Training Training Thread 2023

Since Sonja took over it has been far harder for me to get any inside info as to how players are tracking (which is a really good thing, because in the past we leaked like a sieve)

Nonetheless I got a few little tidbits from my source recently.

The two players who have impressed the most have been Comben and Goater. Probably no surprised to track watchers. Goater ticking all the boxes and really knuckling down to understand the deficiencies in his game. Comben added weight but hasn’t lost any of his athleticism, first time he had been able to train pain free since he was 15 years old. Club is so excited by the both of them and they haven’t even scratched the surface of their talent.

Powell and Phillips pushing one another to the limit. Both significantly stronger and running better than this time last year. Focus for both of them is improving their outside game and defensive transition. Shiels spending a significant amount of time with them teaching them all about positioning and team defence around stoppages. Speaking of Shiels, the players love him, such a natural student of the game and very smart. Will have a big impact on the development of our younger kids, particularly with accountability.

Both Stevo and TT have been ticking a lot of boxes. Both have been told they need to increase their strength if they want to play a significant role in AC’s team in the future.

Expect Paul Curtis to take his game to another level. Hasn’t missed a session, added 3kg and has improved every part of his running. Is one of AC’s early favourites and he can see a Luke Bruest type player in him.

Edwards has added 4kg to his frame, spending stacks of time in the gym. With Free on the list expect him to spend a lot more time forward in the VFL.

CCJ got a bit of a rocket in the first few weeks of pre-season and has responded. Expect him to be in front of Xerri for the 2nd ruck spot come the start of the year.

Wouldn’t expect Greenwood to play much of a role. With Cunners coming back and also Howe/Shiels running through the midfield he’ll probably end up depth only.

Arch ticking every single box that has been asked of him. AC loves the way he goes about his training and learning. Some of the clubs development staff can’t believe how much he has progressed in the last 4 months. Kid is a sponge when it comes to wanting to learn.

Like Arch, Perez is having a ripping pre-season. Another one who is a sponge and desperate to get the best out of himself. He’ll leave no stone unturned.

Scott, Mahony and Lazz all professional as ever. No surprises they are ticking all the boxes.

Hall & Bonar have been told in no uncertain terms to get fitter and stronger. Bonar in particular is starting a long way down the pecking order.

Ford has improved his fitness. Next step in his development is to start showing more ability to find the footy up the ground.

Ziebell won’t be played anywhere near the forward line. AC desperate for more dynamic movement forward of centre.

Tucker, Corr, Taylor, Spicer and Bergman all on modified programs. Nothing serious with any of them though.

On the newbies; Wardlaw on a restricted program. Happy with his progress, but they are slowly easing him into it to make sure it’s not his running gait that has caused him hamstring issues. All about building resilience into his body.

Sheezel has also been on a modified program due to a few niggles. There is no rush with either of them. Focus for Sheez is getting stronger to deal with the mature bodies. Super impressed with his running capacity.

George will start running around March. Everyone reckons he is a real loveable kid, has a bit of swagger about him.

Harvey has a fair way to go with his conditioning, but he has natural strength which has stood out a lot in match sim.

Happy New Year All!
Thank you.

I don't know if it's "natural" strength so much as "lifelong access to boomer's home gym" strength
Often heard that boomer was one of the strongest pound for pound and was never a very good track runner. Cooper seems st have a few traits from his old man but unfortunately none of the explosive speed.

I realise we have 2 months of preseason before we play against opposition, but going by your reports RF08, we should expect to see a few new/fresh faces playing best 22:

B:Corr McKay Archer
HB:McDonald Logue Scott

C:Goater LDU Phillips/Tucker/Howe/Shiels

R:Goldstein Cunnington Simpkin

HF:Sheezel Comben Stephenson
F:Curtis Larkey Zurhaar

I: (NFI) Thomas, Ziebell, Taylor, Powell, Drury, Young, Coleman-Jones

A few points; I’m not sure the current regime see Scott as a half back. Perez and Goater will definitely be in the conversation across half back as well as Tucker, Young & Ziebell too.

Early days but I don’t think Sheez is a sure bet for round 1. They’ll ramp up his loads after Christmas but he might need to add a few kg’s prior to playing with the big boys.

