Training

Eagles
Is it true that the Eagles have started training already?

It seems very early to me.
Do they usually start around this time of year?

I hope guys like Milli, Matera and Wirra are all given a good rest, to get over their injuries.

For most players it is the start of training. I believe under 20's can't start until January though.
There will be a number of hopefuls training with each club trying to get a chance in the pre-season draft. Matt Connell trained with us last year. The intensity is not that strong before christmas but they do some endurance training and a fair amount of skills/teamwork/ set position work. For some it will be the start of a four months weights program in order to bulk up. Cuz did that last year. I should think a few of the 21/22 year olds may look a bit bigger come the pre season games. Hopefully Brauny will bulk up and maybe Chad Fletcher, Glassy and Gaspar.
hopefully BB will be doing specialist kicking straight drills, fletcher how to kick with both feet and Cuz how to handle three taggers at once :D

I hadn't heard that West Coast had started proper training, but I know Freo definitely have. I'd say there'd be a fair few Eagles who set and started their own training schedules weeks ago.

Sorry, this post was a bit of a waste of time.
They've just had news reports, that answered my questions.

Also it seems that Buszan is training with them in the hope of being picked up in the draft.

This must mean that Gary Stocks was mistaken.
Buszan wouldn't decide to leave the club, then train with them over the pre season.

:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Also they reckon Read and Siera will be ready to go by round1. :)

This whole Buszan issue has been handled very strangely

He had a very good year with East Perth and with the delisting of Cummings he wouldve thought that his opportunity had come up, but it hasnt

So, why is he back training with us? and after being delisted what pick would the club dare use on him, if they even wanted to?

It's also interesting that while Buszan is training with the club, Scotty Cummings hasn't been sighted.

Does this mean the club hasn't asked him back to train with them? :(

P.S - Does anyone know when and where they're actually training. I'll go ask Dean Buszan personally how his damn ankle is. Getting sick of all the confusion surrounding him.

Well I guess if Buszan was to be elevated then someone else would have had to be delisted. Seems Eagles didn't want to delist anyone else. Maybe for contractual reasons or whatever. It may well be that they said to Buz that they would pick him up at 4 or 5 and he would tell other clubs he had no interest in going interstate and had a reasonably high salary demand. In that case it would be prety certain WCE would get him. Anyhow, it's a guess and a hope. I rate Buz highly and 'Buz and Cuz' rings nicely.

We can delist non contracted player up until tomorrow night. Only 3 left. Banfield, BB, Merenda. I reckon all will sign.

Kitchener Park I think for training

Todays West articles were quite good:

Knees news good at Eagles

By Mark Duffield

100-spt15wors68.jpg

NEW West Coast coach John Worsfold expects all but one of the five Eagles to have serious knee injuries in 2001 will be available for round one next season.

On the current rate of recovery, Phil Read, David Sierakowski, Drew Banfield and Michael Prior should be fit, with Chad Morrison taking a little longer.

Worsfold made the prediction after supervising his first full West Coast training session at Kitchener Park yesterday afternoon.

Morrison was the last of the five to be hurt, wrenching his knee in the round 13 win against Melbourne at Subiaco Oval.

"He is the one who, on timing right now, won't be ready for round one but that can certainly change," Worsfold said. "You find with knees that once the players get into training, the knee can get better fairly quickly."

Worsfold was pleased with the way he had been accepted by the players, many of whom are former teammates.

"No worries at all," he said. "I have spoken to most of the senior players to outline what I am expecting from them and I have had a really good response. That is the first step. Over time I will deal with issues as they come up.

"I will deal with them honestly and I think the players will respect that."

Worsfold indicated the Eagles would place a heavy emphasis on improving skill levels over the summer.

"I am not specifically saying skills is where this side has fallen down in the past but it is an area where they can improve," he said.

"You have to be skilful to play this game. It's no use chasing and tackling to win the footy if you can't keep it and use it."

November 15, 2001

Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
It's also interesting that while Buszan is training with the club, Scotty Cummings hasn't been sighted.

Does this mean the club hasn't asked him back to train with them? :(

Oh geez, you're gonna get Jod started on the whole Cummings issue again..... I think he'd just about started to accept his delisting.... ;) :p

Training kicked off yesterday at Kitchener Park (outside Subiaco Oval). The whole Buszan situation is very confusing, but I was very excited to see him training with the Eagles yesterday, surely that's a good sign?

I also heard we haven't signed up Merenda yet for 2002, how come he was only on a one year contract?