Training 26/1/07

AndyWalkersGirl

While i'm waiting to hear from HBF ( :p ;) ) I found a report on today's training session.

Thanks to dannyboy at talking carlton for this:- (He's very excited by the sounds of things. It is great to hear us so excited about our young kids!)

okay forget all the trainign reports you've read - this is not going to be like them - can't tell the trees for the forest (damn trees are all too young and unrecognisable to these old eyes).

so excuses out of the way - here goes.

Observations.

We are taller.

We are faster

We are damn young. I mean damn young! Don't expect much, just go with the excitement of youth and have fun but really, unless the kids get sky high after a couple of wins just enjoy their glimpses because older teams will still smash us.

But

Griggs is bloody fast. 1 bit on the wing, fair dinkum the grass was black where he ran. In fcat the thing was Simmo no longer stands out! He's just another fast one out there.

Bloody Tex is ready. Him and AB (AB is a brick with legs) - watch out. Tex is ready to go.

Hartlett trained well and I hope the kid gets a gig this year. Think he may be a bit of a goer.

The Irish lads are getting bigger and bigger. I believe both will be stars of this comp - they just need experience.

In all the thing that got me most I guess was the speed, the way the lads seem to have fun with each other and some of the hits. Big hits, they play with a fair amount of spice out there.

Not this year but soon...very soon...we are going to rip this competition a new ****************! There is some serious talent out there with Tex and Murph (who just glides) Gibbs, JK and JR (who is looking much bigger) and many others.

Saddo looks fit.

Stevo looks fit.

Kouta looked very fit.

And most blokes were out there today.

I didn't see Fev, Lance walked around at the end. Flinty and Benj were both injured otherwise, it seemed most were out there throwing themselves in hell for leather.

Can't wait for Aisake and Hampson to be in the firsts!

Aikland is training as hard as he can and moves very well for a big man. Cloike (still hurts to type it but what the hell) is trying very hard, looks fit and has some really nice skills.

Go Blues.

some more. (I'm easily excited when i read good things about the club).

Thanks to RiverRat at csc for this one:-
It was only a small part of today's training but the part that stood out for me was the 4 on 4 handball drill with teams alternating possession over about 30 to 40 metres. It was seriously tough and brought applause from the coaching staff at its conclusion.
eusa_clap.gif

Brilliant performers were Carrazzo, Benchy, Walks and Bower. Crunching tackles were applied by Kennedy and Benchy whilst Aisake showed a bit of the sleeping mongrel when someone manhandled him and got more than he bargained for in return.
icon_twisted.gif

The session started with an impressive speed session - back and forth across the rugby field in groups of 5. This is pretty regular feature of training these days and the boys are looking damn fast. Even former slowcoaches like Teague and Blackie are running fast.
icon_biggrin.gif

TD then took charge for a bit of close range handball and short kicking in lines.

Kicking and running across the centre square followed with the players initially positioned at the 8 points of a #. The quality of running from the speed session is clearly evident in this activity.

Then the 4 on 4 handball work - worth more applause
eusa_clap.gif
because the intensity was outstanding.

The team then split into 2 groups (at either end) with the ball being kicked high to various one on one contests and the smaller guys running to crumb. I watched at the Legends end to get a break from the sun and was captivated by the performance of Hampson who marked everything that came within reach and completely dominated Waite whether playing as the forward or the defender. Aisake was also fairly impressive as a defensive combatant - great reach and an awkward guy to out position.

End to end (limited physical contact) match practice again focused on speed and accuracy of ball movement. Carrazzo excelled in both areas with some excellent foot passes. Hampson and Jacobs took some nice marks. Walker was very active in the midfield. Kouta looked like the Kouta we all remember with awe. Blackwell impressed and showed enough speed and confidence to run with the ball on several occasions. Cloke was impressive as an on-ball link man - he definitely has more to offer in this role than the Bear did because Cloke has the energy and effort to run to make position. Aisake was placed under pressure when he marked in front about 40 metres from goal and missed left with his set shot. The play was halted and he was told to try again - same result - and again before he slotted the goal. Great to see Wiggo take part.

