-CG-

Some great photos of today's session are up now on the Club's website and can I just say Edwards, Goodwin, Maric, Tippett, Talia and even Martin (for his size) are looking huge!

Unfortunately I couldn't make it down this morning as my car is getting serviced :(:thumbsd: but it looks like a lot of people were there. I'm looking forward to reading some reports :thumbsu:

I went down there today - a few Bigfooty dudes down there (myself, Drummond, The Weed #33, beagle2, Symesy15, PIHL, BACCS, James_37 and probably some others I didn't see/notice). It was a bloody long session, after three hours I'd had enough of the sun and took off and they were still going, but it was very sedate. They seemed to spend long periods of time between drills standing in a huddle in the middle of Max Basheer with a coach talking to them, at one point they were there for about 15 minutes. No idea what they were talking about.

I'm stealing BACCS' thunder here but apparently Danger is out with a knee injury for a couple of weeks, presumably courtesy of that Douglas tackle on monday. Porps is also interstate getting his back worked on, he just can't keep his body right Porplyzia :( Will Young was also a notable absentee today, Jaensch didn't seem to be around, Knights participated in part of the training session but not all of it, and Luke Thompson was only out there for 15 minutes or so. Griffin wasn't out there either and Maric was doing running part of the time, though he did participate in full training for a while.

Perhaps I spent too long listening to Drummond but I have to say that the standout trainer of the day was undoubtedly Myke Cook. He ran his guts out all day long, and was used almost every time coming out of defence. He would start on the wing and lead all over the place, and when he got it he generally used it (though he did get caught a couple of times). Sloane played a similar role, and was often the next in the chain after Cook, but was less clean. Armstrong was also playing his role with his usual adeptness but didn't stand out as much as Cooky. I'd have to say he's the player not in last year's best 22 most likely to come in for mine (other than Walker I guess). He looks fit as can be and his kicking, while still a bit ugly, was hitting the targets more often than not.

I'm still not sold on Phil Davis. I love his right foot, it just goes beautifully, and he reads the play well, but I feel that to play the sort of roles he's likely to play at AFL level he either needs to have a big body or good pace, and at the moment he has neither. It also concerns me that for someone with such a reliable kick he opts to use the handball so often, which he seems less reliable with. He also seems to have an annoying habit of dropping the ball when going for a marking contest. Given another year his body should fill out and I reckon he could be a good player but I really don't see him being the answer to our prayers this season. For mine, McKernan looks much more ready to go.

McKernan rucked most the gameday drills opposed to Maric and gave Maric a fair bath from my vantage point, and got involved in a lot of play. His lookalike in Sam Shaw had a pretty fair day, earning lots of plaudits from Drummond and co from his lovely left foot. Gunston was also out there today but I could only identify him by looking for the kid with the skinniest arms.

In fact, all of our ND recruits from 09 played today and none embarassed themselves. Craig showed a surprising turn of pace when he chased down a ball-carrier from a good 15m behind to affect the disposal, though he kicked a couple of absolute shockers today. He needs to work on that. Talia looks bigger every time I see him. He's not the best kick Talia but he looks like an absolute athlete. I didn't see much of Gunston but he didn't do anything wrong when I saw him.

Aiden Riley was out there but really didn't have much of a day. He looks like he is a long way off the pace. His kicking is quite poor for this level and he doesn't look super fit, but I guess that's to be expected considering he was playing for Wollongong a few months ago. He's definitely one to put in the bank for a couple of years and have a look at then.

Scott Thompson had a blinder of a day, drilling some beautiful kicks and laying a couple of gorgeous tackles, including two in a single passage of play. Petrenko and Jacky had their usual "one good thing, one not-so-good thing" day, with Petrenko in particular often looking to run too far and ending up in trouble. Jacky was often leading to space but was ignored.

Craigy was getting stuck into the boys a fair bit today. At one point Sellar, playing opposed to Tippett I think, gave away a free kick and Craigy yelled out "who gave away the free? Sellar?" and Sellar put his hand up. "You give away one of those every week!!" Craig yelled at him, clearly upset. At one point when the boys were doing a gameday-type drill they were only a few minutes into it when Craigy stopped it and yelled something at them about "rubbish running" or something and then called them around to talk to them for ten minutes or so, and after that they all did laps. Obviously he wasn't happy with something.

