Transfer discussion thread

• Thread starter Thread starter chef

Yep but using the same terms of reference, most of them were still worth doe weren't they? All I'm saying is that it seems to me as an Arsenal supporter that Arsenal get a kicking by the press where other clubs don't for the same thing. As an example, the postponement of games recently. I can't see what the difference was between Arsenal having their game postponed and Liverpool's game postponed. If someone can explain the difference to me, then I'd be grateful.
Arsenal sold and loaned players out immediately after complaining that they didn't have enough players to fulfil a fixture.

Hit a nerve did I?

You're the one who throws his skirt over his head because Saliba refused to follow the instructions issued to him by the club and the coaches and screeamed that the Arsenal weren't fair to him in allowing him to do what he wants, when he wants, where he wants and then not a week passed by, where you and your Saliba fan boys club would knock the sh*t out of Arteta and the club in reference to Saliba. You and one or two others have shown your love and loyalty to The Arsenal by how you place players above the club so yes, I am a far, far better and loyal supporter of my club than you.
No.

But you post like you know more than anyone else, that you're never wrong, refuse to acknowledge anyone else's opinion that does not align with yours.

And if you feel comfortable measuring your support against a random online because of some parameters made up in your head to qualify you as being superior, go for your life. But that just sounds like you're incredibly insecure and you need to tell people you're a better supporter than everyone else to make yourself feel better.

If that helps you sleep better at night, by all means continue to keep doing it. I know I don’t need to waste my time justifying my level of support online to some random old guy on an Internet forum.

Kolo Touré, Steven Gerrard, Glen Johnson, José Enrique, Daniel Sturridge, Alberto Moreno, Nathaniel Clyne, Adam Lallana, Georginio Wijnaldum, Emre Can; all 10 from Liverpool left on frees. I've taken the dates of these player's free transfers since the date that the model Arshavin left Arsenal on a free in 2013 as context.
Toure, Gerrard, Johnson, Enrique, Sturridge, Clyne and Lallana were all either cooked or basically at the end of their careers. None were worth anything in the market really even if they were under contract and we tried to sell them. Maybe Lallana at a stretch might have gotten us some money.

Only Gini, Can and Moreno were young and could command a fee but Moreno had been buried so wouldnt have gotten us much. It was frustrating to lose Gini and Can for nothing but they did give 5 years each of good service (Can) and excellent service (Gini).

Dont think we are really comparable, particularly when we do great business selling off players like Ibe, Smith, Solanke, Brewster, Ward etc in the past.

Since Klopp and Edwards came in, we've been excellent not only selling players but absolutely buying players and player retention.

We are a far shout from Arsenal. Just saying..

“No body wanted Alexis Sanchez”

Yeah, except Manchester City who offered £60m five months before the Arsenal/United swap transaction.

Which Wenger rejected.
Why let the truth get in the way of a bullshit narrative trying to be pedaled?

Out of all the players mentioned in your post only Pogba, Garcia, Wijnaldum and Can were actually worth anything by the time they left. The others were either not good enough anymore or crocked with injury. De Gea and Martial won't be leaving on free transfers in the summer. Both are on long term contracts and De Gea is our best goalkeeper.

Without wanting to speak for Liverpool fans, I would think that they were more than happy with most of those names mentioned leaving the club for nothing.

Putting Rooney and Vidic in your post is hilarious.

Gerrard leaving on a free at 34 years old after 15 years playing senior football was my favourite.

I guess that makes me a bad an unloyal supporter for posting an accurate comment.
I’m not sure anyone can ever compete with the lofty standards set. How are you going to accept you’re just not a good supporter?

Arsenal sold and loaned players out immediately after complaining that they didn't have enough players to fulfil a fixture.
They loaned them out first then started complaining then loaned some more out

“No body wanted Alexis Sanchez”

Yeah, except Manchester City who offered £60m five months before the Arsenal/United swap transaction.