I don't know if it's "natural" strength so much as "lifelong access to boomer's home gym" strength

Not the best description on my behalf. Cooper has an excellent strength base to begin with.

In saying that I dont think the gym plays too much into his strength through his core and hips, even in under 14’s he was strong through that part of his body when compared to the other kids around him. Almost Cunnington like with his base and core strength. A lot of that type of strength is natural/genetic.

A few points; I’m not sure the current regime see Scott as a half back. Perez and Goater will definitely be in the conversation across half back as well as Tucker, Young & Ziebell too.

Early days but I don’t think Sheez is a sure bet for round 1. They’ll ramp up his loads after Christmas but he might need to add a few kg’s prior to playing with the big boys.

Not the best description on my behalf. Cooper has an excellent strength base to begin with.

In saying that I dont think the gym plays too much into his strength through his core and hips, even in under 14’s he was strong through that part of his body when compared to the other kids around him. Almost Cunnington like with his base and core strength. A lot of that type of strength is natural/genetic.
I agree re- Sheez. From what I saw of him I would be very worried about him against seasoned afl bodies, maybe a chance for a gig later in the year but I hope I am wrong and he can play some early games.

He will play early if fit. His biggest strength is getting in the right position to win the ball and kick goals. He doesn’t need to be as physically strong as the opposition to have an impact. I would be surprised if he doesn’t play round 1.

Since Sonja took over it has been far harder for me to get any inside info as to how players are tracking (which is a really good thing, because in the past we leaked like a sieve)

Nonetheless I got a few little tidbits from my source recently.

The two players who have impressed the most have been Comben and Goater. Probably no surprised to track watchers. Goater ticking all the boxes and really knuckling down to understand the deficiencies in his game. Comben added weight but hasn’t lost any of his athleticism, first time he had been able to train pain free since he was 15 years old. Club is so excited by the both of them and they haven’t even scratched the surface of their talent.

Powell and Phillips pushing one another to the limit. Both significantly stronger and running better than this time last year. Focus for both of them is improving their outside game and defensive transition. Shiels spending a significant amount of time with them teaching them all about positioning and team defence around stoppages. Speaking of Shiels, the players love him, such a natural student of the game and very smart. Will have a big impact on the development of our younger kids, particularly with accountability.

Both Stevo and TT have been ticking a lot of boxes. Both have been told they need to increase their strength if they want to play a significant role in AC’s team in the future.

Expect Paul Curtis to take his game to another level. Hasn’t missed a session, added 3kg and has improved every part of his running. Is one of AC’s early favourites and he can see a Luke Bruest type player in him.

Edwards has added 4kg to his frame, spending stacks of time in the gym. With Free on the list expect him to spend a lot more time forward in the VFL.

CCJ got a bit of a rocket in the first few weeks of pre-season and has responded. Expect him to be in front of Xerri for the 2nd ruck spot come the start of the year.

Wouldn’t expect Greenwood to play much of a role. With Cunners coming back and also Howe/Shiels running through the midfield he’ll probably end up depth only.

Arch ticking every single box that has been asked of him. AC loves the way he goes about his training and learning. Some of the clubs development staff can’t believe how much he has progressed in the last 4 months. Kid is a sponge when it comes to wanting to learn.

Like Arch, Perez is having a ripping pre-season. Another one who is a sponge and desperate to get the best out of himself. He’ll leave no stone unturned.

Scott, Mahony and Lazz all professional as ever. No surprises they are ticking all the boxes.

Hall & Bonar have been told in no uncertain terms to get fitter and stronger. Bonar in particular is starting a long way down the pecking order.

Ford has improved his fitness. Next step in his development is to start showing more ability to find the footy up the ground.

Ziebell won’t be played anywhere near the forward line. AC desperate for more dynamic movement forward of centre.

Tucker, Corr, Taylor, Spicer and Bergman all on modified programs. Nothing serious with any of them though.

On the newbies; Wardlaw on a restricted program. Happy with his progress, but they are slowly easing him into it to make sure it’s not his running gait that has caused him hamstring issues. All about building resilience into his body.