Which players wil provide the biggest improvement in 07? - Kouta, Skinny and Stevo look like different players to the ones who plodded through pre-season and much of the season last year. Look for these guys to have a major impact on the 2007 season.

Thanks to Mav also at csc:-
I liked the footy version of lawn bowls they had at the end of the session. A U-shape was set up about 40 m from the players and the idea was to get the ball on a particular point. They all had a kick, and then went and stood around the U. They carried on like a bunch of blokes playing drinking games - plenty of laughter and excitement. A big roar met the first kick to hit the target. Good to see the boys bonding together.

Bluesgirl at csc also:-
My fav part of the session was when some took their tops off...
icon_razz.gif

Fev has an injured back which is why he hasnt been training fully.

Before and after the session every player had to do a lap of PP, so they did 2 laps all togehter. The they started the session off with sprints.

The Intra Club match is on the 5th of Feb. They had a 10 minute one today.
http://www.csc.actebs.com.au

Well, i'm here AWG, and did venture down to PP this morning. My report won't nearly be as in depth as the others, but I really thought the boys trained well today.

There was lots of enthusiasm, lots of talking and lots and lots of speed.

Guys that stood out from this mornings sessions were Walker, Murphy, Hartlett, Anderson, Stevens and Ackland.

Waite and Fisher looked good playing up forward in some end to end match simulation, as did Cloke, who is much bigger than what I originally though, and it was good to see him spend a few minutes on the ground after the rest of the team went inside so he could have a few shots at goal.

FWIW AWG, Walks is just massive. We couldn't believe how much bigger he is than what he was at the end of the 2006 season, and he just looks set to have a huge 2007 season.

Thanks Italian_styles for the piccies!!!!!!!

Hey HBF, glad to hear Hartlett was in teh guys that impressed today. How was he moving? Is he a chance to secure a spot in our team this year, in your opinion? How were Jordan Russell and Josh Kennedy going? Are they likely to play all 22 do you think?

Also good to hear about Cloke.

Fingers crossed that Walks will shine this year!!

The pictures really just keep getting better and better Italian_styles. Could you please PM me and let me know what sort of camera you have?

Setanta is huge! Hampson is a Giant. Cloke is huge!

I really really love this pic:-

How the hell did Bentick turn into a monster?!?!?!

How were the 'injured' ones going? Whitnall, Raso? How did Hartlett, O'hAilpins all travel? Haven't heard much on Mr. Adidas...

Thanks to Firearms Fev at TC:-

Went along to training today and loved it. Beautiful day and good talent on show.

There was a drill were the team was divided in two and ran the ball back and forwards with help and opposition. Physical force was used here, happy to get away with no injuries!

It was very very agressive with bumps and elbows flying evrywhere.

Bentick floored Gibbs with a great tackle and Gibbs was slow to get up and ginger from then on... Same happened to Bower thanks to Bentick again i think who is soft and was hiding a sore left shoulder. Many other players involved with heaps of great tackles and bumps. Real hunger and determination.

Hartlett was aggressive in this drill an impressed me today, the first time I have noticed what all the fuss is about
icon_cool.gif

Murphs ran like the wind and was hard to catch as a result going all the way on his own as a result

Steven was great as was Scotland, Simmo (who now looks like a pr0n star) and even Russell threw abit of weight around.

Setanta took them on and ran the ball out on his own aswell a couple of times.

They went into a full ground drill at one stage which was a match type simulation and I was watching the match ups in the tall timber department.

Hampson was an absolute standout, in fact he was the biggest stand out for mine at training today, he will kill them!

Hampson beat Waite, Jacobs and pretty much anyone else thrown at him. He has really good clean skills too...

Jacobs gave Waite a bit of a bath in the one on one stuff, but was beaten soundly by Hampson as I have mentioned.

Murph was sublime as usual.

Bower had a few good clearing runs with good kicking to advantage.

Walker ran and presented all day, is set for a huge 07'

There was a player wearing 43 in the yellow top who impressed me with his skill, anyone now who he was?

The O'Hailpen boys trained well without standing out.
At one stage Azaki took a mark about 40 meters out and missed to the left. Play was halted and he tried again, missing to the left again but by less. The ball came back again and this time he put it straight through to the roar of his teammates.