Which Wenger rejected.
Wanted an extra pound

Cazorla and Wilshere sure. Sagna went to City when they were better than Arsenal. You are comparing Callum Chambers to Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic?! The latter two were cooked but are both club legends who have won premier league titles and the Champions League. Denis Law and George Best are still United legends despite leaving when they were past their primes. Chambers is 27 years old. He should be in his prime and at his peak value.

Ozil was your best player for years. Arsenal for some bizarre reason decided to permanently bench him rather than sell him when he was worth a fortune. Yes he got a big contract. Blame the club for that not the player. You could have easily sold him within 24 months of his new deal for a decent fee.

Nobody wanted to take on Sanchez except United and City....I don't really need to say more on that as they were 2 of the 3 wealthiest clubs in the premier league at the time. You keep blaming the player rather than the club. If you sold Sanchez and Ozil 18 months prior to their contracts ending you would have got substantially more than what you paid for them. Is that the players fault?

I agree with your last para, I am always club first but I am the first to acknowledge that my club is an absolute shitshow full of non football people unqualified for their roles who have made sh*te decisions both on and off the pitch for years.
Look, first on Ozil; he could well have been the greatest player on the face of the planet but if a player does not toe the line, if a player is given opportunity after opportunity to do the things that the coaches wanted him to do, 3 of them at Arsenal and then Arteta comes out and says the he, Arteta, failed to get the best out of him, what do you propose the club do with such a distracting, "who gives a f**k" player. In the best interests of the club, you must move them on, I would argue. Aubameyang, after signing the lucrative contract put in front of him which I would say just about every Arsenal supporter was supportive of, he just "downed tools" so to speak and from memory, his one good game came against Tottenham when we massacred them which really, further took the piss out of club and supporters because it showed all of us what he was capable of when he wanted to. He too thought he could do whatever he wanted when ever he wanted and to avoid another ridiculous Ozil situation. Clubs wanted to buy Ozil but he didn't want the piss poor wages in comparison to what he was getting by sitting on his arse so he refused to go! That's the measure of the man.

You know as an Arsenal man, I was outraged at Ozil's constant lip on social media criticising the club and the coach and I was even angrier at the so called Arsenal "supporters" who flocked around him as if he was Kim Jong-un! I am really proud now of my club because it has got back to the values and standards which meant that it is the ONLY club since the Second World War not to have been relegated out of the First Division/Premier League. Geez, we even sacked George Graham who was on the verge of legendary status as an Arsenal manager because he failed to uphold the standards of the club.

You seem to think that clubs have crystal balls, with all due respect. Many, many clubs, not just Arsenal would have offloaded players if they knew what was going to happen in the future - you know what I mean?

As for Chambers, he is not rated one iota by many, many of those Arsenal "supporters", who now are outraged that Arsenal have given the lad the opportunity to go and play somewhere after the fantastic job he did even when his injured in holding things together at the club when the clear out began and the cliques were being dismantled and also, when he was called upon to do his bit for the team, he did it with absolute commitment and honour. Kolasinac, Mustafi and Papastathopoulos were also rewarded for their dedication to the club in that time of upheaval and in Sokratis's and Mustafi's case, even when they were not in the formal EPL squad, their work with young players and their club ethos was exemplary so they were let off free with six months or so of their contracts expiring.

This may surprise you but Kolasinac was on 100 grand a week, Mustafi on 90 and Socratis on 92 so if you look at the saving over 6 months worth of wages, it's 2,500,000 for each of them so the first question is, who was going to pay that amount for them anyway and secondly, the amount of time and effort required, the toing and froing to thrash out a deal for these bloke would be far better spent on working on other transfer matters. I reckon that makes sense.

Sanchez didn't go for nothing, we got bloody Mkhitaryan for him.

The running of Football clubs is far, far more complex and involved than what some may imagine. At Arsenal, we aren't Man City nor Chelsea and now Newcastle with unlimited funds to buy players so we have to manage our squad reformation with quite a bit more thought than the above three clubs and as I'm getting rather sick of saying, these things take time - you can't snap your fingers and get it happening over night.