Sheezel has also been on a modified program due to a few niggles. There is no rush with either of them. Focus for Sheez is getting stronger to deal with the mature bodies. Super impressed with his running capacity.

George will start running around March. Everyone reckons he is a real loveable kid, has a bit of swagger about him.

Harvey has a fair way to go with his conditioning, but he has natural strength which has stood out a lot in match sim.

Happy New Year All!
Thank you RF08. Brilliant report. This is the kind of content and intel all us BF nuffies live for. Don't be shy and keep it coming!!!

rozee, butters and bergman did ok in their first year despite being smaller.
If he's good enough surely he plays

As soon as the next training session is known, please post here. I thought it was Jan 9th, but I could be wrong. Expecting roughly a 9am start like last time. Desperate to get to Arden st and watch the boys. 2023 is going to be the year we rise again, and I want to be at as many games and practice sessions as possible.

So, yeah, please post times when you know them, whoever knows them.

As soon as the next training session is known, please post here. I thought it was Jan 9th, but I could be wrong. Expecting roughly a 9am start like last time. Desperate to get to Arden st and watch the boys. 2023 is going to be the year we rise again, and I want to be at as many games and practice sessions as possible.

So, yeah, please post times when you know them, whoever knows them.
I hope it’s the 9th, I will be finally able to get down to one.

Always a well researched and balanced read on the Mongrel Punt.

Pretty good write-up. My only issue with it was when he said that TT's not the most talented player on the list for the first time in his footy career (presumably the guy has LDU above him). Don't buy that, frankly. I think Kyrgios is more naturally talented than Djokovic. Doesn't make him a better player. Talent and output are different things

Sheesh a bit tough on larkey I thought, yeah he's yet to average two goals per game. Last two seasons he's averaged 1.9 in the worst side with the second fewest fwd 50 entries.

Goldy was the only other tall that had any scoreboard impact of note. 16 goals for the season.

Larkey had 56 scoring shots for the year. Had five poor games, yes he could improve his contested work, but he's best attribute is the distance he can cover.
Better suited to CHF.
Couldn't find season 22.

1672871902809.png

That name Charlie Comben, so bloody crucial or if CCJ can lift that also would be handy

Sheesh a bit tough on larkey I thought, yeah he's yet to average two goals per game. Last two seasons he's averaged 1.9 in the worst side with the second fewest fwd 50 entries.

Goldy was the only other tall that had any scoreboard impact of note. 16 goals for the season.

Larkey had 56 scoring shots for the year. Had five poor games, yes he could improve his contested work, but he's best attribute is the distance he can cover.
Better suited to CHF.
Couldn't find season 22.

View attachment 1581553

That name Charlie Comben, so bloody crucial or if CCJ can lift that also would be handy
With better ball movement I’d be playing larkey at chf and even a smaller FF line if CCJ/ comben aren’t in side

would be interested to see what this fwd line can achieve:

CHF Stevo Lark Sheez
FF PC Zur Taylor

Basically one roaming tall and 5 smaller to use speed... only issue i can see is if we have a fast centre break away and are dumb enough to try to bomb it in

Hear ya, reckon we need another permanent KPF. Will make Larkeys job so much easier.

We do though need a livewire small fwd.

I'm not overly happy with this type of setup.

??? Larkey Curtis
Zurhaar Comben Sheezel

Leaves CCJ, Ford, George, Mahony, Spicer, Taylor and Stephenson.

All seems very similar.

would be interested to see what this fwd line can achieve:

CHF Stevo Lark Sheez
FF PC Zur Taylor

Basically one roaming tall and 5 smaller to use speed... only issue i can see is if we have a fast centre break away and are dumb enough to try to bomb it in

Not much mate, get absolutely monstered.

Better suited to CHF.
Couldn't find season 22.

View attachment 1581553

Been saying for a while Larkey needs to be played higher up the ground. He isn't a stay at home forward that will outbody his opponent and clunk pack marks. He will outwork his opponent and provides great linkup up the ground. Comben will be out number 1 forward target once fit and firing

Yeah easier to play to individual strengths, Comben while being agile is more a clunker of the ball.