Training report - 4/2/09

betterthanu

Hopefully someone else from here went today because I think this report will lack a lot of detail. Anyway I wandered down to training at about 10 30. I would have got there at 10 but this being the 1st training ive been to it took me a long time to find a place to park. Eventually I gave up trying to find the way into the oval and just parked on a side street 300 meters away and walked in. When I got there, the main group seemed to be doing a tackling drill while Burton, Hentschel and Douggie ran laps.

They then moved into full field drill where the players running through midfield would draw a player then handball over the top to a player who would deliver the ball to the forwards with players crumbing off them. The forward matchups down my end were Davis and Mckernan as one pair and Lee and Young as the other 2 (if my memory serves correct). They were both pretty even contests with the players switching from defender to forward. Otten really stood out in this drill for mine. He looks like a big key position player running down the field but then he will easily side step a small midfielder and accelerate away to deliver the pass.

After a running drill, half the players put on orange tops and the 1st of two scratch matches was played. I could only really tell what was going on at my end so I don’t have a heap to say here. These are my disjointed memories from the two games. The blue team was going to my end in the 1st match and they dominated. At one stage Walker tried to shrug off multiple players and managed to kick the ball to his teammate in Tippett while being tackled. Tippett snapped the goal. A few minute later Tippett got out on the lead to mark and goal. He was all by himself on the lead later but spilt the mark that time. Another thing that stood out is how hard Dangerfield goes at the ball. He just throws himself onto the ball with no regard to his safety. One occasion where he did this was met with praise by many. Seeing Henderson train, you wouldn’t know how little footy he’s played although a few times when he had marked the ball he wasn’t sure what to do with and took a long time to dispose of it. Better than just blazing away though. I think he will go well at SANFL level this year. McKernan took a few good grabs through the CHF position. Cant really remember much else that stood out from the matches.

Porplyzia spend pretty much the whole training having shots on goal. Douglas kept up with Burton during their runs while Hentschel lagged behind by about 10 meters.

Sorry about the disjointedness of the report and if I think of anything else note worthy then ill post it.

Didn't expect a training report for some reason, love the surprise report ;)

Thanks betterthanu, good to hear about Walker, Tip and Danger. And Dougie keeping up with the bird mang.

How'd Davis look? First full on training for him wasn't it?

Davis looked good. The blokes got a awesome leg on him and he didnt seem to shy away from the physical contest. He dosent seem to have a nick name yet. Everyone just calls out 'Phil'. Also Moss would have to have one of the best kicks ive ever seen. Not only does he not miss targets he dosent let the player break stride. I cracked a boner over one of his passes to McKernan.

P-Diddy then? haha, glad he's happy with the physical being back from a shoulder injury.

Good to hear about Mossy as he'll need his skills to be sharp to make up for his body size.

You got up in time betterthanu! Well done mate. :p

Well it said training would start at about 9:30 but that was a little off. I rocked up at 9:50 and the players still hadn’t come out. They finally came out at 10:10 and it was a pretty competitive session highlighted by a scratch match which was set up as orange v blue.

I was wondering where Petrenko was because he normally stands out immediately and then I realised that none of the Indigenous lads were out there. Petrenko, Jacky, Griffin, McLeod and Johncock were all absent, as was Armstrong but I assume he was missing due to injury? Hentschel, Burton and Douglas were running laps for a significant period of time and Burton looks in terrific shape and was really quick across the ground. Hentschel was falling off the pace towards the end. Douglas meanwhile has definitely bulked up and coming into his 4th year he finally looks like he could physically match it with the big boys.

In the game there were a few interesting match-ups. Sellar was up against Rutten and McKernan v Bock. I have to say that Sellar was comprehensively beaten, not just in the contests but Rutten found it pretty easy to run off him. McKernan was more impressive and he tested Bock and very nearly completed an impressive mark in the square. Rookie Brodie Martin was on the wing and seemed to be by himself the entire time, probably by design because whenever his team had possession he would take off to the wing and get possession.

It was hard to see down the other end of the ground but Tippett has a very impressive pick up off the deck and dish to a teammate which highlighted his athleticism. He had an identical play down the other end when the pack went up for the mark, the ball spilt loose and Tippett was first to recover, broke the tackle and handballed off to a teammate who goaled. Tippett also provided one of the highlights of the session. He took a mark out on the lead in front of Donnelly who stood the mark. Tippett was unimpressed with Donnelly creeping over the mark though and proceeded to have a go at him, dropped the f bomb in the process and told him to stop creeping over. He’s a bit sensitive about the mark and doesn’t like losing any ground. ;)

In a session there are normally one or two standouts in the session and today I thought Myke Cook was the most impressive. :thumbsu: As I keep noting, he’s bulked up significantly from last season and he is just looks sharp out there. He’s extremely quick and has great acceleration, has a terrific vertical leap and he’s one of these guys that just covers a lot of ground and moves so smoothly. After seeing the footage of him last year I doubted his skills, especially by foot but they appear to be fine. I expect big things from Cook in the future and I think he’ll have a very successful season in the SANFL with South Adelaide. Given the improvement he has shown during the pre-season I wouldn’t rule him out making his AFL debut this year. I honestly think we’ve got a gem on our hands.