Kouta stood out for the fact that he is so experienced and kouta after all. I hope the youngsters are studying him.

Joe Anderson was quick out there, involved in plenty and hitting targets.

Josh Kennedy did well in his contests and has filled out a little. Showed good skills on his left at one stage returning the ball to TD.

In the end they played a game which involved putting a footy about 50 meters away and every one had a crack at trying to put the ball as close as possible.

A few players like Mclaren got close and then skinny stepped up and went foooomp and the ball was next to it.

They erupted and skinny danced around arms in the air and went and stood right next to it as if to protect his glory.

It was looking as if he would win it comfortably when Carrots went foomp himself and laid it just as close or even closer (I couldn't tell).
The boys erupted again and Carrots went up and shook skinny's hand as if to say bad luck from what I could tell.

That was it and a couple of boys stayed out for a kick.

The O'hailpens were practicing with Hampson and Libba. Libba said that'll do boys and Setanta said no he has to finish with one he's happy with, and the very next one he hit Hampson lace out and then he he agreed to end the session.

Down the other end Bower and Edwards were practicing there set shots at goal under TD watchful eye, who was telling them not to lean back when kicking as that is were you lose control of your kicking and the ball will drift to the side (drifts to the right for a right footer).

Bower didn't missed many and I was impressed with his skills.

Edwards it a tank already with a beard to boot (does not look like a teenager
icon_eek.gif
) His kicking was pretty good to with not many missing.

Cain Ackland meanwhile was out running the full length of the field in sprints, back and forth back and forth...

That’s about all I can remember at the moment, if I remember more I shall add it to this thread...

Cheers,

Mars.
http://www.talkingcarlton.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=14374

Thanks Italian_styles for the piccies!!!!!!!

Hey HBF, glad to hear Hartlett was in teh guys that impressed today. How was he moving? Is he a chance to secure a spot in our team this year, in your opinion? How were Jordan Russell and Josh Kennedy going? Are they likely to play all 22 do you think?

Also good to hear about Cloke.

Fingers crossed that Walks will shine this year!!

Hartlett was moving quite well AWG, and I must say that this was one of the things that impressed me this morning. If his body can hold up, I think he could play quite a few games for Carlton this year. He played up forward in the end to end match simulation, and took one very nice mark on the lead.

Spent a glorious hour this morning watching the Blueboys train. It's been a few years since my last session, and I was struck by the unity and cameraderie of the fellas. Last time (2003) they moved between drills in dribs and drabs, looking very uninterested, lethargic and inattentive. The only voices I heard were the staff, and the occasional bollocking from a player when another did something wrong.
Today they were tightly bunched, enthusiastic and competitive. LOTS of loud calls, encouragement & direction to each other. Everyone moved on to the next drill quickly & together, and listened keenly to the staff.

Great to see the guys train, but was more encouraged by their sense of purpose and cohesion.

Go Blues!

Has Bentick's foot disposal improved much?

From what I saw today, his foot skills have improved a bit over the pre-season.

I really think the addition of Ratts and Braddles onto the coaching staff has really helped the skills of our list, and this is starting to show already.

From what I saw today, his foot skills have improved a bit over the pre-season.

I really think the addition of Ratts and Braddles onto the coaching staff has really helped the skills of our list, and this is starting to show already.

Great news. Do you reckon he will be a starter in the center square in round 1?

Many thanks to the posters at csc for these little bits

bluesgirl
Wayne Johnston was there again with Tomi's younger brother Clay. He looks exactly like Tomi, size and height. He stayed till the end until he had to go to Richmond.... And i think its been confirmed that Tomi will play for the Ants this season but im not sure about Jake Williams.

No1inparticular
Managed to get down to training yesterday.

And as other posters have stated (well done RR) the intensity of some the drills impressed me but moreso the skills executed under that intensity.

The lads had a real crack.

In one drill Blackwell brought Stevo to ground in a tackle as he was h/balling off and Stevo retaliate with a stomach punch such was the competitive juices that were flowing.

Compared to the WCE session I saw two weeks ago, yesterdays session was louder and more intense.

