these two to see who wants it more. They're from the same draft (4 positions difference), both played similar number of games, both have some talent... and they have Kiwi Campbell on their hammer also.
29. Pav.... aaahhh Pav. Perfect specimen of a human being. Beat every opponent put on him, but what else would you expect.
30. Drum - played with the defenders. Looks good, he has very good skills, now he needs to really step-up and force his way into the 22. Anything less will be a bit disappointing from a 1st round pick with 3 pre-seasons behind him.
31. Sandi - wasn't out there, but did see him on the bikes at the end.
32. Belly - not there.
33. Wiz - bouncing around like an ADD kid missing his ritalin.
34. Warnock - is bigger for sure. He has such good skills for a big guy... went off when they were doing the contact stuff and got on the bikes.
35. Ibbotson - I am excited about this kid. Tall, beefier, great skills and pace, and is training very, very well. I'd rate him up there as among the ones "training the house down". Looking forward to him forcing his way into the team.
36. Browne - was just working on upper body stuff the other day, and he wasn't out there today...
37. Johnno - Mr Smooth. Leaner and fitter. Mr Smooth...
38. Smith - another one that just runs and runs... He's still learning, and I reckon 2009 will be his year. He has a bloody deep voice too, and he's very vocal out there.
39. Mourish - the baby-fat is coming off and his fitness is increasing. He has good skills, and all things being excellent (!!), we might have another MJ on our hands after he's trimmed down the fat and bulked up the muscle a bit more. Certainly didn't look to be struggling so the rookie thing must have given him a boot up the bum. During the contact stuff he managed to get from one end to the other (about 40m) ducking and weaving and not getting caught. He got a bid rap from the coaches for that effort.
40. Foster - I didn't see my buddy. Hope he's not injured...

41. Duffield - seems to be having a solid pre-season like he has the last 2 years. Hopefully he can translate that more consistently in the H&A.
42. Head - see Palmer & co.
43. Roger - gee I love this guy. Roger is Roger - looking good.
44. Connelly - see Palmer & co.
So that's pretty much it.