On the other side of the coin there’s normally one who stands out for all the wrong reasons and today it was Sellar. There’s no shortage of effort from Sellar who is always doing his best to impress and again he was the last to leave the track. He worked 1-on-1 with Gallman under the guidance of an assistance coach and then he stayed on to have a few shots for goal. So while he’s doing everything he can to improve and impress, I just don’t see an AFL footballer in James. He was easily beaten by Rutten which was to be expected but in the second half of the game he was up against Phil Davis who at least matched him. He dropped a simple mark, his kicking over short distances was poor and I don’t think he’s instinctive enough to be a key forward. I’m real worried, so worried that I’m not even sure he’ll be a league footballer again this season. :o Physically he looks good, he’s strong and certainly quick for his size but to me he seriously lacks football nous.

I’m not sure where the reports came from that Dangerfield’s body language looked poor because he was in terrific spirits today. I didn’t notice him much during the game drill and he was talking to Peter Jonas for a little while but at the end of the session he was taking shots on goal with Shaun McKernan for a good 10-15 minutes. The two seemed to get on really well and both kicked the ball pretty well. Dangerfield in particular barely missed a shot on goal and certainly from a set shot he looks fine. He was even kicking a bit on his left and didn’t seem to have any troubles on his non preferred. McKernan’s kicking was a bit of a mixed bag, some beauties and some not so much. He certainly got angry with himself whenever one went astray and Danger was making special comments all the way through.

Will Young injured himself and lasted only 15 or so minutes. From his brief time I noticed that he’s extremely raw; his kicking is ordinary at best and I think he’s going to take a long, long time to develop. He’s a huge lad and can take a mark and plays with aggression but I don’t see him playing much league footy this year. I think I’m going to have to head down early and catch him in the reserves.

I thought Chris Schmidt was really good and he played in defence and did well. He took a nice overhead mark in which he intercepted a pass. I think we’ve got a real good rookie prospect here and I would like to think he’s a chance of being upgraded at some stage throughout the year.

Donnelly was played as a defender and was matched up against Gill in the game and generally struggled keeping up with Gill. Donnelly was actually somewhat impressive though, I don’t think he touched the ball which was maybe why he looked reasonable. Gilly took some terrific marks and there wasn’t a lot he could have done. He has good speed and did his best to stay tight on him. Tommy Lee was against Moran I think, could be wrong though. Like Donnelly, he struggled to keep his man quiet. Schmidt was the best defender of the young lads.

A few other random notes:

Mackay was again impressive, superb skills on display. He was mainly floating across the backlines for the first half of the scratch match before eventually moving up the ground. He was amongst the last few guys to leave the track as he stayed back with Phil Davis to have a few shots on goal. Taylor Walker had a kick and a catch away from the main group with an assistant coach for a good 10 minutes. Greg Gallman doesn’t excite me at all, just nothing about him or his game that’s really noticeable. Sloan had a real nice play through the middle getting the loose ball and breaking through the middle handballing off to Shirley. Kite’s a blond again and he was really impressive. James Moss is hard to pick up at times, as is Otten for that matter, but I really like the look of Mossy. Get ready for some Mossy Magic in 09; he's my man! :thumbsu: The guys seem to like Ricky Henderson as they were often quite vocal when he was in the area.

Training 4.02.09

Edit: Sorry didn't see the other thread!

Everyone was out on the track a little later than usual this morning at around quarter past ten. There was a quick warm up, including kick to kick and man on man work, before the group got stuck into some serious training.

The only players completing lighter work were Hentschel, Burton, Douglas, Davis and Porplyzia. The first three spent most of the session doing various running tasks, while the other two did some light competitive work. At one point the running trio came under fire from van Berlo who decided to kick a footy towards their heads. Luckily though he missed, much to Douglas' delight.

Early on though, Walker, now sporting more of an authentic Broken Hill lad look, was kind of sprinting down the wing of Max Basheer Reserve. He was only doing it during one drill and looked fine for the rest of training.

In the first main drill, which just involved positioned set groups moving the ball around three quarters of the ground, Craig was stern in his praise for a piece of play from Donnelly. While it wasn't flashy he kept his cool as he ran through a group with the ball, handballed off, before continuing to run to give support.

The first quarter of a game was played next:

----

Blue fielded a stronger team, boasting more experience all over the ground. Patrolling the backlines was Rutten, Gallman and Bock and the goal kickers were Tippett, Gill, Stevens and Walker.