But then again I think the WCE as slightly behind with their prep at the moment having started later. One of the benefits of finishing last I guess.
icon_confused.gif

Noticed Braddles and Ratts got involved in the match practice drill. Both look fit and could still get plenty of the ball today. Oh! for the good old days. Was impressed with a warm-up kicking drill Libba, Ratts & TD were doing whilt the group was doing their running drill. Age has not wearied them. plenty of banter amonst the coaching staff. Really good atmosphere down their for all connebted with the group. Was even treated to a sing song by Red to Eddie thru the session.

Managed to have a chat to Joe Anderson after training and if his enthusiam is anything to go by, he'll be a big asset for us in years to come.

Bring on the season!

Raso is injured, not Flint.

Raso did something to the tendons in his arm IIRC.

Many thanks to the posters at csc for these little bits

bluesgirl

No1inparticular

Flint was either injured or a complete slacker as he was only doing stationary drills on the sidelines.

Most impressive part of the day was Ratts picking up the ball cleanly on the half volley and disihing off a perfect handball to a bloke running past :)

I iterate what was said about Harts, he was moving nicely...nobody has mentioned Saddo, he was also moving really well and could be a very handy player as well as contributing much needed experience in the backline if he stays fit. The usual suspects trained really well as others have mentioned. I was impressed with the developed bodies on some of the kids...Joey Anderson looks like he could play round 1, he is pretty solidly built for a young kid. My boy Benjamin looks like the perfect AFL atheltic specimen, of course he wasn't involved in the drills today but if he really comes on i can see him being an extremely handy pickup at #51.

Flint is injured. He was on the sidelines all morning, along with Benjamin, Whitnall and Raso. Raso is still in plaster too. The jury is still out with Raso IMO. He certainly has the height but his body is a worry. He is a tad too skinny at this point. I know he was recruited bottom age and is a project player, but he is entering his third year on the list as well and I am not convinced his development has come on as much as the club would have hoped. He is still playing Bullants Reserves as well IIRC.

WALKS IS MASSIVE!!! I couldn't get over how great he looked!!! (just ask HBF, Gilly and C4 how many times I mentioned that) ;) He moved really well all morning, as did Murph, Hartlett, Saddington, Carrazzo and Stevo.

The entire group were extremely vocal and they looked really fit!! Waite, Fisher and Kennedy all looked good. Jacobs and Hampson are massive units, although somebody needs to get Jacobs to the solarium!!!! New nick for Jacobs as well - Ginger Ninja!! (thanks C4!) That was a good call!!! :D Gibbs' disposal was outstanding and Grigg is mighty quick!!

Setanta was another that impressed me. His body on body work seems to have improved and he is getting in the right position to punch the ball away from his opponent as well. It appears that he is a committed player as well as he stayed back to practice his kicking after the session was wrapped up. Cloke also stayed back and kicked a nice goal from just inside the boundary. He looks to have slimmed down as well and looks better with his shaved head rather than the "do" he had at the Pies (that was fugly!)

Two wildcards this year IMHO. Saddington and Hartlett - If they can both stay injury free, I think they can present as real wildcards for us. Both big units and appear to read the play very well.

Was also good to see the physical side of things as well. As mentioned by another poster, Blackwell gave Stevo a jab to the stomach after their one on one contest. Good to see the youngsters giving a bit to the "oldies".

Fev was a noticeable absentee and I don't remember seeing Jordan Russell either.

I am definately going to head down to the Intra-club match next Monday.

Fev was a noticeable absentee and I don't remember seeing Jordan Russell either.

Fev was out there for the initial running drill on the far side of the ground. He walked back off into the change rooms just before the main group split to do the handballing drill - however not before having a quick laugh with Lance who was stretching on the floor - and a photo shot with some kids.

Russell was out there.

Fev was out there for the initial running drill on the far side of the ground. He walked back off into the change rooms just before the main group split to do the handballing drill - however not before having a quick laugh with Lance who was stretching on the floor - and a photo shot with some kids.

Russell was out there.

Didn't see either sorry but I did arrive after they began. I thought training started at 9.30am? I was there at 9.20am.

How does Russell look?

Fev has a back inury.

Any more info?