Mega Thread TRAINING REPORTS

It's Ross Lyon.

Apparently he was described at training as being more relaxed than a string bag and it has stuck.

Clever I thought.
Its the nick name Bluey has created for RBT as its the way RTB conducts himself at training .

He walks around with whistle in his mouth watching like a hawk pointing to players as they train .
When he wants to say something he blows the whistle and calls the players in and tells them what's on his mind and sends them back to the training drill.

Then his body goes slack and his arms drop like there's not enough energy left to keep them up or as some would say "dropped like a sack of potatoes"hence string bag with a broken handles .

Its the nick name Bluey has created for RBT as its the way RTB conducts himself at training .

He walks around with whistle in his mouth watching like a hawk pointing to players as they train .
When he wants to say something he blows the whistle and calls the players in and tells them what's on his mind and sends them back to the training drill.

Then his body goes slack and his arms drop like there's not enough energy left to keep them up or as some would say "dropped like a sack of potatoes"hence string bag with a broken handles .

I seem to remember Ross being like that when he played at Fitzroy.
It was a long time ago & I have destroyed way too many brain cells, but he was like a Steve Johnson type, who could look laconic on the field, only to bob up with something freakish, with an underlying hardness.
I remember one game against west coast, he soccered an amazing goal from near the half forward boundary. I only remember it as I was watching my mate who was opposed to him (John Worsfold btw)
My memory could be very wrong, but I reckon it happened.

Perfectly explained Couldhavebeen. In fact I think you were standing there with us when Bluey first used that adjective to describe Ross's stance and demeanour on the ground that day.

Those who stand near Bluey at training will always hear him refer to Ross as "The String Bag" for the reasons mentioned above. It's a bit of an inside joke that's all, but I wanted to share it with others on Big Footy whom have never had the privilege to watch a training session with Bluey by their side.

Lachie didnt front up for Swans yesterday but had a full session on Fri incl working with the mid group
He didnt appear to cop an injury . Maybe a smoky if the bad weather sets in?

Absolutely we are.

But that doesn't translate into rushing players, (regardless of who they are), back before they are ready, and in highly unfavourable circumstances.I.E: extra travel, and generally inclement weather.

We aren't going to win every home and away game, that's just normal. But pushing recovering players too hard, simply because it is Geelong AT Geelong lacks common sense imo.

And I very much doubt that Ross would even consider it.

Remember that Pav and Sandi have only rejoined full training for a week. That's a very, very skinny time frame for two senior players coming back from surgery.

On top of that, Pav has had basically no pre-season to talk of. At least Sandi had a fairly solid off-season build up. Pav is coming from a long way back. Of course, at his age, there's a lot of pre-seasons built into him so a bit of action on the training track and he'll get up to speed quickly. But still, he's going to need a bit of run before he's really going to be in top nick.

Sandi on 6PR today said that he has had a very solid 5 weeks of running and wrestling etc. I think they would be getting a lot of fitness in rehab. In fact I have heard players from not just our club say that they can push themselves a lot harder while rehabbing because they don't have to worry about spoiling themselves for the game on the weekend.

Sure. I'm specifically referring to Pav (Sandi basically had a proper pre-season build-up) and that's what I meant by saying that "at his age ...". Unlike a player with 3 or 4 seasons in him or less, they are able to build up to match conditioning much quicker and without having to play too many games. But even for them, a pre-season >>> no pre-season.

Well I wandered the required 30kms down to training today. At first I thought, what a waste of my stinking time, but then I found myself swanning through the doors of Culley's Tea Rooms like I owned the joint. Half a sausage roll later I knew I hadn't wasted my time at all.

When I arrived at the ground at 9.30am I noticed that Bluey wasn't leaning on the fence like he usually is on training days. Quickly I surveyed the Salim Malik stand and the terraces only to find tumble weeds blowing freely. Panicking, I looked at the ground and saw only the WAFL boys and rehab group having a light session on the track.

Cold and alone, I made my way to the club rooms where I found Salim Malik watching training from a bench seat near the change rooms, right behind the player's drinks tent.

Together we watched the WAFL and rehab guys train. The WAFL group included Cam Sutcliffe, Lachie Neale, Viv Michie, Tommy Sheridan, Craig Moller and Alex Silvagni.

The rehab group consisted of Stephen Hill, David Mundy, Matthew Pavlich, Anthony Morabito and Aaron Sandilands, whom were all moving very well. Especially Mora, Sandi and Pav.

Dave Mundy had a bandaged calf, but otherwise looked okay.

About 20 minutes later Hayden Crozier and Tendai Mzungu came on for a light run and a bit of a kick with the ball.

Spotted in the gym was Sonny Walters, Luke McPharlin, Kepler Bradley, Zac Dawson, Zac Clarke, Jacky Hannath, Ballas and Tabbs.

Micky Barlow was spotted at the club earlier with a swollen face and told one training observer, "I should be right to go by game day."

No sign of the "String Bag" or "Fairy Bread Eater" today folks.