The slightly unexperienced orange had Donnelly, Young, Lee and Kite defending with Sellar, McKernan and Henderson up forward.

Some highlights include:

- Tippett (B), recovering well after missing the contested mark, only to collect the spilt ball off the deck and pass it on.

- Walker (B) crumbed the ball after it spilt from a pack and sharply short kicked to Tippett (B) who turned around and snapped a goal.

- Mackay (B) lining up for a shot on goal from far out on an angle, but just clipping the post.

- McKernan (O) taking a strong mark with his opponent breathing down his neck. The mark was Porplyzia-esque as he stuck his hands out to grab it before he got to him.

- Edwards (B) kicked a goal from in front.

- Schmidt (O) lays a strong tackle on Thompson (B), holding him up and taking him to the ground.

- Tippett (B) scoring a goal from 50 or so metres out.

- Maric (B) dominating the ruck against Moran (O).

- Cook (O) finishing with a similar effort to Donnelly earlier on, except he was able to regain the ball the second time and disposed of it correctly again.

Blue 3.3 21
Orange 0.0 0

----

For the second half there was a change in ruck with Tippett moving in to replace Moran, who was moved up forward.

In the middle of the ground, Dangerfield (O) and Cook (B) were up against each other.

Highlights were:

- Martin (B) sneaking into the pocket to snare a goal.

- Moran (B) taking an easy mark infront of Schmidt (O) and scoring a goal.

- McKernan (B) took another great mark, this time ahead of Donnelly (O) but just missed a goal as the ball faded left.

- Sellar (O) grabbed an easy mark as he found himself out of space with his opponent, Gallman (B) caught out of position. Sellar was uncomfortable with having a shot so tried to give off to Wallker (O). The ball fell to his feet, but he collected it and managed to return it to Sellar who had snuck into the pocket. He missed the shot on goal due to the tighter angle.

- When Blue were kicking out they used the huddle in the centre of the 50 to find a break.

- Gill (O) leaped high for a mark infront of Rutten (B).

- In a one on one tussle for the ball with Donnelly (O), McKernan (B) managed to get in front and take another great mark. He finished with a goal.

Blue 3.2 20
Orange 1.0 6

----

Following the mini game, most of the group, if not all of it, participated in a jogging type of drill. Two lines of players would lie face down and have to get up and jog to the other side of the cones, before walking back around the end where they started and lying down and doing it all over again. A time limit applied for them to return to the cones, so most looked pretty spent by the end of it!

Douglas wasn't lying on the ground, so perhaps the issue he has had has been shoulder related.

Afterwards, there was a quick kick to kick across the ground, then another mini game:

----

Whilst there were still two different teams, the coaching staff tinkered with the game by switching over possession, bringing the ball into play through different ways and by paying little attention to the score.

Nonetheless there were some things which stood out:

- Moran (O) had a go up against Tippett (B) in the ruck.

- Schmidt (O) intercepted a kick intended for Reilly (B) and took a courageous mark. Even though he never really looked like bumping into Reilly, he cut across his path to cut him off.

- Tippett (B) scored a goal from a tricky angle. (B) Stevens also scored one from a snap.

- Gill (B) and Sellar (B) were both up forward for Blue and were leant some support from Maric (B) who ran down to put his hand up for the ball.

----

Finally, training was coming to a close as a bunch of players finished with some goal kicking.

Mackay was kicking to Gallman and Sellar, with Sellar receiving some advice from Hart regarding his positioning.

Moran and Maric were doing some ruck work and Moss and Davis were kicking to one another.

I'll have some pictures up later and also some final notes on what I thought overall :thumbsu:

Edit: Sorry didn't see the other thread!

I dont know how you guys remember so much. I think i saw a few video cameras in the hands of crows officials. Dont know if thats gonna make it onto the website or if its for their own use.

I also thought Cook was really impressive.

Smaller than I could've posted them but don't want to make them too bad and BF resizes them anyway.

crowstraining001iq3.jpg

crowstraining004pv5.jpg

crowstraining010fc1.jpg

crowstraining017qh9.jpg

crowstraining019ah0.jpg

crowstraining021om2.jpg

crowstraining023ff2.jpg

Cheers for the effort Drumm.

A few quick questions for ya :

1) Given the Gold Coast concessions, a few teams may look to upgrade rookies this year instead of relying on late draft picks. How do you currently rate the chances of Schmidt, Martin and Moss getting upgraded (and possibly Henderson) ? (Understand its only early, but certainly presents an interesting dilemma come end of year).

2) I was keen for Gallman to be chopped ahead of Massie last year, but, perhaps because of our desire for youth, it was Massie that went instead. How do you rate that move now ?

Nice work Drummond - better pics than mine haha.