As usual, Goodwin, Vince and Mackay were just invisible to me, I don't understand why three of the classiest players on our list are always invisible to me at training, but presumably they were doing well as always :p Edwards was lining up on Walker at one stage (they seem convinced that Walker is going to end up with a smaller defender) and Edwards received the ball from a defender and Walker just gobbled him up with a beautiful tackle. Walker was also on Doughty at one point and received a free from the umpire, but Craigy turned it over and gave it to Doughty who was clearly annoyed at having the free go against him. Walker gave him a bit of a mouthful :p Doughty was probably frustrated from earlier when Stevens had given him a smack in the mouth in a marking contest and sent him to the ground :o

VB came out late and did some running, he still looks fit as a fiddle. Moran, Symes, Schmidt and Donnelly were running laps, Donnelly managed to hold pace with them for a few laps before slipping behind. Martin was running with a trainer, and Bock came out and did a small amount of work at one point. All in all it was a fairly sedate session and difficult to guage anything from, but hey, at least the whether was nice :o

Craigy was getting stuck into the boys a fair bit today.

but Craigy turned it over and gave it to Doughty who was clearly annoyed at having the free go against him.

Good reports guys.

I think we need a nickname for James Craig, as sometimes it takes me a while to work out which Craig you are talking about. Ie:

Decent session, went for almost 10 hours, Sloane dog was last to leave with Craigy. Approximately half the population of Adelaide rocked up, standing room only. Dobbed goal after goal when it was my turn to shine at the end of the session, I think I'm officially on Rendell's top 10 for '10.

Cook was so good I think he picked up a few Charlie votes today, definitely BOG. :thumbsu: Seems strange that he wasn't right up there in the time trials because he was running all over the park today from one end to the other. Disposal was pretty good, but his ability to run and carry and break the lines is brilliant. Coming right into calculations for Round 1. I know what'll happen, everyone will hype him, he'll play a game, stuff up a kick and everyone will be all over him. He's a gun though, a bit raw, but a superb athlete who will become a very good player for the AFC. Took a ripper of a mark today.

Jarrhan Jacky, don't see this superstar FAITH. :confused: Did have a few nice kicks to a leading target but again, not much depth on his kicking and appeared to struggle when having a few shots on goal. Wasn't really involved in the match drills. Petrenko wasn't overly noticeable expect for one play where he tried to run and run and was eventually caught holding the ball. Actually tried to bounce the ball while being tackled, ummm Pets that's a free mate. ;) If it wasn't holding the ball it was running too far, either way a turnover.

Shaw, love him, my draftee. :D I think I have an extra appreciation for left footers; his kick is so smooth, lovely kicking action and he's got a fair roost on him. Looks to have good strong hands too. Gunston didn't do a whole lot, he looks really small wight wise when in a group but nearby he looks quite solid, I guess compared to his teammates he's tiny. Craig was pretty good today, Talia just did restricted work but looks like a tank. Riley's kicking is much better over long distances and he constantly hit targets over about 40-50 metres. Mackay had a lovely give and go and then had a shot on goal, think he missed.

Hendo looks good as does Walks, Knights was gunnish. Not much else that hasn't been said although the highlight of the day was the delightful conversation I had with PIHL, it was riveting and tremendously insightful. :thumbsu:

Yeah, PIHL is a delightful young lady with a real touch of class. Presents herself well and comes across as an intelligent supporter. :(:eek::(

So Danger is out for two weeks, and Porps is...?

Don't worry about Jacky drumstick, he will come on and be a quality player for the AFC. Not sure about superstardom though.

D-Mack should be renamed D-Smooth ... Such a gun.

Thanks all for the training reports, really look forward to these every open training day :)

OK, so I search this thread for Tony Armstrong and nothin has been said

What?
didn't train, because surely he would of said something worth bringing up here

Armstrong was there, I even mentioned him if memory serves. But he was mostly on the opposite side of the ground from where I was so I didn't hear him say anything, and I left before the Crows did :o
Sorry, your post is too long :p
I got through 2 paragraphs before I needed to rest.
I just searched Tony Armstrong and nothing came up

You must of said Armstrong or something so it wasnt brought up in the search

Jarrhan Jacky, don't see this superstar FAITH. :confused: Did have a few nice kicks to a leading target but again, not much depth on his kicking and appeared to struggle when having a few shots on goal. Wasn't really involved in the match drills. Petrenko wasn't overly noticeable expect for one play where he tried to run and run and was eventually caught holding the ball. Actually tried to bounce the ball while being tackled, ummm Pets that's a free mate. ;) If it wasn't holding the ball it was running too far, either way a turnover.

