Training - 4/01

• Thread starter Thread starter pistol17

Gee i cant wait for it all to start! I will be so pumped for nab cup, then you have that feeling half way through when you realise that the footy played is still way of league pace, skill etc. And you cannot wait for round 1.

One question though, how did my buddy drummy go? he seems to be sitting in no mans land as far as a position in the team. (fair enough on performance) But also his body shape would suggest he plays as a flanker (we have enough of these) and on form it will be the hardest spot to get a gig at FFC.

he looks sensational. big big year for him. if he can stay injury free he will be a very important player for us.

Totally agree. Crowley looks even bigger this year, and with his endurance and fitness going well, he should be in for a big year (touch wood). I too think he will be a vital part of our midfield this season, he'll be like a bigger stronger and more skillful version of Cookie!:eek:

Had a very quick squizz yesterday (mon 7th jan)... this is what I can tell you from memory (in no particular order):

- all the senior players were back - Pav, Jeffrey, Des, Macca etc... although I didn't see Belly at all.
- they are louder than I have ever heard before when doing their drills
- Andrew Browne was in the gym alone, working on some machine where you pump your arms like you're raising sails on a yacht... he was rubbing his leg a lot also, so I reckon he must have some sort of leg injury (again).
- Ryley Dynn and Luke Webster were at the side doing handballs and stuff and running laps with a couple of young looking guys I didn't recognise. One was a small aboriginal guy, and the other I thought was Steven Dodd at first, then I thought it might have been Josh Head... but pretty sure it wasn't him either.
- There was another small aboriginal guy training with the main group. It wasn't any of our regular Brothers... so if anyone can shed any light as to who these 3 "strangers" were, that would be interesting to know.
- Others who have been off to the side, or had off-season surgery were all out there - Sandi, MCarr, Blacky, Thornton
- Hase is looking fitter and leaner than I have ever seen him. Dead set, he looks to have dropped a few kilos, got some definition, and seems to have gained a yard of pace also. :thumbsu:
- Doesn't matter which way you cut it, slice it, dice it, present it... Kepler is a doofus. Well, he looks like a doofus the way he runs and moves, but at least he was actually catching the ball most times yesterday.
- No Palmer, Mayne, Hinckley, Pratt, Connelly
- Ibbotson has added kgs - hopefully he can step up this year and add some height, class and pace to the midfield.
- Mourish has some talent, he is so smooth when he gets the ball and then hits a moving target on the chest by foot. He's looking fitter also, in that he was certainly keeping up and they were all working hard.
- I know someone will ask after Crowley, and I must say i didn't notice him, but there was almost everyone out there (judging by a quick head count), so he might have been in a group over the other side.
- Also at one stage they were doing a kick, mark, back it up, handball to someone running past backing up; and the coaches weren't happy with it, so Germo made them stop, he gave them a bit of a bollocking and made them do it again properly. He and Chris Scott seem to be the most vocal of the asst coaches.

Also Woey was there before I got there and still there when I left, sitting on his car outside the fence talking to a few people and watching training.

I also heard someone ask Bondy how it's all going. It was obvioulsy someone he knew and he replied, "Mate it's fantastic, really going great."

"Mourish has some talent, he is so smooth when he gets the ball and then hits a moving target on the chest by foot. He's looking fitter also, in that he was certainly keeping up and they were all working hard".

Sounds like sweet music! Thanks for the update.

There was another small aboriginal guy training with the main group. It wasn't any of our regular Brothers... so if anyone can shed any light as to who these 3 "strangers" were, that would be interesting to know.
You mentioned woey being down there... Could the "strangers" possibly be from East Fremantle? I dont know just a theory...

This has probably been asked before but I couldnt find it on the boards or the club site. What days and times do the boys train during the summer? I have a bit of spare time and was thinking about heading down and checking it out. Thanks.

About 9:30 till 11am Monday Wednesday and Friday

You mentioned woey being down there... Could the "strangers" possibly be from East Fremantle? I dont know just a theory...

The two Aboriginal boys were there again today - but Woewodin wasn't there. They are both small forward looking types - one training with the main group, the other away on the side with the recovering players. The AFL has fairly strict rules with who can train and who can't - so I'm not sure what the story is.

The third "stranger" was none other than Brock.... with a #3 haircut. :eek: I sincerely apologise for insulting Brock by not recognising him... but we mere mortals are used to seeing him with his shock of wild hair, so I got confused. Will never happen again... I promise. :o

Full training report will follow soon. :)

The two Aboriginal boys were there again today - but Woewodin wasn't there. They are both small forward looking types - one training with the main group, the other away on the side with the recovering players. The AFL has fairly strict rules with who can train and who can't - so I'm not sure what the story is.

The AIS boys are training with AFL clubs atm. There were a few aboriginals that were selected in the AIS this year.

The ones from WA from memory were Clinton Garlett, Michael Walters and Anthony Morabito. Garlett and Walters are very small (around 175cm IIRC). Whereas Morabito is considerably taller - pushing 190cm from memory, not 100% sure if he's aboriginal tho.

edit - btw the reason Mayne, Hinkley, Palmer, etc weren't there is because of this

The AIS boys are training with AFL clubs atm. There were a few aboriginals that were selected in the AIS this year.

The ones from WA from memory were Clinton Garlett, Michael Walters and Anthony Morabito. Garlett and Walters are very small (around 175cm IIRC). Whereas Morabito is considerably taller - pushing 190cm from memory, not 100% sure if he's aboriginal tho.

edit - btw the reason Mayne, Hinkley, Palmer, etc weren't there is because of this

Excellent - thanks for that macca. :thumbsu:

Definitely must be Garlett and Walters - these guys are little guys. Mystery solved... :)

fwiw

Walters won the medal for the best player in Division 1 in the u/16 carnival. Gartlett missed the carnival due to injury, but was rated the best WA prospect prior to the carnival, so he can obviously play a bit too.

btw Walters is certainly more than a small forward, racked up plenty of the ball at the carnival. Haven't seen Gartlett, but I imagine he'd be more than a small forward too. Can't remember what his injury was though unfortunatly.

Both eligible for the draft next year as bottom-age players and despite their lack of size could be pretty early selections depending on how they both go this year.