Training Report: Neagle Gets Head Ripped Off.

Shane Hird

10k Posts A Star Wars Fan The Cult of Robbo Essendon Player Sponsor 2016
May 8, 2006
NYJ
Wednesday,11th of April....

I'm over here in Vic on holidays for a couple of weeks and made my way down to Windy Hill today with my young bloke to watch the boys in action at training. Its the first time I've ever been to an EFC training session and geez did we enjoy the experience:D

We got autographs galore including our main target..Lloydy:thumbsu:

The boys ran out and got started with some kick to kick warm ups and then moved over to the far side of the ground to do little sprints in between those flexy poles. Hird still moves quick for an old coot;)

Welsh,Nash,McKinnon and NLM went over to the side and handpassed to Welshy who sat on one of those big ball things untill one of the coaching staff came over and told Welsh "You're supposed to be walking laps for half an hour"....so off he went.

Lots of different drills followed (I'd be hopeless trying to explain them in detail) but I hardly saw a mark dropped or a kick go wayward. The group sounded very vocal and in good spirits,lots of loud voices and encouragement from the older players and Sheedy in the middle of it all directing the troops.

When the boys first ran out,Sheeds followed out behind them and stoppped at the gate and spent 10 minutes signing autographs and cracking jokes. He then said "Well,I betta get out there and do some coaching I suppose" and off he went...he's a classic.

Halfway through the end to end drills, Jetta and Lovett broke off together from the main group and did end to end running,hving a rest for 5 minutes in the members end goal square before doing it again...they must have been givin an easy night for some reason.

It was fantastic to finally see some of the young blokes in action up close.
Jay Neagle impressed me with his size,height and marking skills. At one stage,him and McVeigh had a one on one marking contest with McV wacking Jay around the head with a smack that could be heard for miles around:p
(it was a hard hit)..but he held the mark strongly and impressed mw with his attack at the ball:thumbsu:

JJ seemed to move alright and looks pretty right to me..wonder weather he will return this week??

Good to see Rama running strong all through the session. Danny Chartres' body looks like a million dollars compared to what he looked like last year at Peel...good skills Danny.

They call Mal "Big Dog" as well as Mal....funny stuff hearing that nick name.

Towards the end, Hirdy went to the grandsatnd pocket by himself with an old guy trainer and practiced snap shots from 25-30 out. To stand there and watch the great man from 10 mtrs away and watch him slot about 20 from 25 kicks through the big sticks is a moment I will remember for ever. Such skill from the champ and my young son was pretty happy about it too.:)

I reckon there was about 200 fans watching and when Hird came in towards the end to go in before the group,he was swamped by dozens of kids...my son missed out on a Hird autograph because he couldn't make it through the rush,but he was pretty happy to get lloydy at the end when the players went along the fence and signed everything in sight.

Can't believe how different WindyHill looks now compared to the old days,but it still feels like home looking up at the Alan Hird stand and RS Reynolds stand.
The Hall of Fame is sensational and to stand there and look at all those cups stacked up....makes you even prouder to be an Essendon supporter.

One highlight....a bunch of kids throwing tennis balls up against Peter Jackson's office window and seeing his bald head look down with a slightly annoyed look on his face...:D

You bet your doodle dandy I'm freaking going.....:D First thing I did when we were booking the flights was check the fixture.

Missed the Freo game but. Got in on Sat night and had to do the family thing on Sunday,but had the radio on listening to Rex ...love how he kept calling Jetta "Stiff Chedda"....can't wait to give my Docket friends heaps when we get back to WA.:thumbsu:

Is it wise to prebook for saturdays game or will it be safe to rock up on the day...what sort of crowd numbers does everyone think it will be?

it won't be a sell out . i would think that there would be a crowd around 65000-70000

good to hear you had a good time and thanks for the report

i wouldn't think that they would rush jj in, but who knows

Nothing better than playing Carlton....and hopefully most of them will not show up because of their pounding on the weekend.

Should be packed with Bombers all lined up to see the jetta and davey show:thumbsu:

Great OP Nobby, i think we take it for granted sometimes how easy it actually is for some of us to walk down the street or jump in the car for 10 minutes to watch the boys train.

It must be bloody tough being so passionate and living on the other side of the country.

Enjoy the rest of your trip and hope the Bombers get over the line for you on Sunday:thumbsu:

Great OP Nobby, i think we take it for granted sometimes how easy it actually is for some of us to walk down the street or jump in the car for 10 minutes to watch the boys train.

It must be bloody tough being so passionate and living on the other side of the country.

Enjoy the rest of your trip and hope the Bombers get over the line for you on Sunday:thumbsu:

Its hell,in the footy sense,I can tell you mate.

And yer,if any of you guys can get the chance to go over to WH and watch them train......treasure it.

After going to my first WH match in about 1978,it warms the cockles of my heart to just walk in there today..and now with my boy.

Last time I took him to WH was about 5 years ago and he was just a toddler.
To see his face today watching all those players (just about player was out there) and to hear their voices was sensational.

I know how you feel Nob, I'm stuck in Canberra, not as far away I know but I rarely get to many games due to uni, travelling, money etc.

But I'll be there this weekend, making the trip up to hopefully see Carlton get there's handed to them. So at least we got to one ay?

Go Bombers

NLM walked laps most of the session yesterday after a bit of a run...no chance of him getting in imo.....

JJ said on Sunday that he would play for Bendigo this week... Probably good after his form last year when he came straight into the seniors...

JJ looked great yesterday. Moved well,ran flat out etc...

I want him back in as soon as possible.

after he had a great pre-season he may only need one praccy game to get the cobwebs out. he would be very fit at the moment so i would say he will be back by anzac day at the latest

We headed down to the far side of the ground yesterday and watched them practice taking it from the back pocket and through the middle down to the other end with handpasses and short kicks.

Gary Ayres was in charge down our end and I was impressed with his yelling at blokes with lines like "On your bike,on your bike..go,go,go!!".:D

Intense pressure from Gazza...good stuff.

Have to watch how Hislop comes up at training tommorrow. He went down at one stage during the match sim drill. Later on he went of and spoke to Sheeds before heading off with the physio. Left training later on with a bandaged leg and a limp :thumbsdown:

i reckon tommy will be the type of player who is always in the trainer's hands. he is comitted to getting the ball or the player with it. unfortunately his body will be put in some dangerous situations in the years to come.

but i guess that's what makes him such an exciting prospect

Training Report: Neagle Gets Head Ripped Off.