CrowHop, I really like Moss, he has the best chance of being upgraded IMO.

1) Given the Gold Coast concessions, a few teams may look to upgrade rookies this year instead of relying on late draft picks. How do you currently rate the chances of Schmidt, Martin and Moss getting upgraded (and possibly Henderson) ? (Understand its only early, but certainly presents an interesting dilemma come end of year).

2) I was keen for Gallman to be chopped ahead of Massie last year, but, perhaps because of our desire for youth, it was Massie that went instead. How do you rate that move now ?
1. I always rated Schmidt and on draft day I wanted the Crows to take him and despite the fact he’s already been discarded by one club I haven’t lost faith in his ability. I’m pretty confident that he’ll have a big season and get upgraded at some stage, whether that’s during the year or at the seasons end. Given that he’s back in his home state and will be playing on a weekly basis with West Adelaide I think he’s set for a big season. To me he’s looked better with every session and he’s growing in confidence. I think he could be a good half back flanker similar to Doughty.

As for Moss, I’m a huge fan. Great height, superb disposal, outstanding mark and he’s really bulked up. I know fitness was a concern so hopefully he’s been trying to improve that over the pre-season. I think his goal would be to cement a spot in Centrals league side which is a good effort in itself for a youngster. He’s another I’m confident about. :thumbsu:

Other than Donnelly who is obviously a long way off, Martin is the least impressive of the rookies. He’s small and light and although he has some impressive traits such as his speed and ball winning ability, I’m not sure he’s an AFL footballer. Things could change but I’m not holding my breath. Henderson has really impressed me. He’s another tremendous athlete with good height and his foot skills are fine. They were really encouraging him to run hard today and to keep on working. However given that he was drafted by Central he's going to have play extremely well just to get into their league side and for that reason I can't see him being upgraded this season.

Whether any of them are upgraded depends on injuries I guess. Burton looks to be recovering very well and ahead of schedule so I’m not sure if he goes on the LTI list. Schmidt would be the closest rookie to elevation and if he performs in the SANFL and there’s a vacancy on the list then he should get elevated

2. Massie was pretty unlucky because he didn’t do a lot wrong. He was still performing well and is certainly a much better footballer than Gallman. I guess Massie was seen as expendable especially with the youngsters coming through. Kite, Gallman, Moran, Moss, Schmidt and maybe a few others could all possibly be looking to take his spot so the club must have felt it was time to move on and get some fresh blood in instead. I'm far from sold on Gallman's ability to step up to the highest level though.

They're great pics Drum :thumbsu:

I thought Davis sat out the first two mini games, at least... He was over on the other side of the ground with Porplyzia and Stephen Schwerdt. Unless betterthanu saw him in one of the drills?

Myke Cook was also my standout today. For once Tippett stood out to me as well, I guess when you throw him up forward in a game things start to come together.

McKernan also impressed me today, he looked the best I've ever seen him. He's got a lot of potential. Marks the ball like Porplyzia and kicks like Walker. Up forward, Gill was good as well. Oh and agree with Drum, Schmidt has looks good, will be exciting to watch him in the SANFL this year.

I reckon Burton has bulked up a bit too. He's looks broader across his chest and his arms definitely look a touch bigger. I've heard from him that he's spent some more time in the weights room than previous summers.

Davis looked good. The blokes got a awesome leg on him and he didnt seem to shy away from the physical contest. He dosent seem to have a nick name yet. Everyone just calls out 'Phil'. Also Moss would have to have one of the best kicks ive ever seen. Not only does he not miss targets he dosent let the player break stride. I cracked a boner over one of his passes to McKernan.
About to ask about him.
He wont play on the match on Saturday?

Thanks for the report :thumbsu:

They're great pics Drum :thumbsu:

I thought Davis sat out the first two mini games, at least... He was over on the other side of the ground with Porplyzia and Stephen Schwerdt. Unless betterthanu saw him in one of the drills?

I didnt see him in the games, i was referring to the drill where he was stationed as a forward/defender against McKernan. Was a pretty physical contest between the 2 though so i don't know how him playing in the game would have been any different.

Myke Cook was also my standout today.
McKernan also impressed me today, he looked the best I've ever seen him. He's got a lot of potential. Marks the ball like Porplyzia and kicks like Walker.
:thumbsu:
Best news I have heard this week.

Thanks for the reports guys.

CG you said the ruck contests were Maric vs Moran with Maric taking the honours, then it was Tippett vs Maric and then Tippett vs Moran.

How did the different contests/combinations go in ruck?

How would you rank them in ruck according to todays training?

Or if Drummond or betterthanu have any thoughts...

I wasnt really paying much attention to the ruck contests but at one point i saw Moran smash Tippett out of the way to win the tap. Was good to see such intensity from Moran.