Still early days. Crows always said he would take a little longer than most.

As a regular reader of BigFooty, I thought it's time to join and give my take on today's training session.

I may repeat a few things mentioned already so apologies in advance.

During the warm up for the main group, I was watching the injured group complete a handball drill. From memory it was martin, schmidt, VB, Symes and someone else - cant remember. A few players were running laps, which included Maric, Moran and Symes. Donnelly was also running laps but looked absolutely stuffed after a few laps, while the others kept powering on. Martin was also having a kick and doing some laps and wasnt wearing a knee brace and seemed to running quite smoothly. VB did some jogging by himself and just looks so fit. His upper body looks like he has just spent 5 mths pumping iron. Moran and Symes also ran a little together. With Symes being fitter, he was a running a few metres on the outside of Moran so they could stick together. It seemed Symes was calling the shots when they needed to pick up the pace and when to run slower - I guess it comes with being part of the leadership group.

Anyways, Ill move onto the main group. I saw some good and bad today. Im not a regular at training so I have no real basis for comparison but I saw a few dropped sitters by Armstrong and Seller but they also did a few good things too. During a handball drill, Tippett's intensity just stands out. He just puts so much effort into every drill, even if its just a handball. His ability to get down and pick up the ball at 6 foot 7 just defies logic. Thompson was also great with his hands today. Dmac is just effortless to watch train. Just glides across the oval.

During the match day simulation drill, they would kick the ball out of defense to the flank and immediately look inside the corridor. There was some spot on passes through the middle. Craig at one point praised Cook for his work rate while on the mark and not allowing the player to play on. Shaw seems a skillful player but my opinion is that his kicks are more like pitching wedges. I didnt see him drill any low passes and as a result, it gave the defender an opportunity to get a fist on the ball. Petrenko, Armstrong and Jacky I thought trained well without standing out. Sloane's hands are super quick and I didnt see him standing still all day.

Smack I thought trained really well. I one particular play he was in defence and the ball hit the deck and Smack read it better than anyone. He grabbed the ball, turned his opponent inside out and delivered a spot on handball that allowed his team mate (I think stiffy) to clear it out of defensive 50. His decision making and agility really stood out. Cant say who is ahead - Smack or Davis. Davis, while he has the smarts, doesnt seem to rove the ball like Smack can (or Otten for that matter). Smack is bigger and certainly has more weight than Davis through his core that makes him tough to tackle.

The players went onto another handball drill that ended in a shot on goal. Tex got yelled at by one of the coaches (I think Ben Hart) for standing still. I can understand it - I was tired just watching the first hour. Maric left training a little early and signed a few autographs. Not sure if he was having an easy week or was carrying a small niggle.

One of the final exercises was 30 metre (my estimate) sprints. One thing I noticed was Sloane, Petrenko and Cook starting about 2 or 3 metres behind everyone else to start the sprint. Is this a regular occurance? Not sure if they are just super disiplined or they were trying extra hard to stand out. Petrenko was a little too far away but even starting behind the others, Cook and Sloane were right up the front at the finish line. They did a number of these sprints and every time, they just had superb acceleration. Look forward to seeing these boys in the NAB cup.

thanks for the report to All

I'm really looking forward to watching Cook go round in the NAB

One of the final exercises was 30 metre (my estimate) sprints. One thing I noticed was Sloane, Petrenko and Cook starting about 2 or 3 metres behind everyone else to start the sprint. Is this a regular occurance? Not sure if they are just super disiplined or they were trying extra hard to stand out. Petrenko was a little too far away but even starting behind the others, Cook and Sloane were right up the front at the finish line. They did a number of these sprints and every time, they just had superb acceleration. Look forward to seeing these boys in the NAB cup.

Can remember last year during pre-season, that someone commented on, some of the young guys, who thought it was no big deal if they slightly cut the corners, in something like the Goodwin-Run. Apparently Edwards told them in no uncertain terms that we dont cut corners at this club.

Fast-forward 12 months and they are now handicapping themselves.

Fast-forward 12 years and i can see someone like Sloane, Petrenko or Cook putting some upstart draftee in ther place. Love the culture that the crows have installed in there players.