Thank you for reading this long reply but you gave me the opportunity to detail my thinking so I did - thanks. Oh, and by the way, I can feel the knives being sharpened in the matter of Willian so just a couple of quick things. We had Aubameyang who had a great season before so we brought in a tried and true assist player who, from memory, the season just passed was still the #1 assist and goal creator for Chelsea on a free to provide a path for Aubameyang to score plenty of goals. Unfortunately, things didn't work out and Willian was a bitter disappointment as was Aubameyang who downed tools. Willian ended up costing us about 10 million plus a 14 million signing on fee for that season before he, a true professional and lover of football, tore up his own contract worth 20 million to go and play football elsewhere, unlike Ozil who didn't give a shit about football. Aubameyang has cost us upwards of 73 million since he signed his new, you beaut contract - oh for that crystal ball.

Might be, ironically as well, that in playing the chicken standing on a ball, that you behaved like cowardly chickens and squibbed a derby.
1 covid case. Gutless cowards.

and what for, because a bunch of talentless hacks were injured or at AFCON.
Should have just fronted up, copped your loss, and rolled on to that 8th-9th place finish you're targeting.

Saliba
Guendouzi
Aubameyang

Common denominator seems to be the cone boy. Maybe he's the problem.
The common denominator seems to be that they have temperament problems, just like Ozil and they think that they should not follow instructions and do whatever the f**k they want to. How do you reckon Fergusson, Guardiola, Mourinho, Malthouse, Clarkson, Mathews would have handled them? You reckon they would have just rolled over and let do whatever they wanted to do and not toe the line?

Toure, Gerrard, Johnson, Enrique, Sturridge, Clyne and Lallana were all either cooked or basically at the end of their careers. None were worth anything in the market really even if they were under contract and we tried to sell them. Maybe Lallana at a stretch might have gotten us some money.

Only Gini, Can and Moreno were young and could command a fee but Moreno had been buried so wouldnt have gotten us much. It was frustrating to lose Gini and Can for nothing but they did give 5 years each of good service (Can) and excellent service (Gini).

Dont think we are really comparable, particularly when we do great business selling off players like Ibe, Smith, Solanke, Brewster, Ward etc in the past.

Since Klopp and Edwards came in, we've been excellent not only selling players but absolutely buying players and player retention.

We are a far shout from Arsenal. Just saying..
That's my point. Those players were no longer required by the club for whatever reason and some may or may not have commanded money so the club got shot of them - they did what they believed was in the club's best interests.

Klopp and Edwards are the template for Arsenal to follow and given that Arsenal have been living and behaving like they've been in lalaland since the Invincibles, it's going to take some time to get to Liverpool's standards where players that are potential recruits, are assessed not just on there footballing ability, but also their character and temperament and if they are signed, they want to stay because they are true professionals and put club and team first and above all, listen to what the coach/coaches say and try their hardest to carry out those instructions. They are willing to make the sacrifices for the team and club to be successful. That is the only way for teams and clubs to be successful and people should look no further than Liverpool if they want conformation of such.

As an Arsenal man, I am really happy with what we are doing at present. I just wish we could snap our fingers and get rid of those that we don't want and bring in those that we want and make everybody happy and win the league next year but sadly, we don't have a magic wand nor a crystal ball.

thanks arsene
That's Arsene in a nutshell. I read somehwere that Wenger was shocked after he bought Xhaka that he realise that he couldn't tackle! Now I don't know if that's a true story or no but it's Wenger and I wouldn't be surprised.

Gerrard leaving on a free at 34 years old after 15 years playing senior football was my favourite.
Same diff mate! They all were let go on frees and that's the point of the big picture that was uploaded on this thread wasn't it? That is, who gives a shit about the circumstances surounding the free transfers, let's just sink the boot into Arsenal. See, I agree with you about Gerrard and it's the same with Rooney but I'm willing to bet, that if they were Arsenal players, The Arsenal would have been lambasted all the same.

No.

But you post like you know more than anyone else, that you're never wrong, refuse to acknowledge anyone else's opinion that does not align with yours.

And if you feel comfortable measuring your support against a random online because of some parameters made up in your head to qualify you as being superior, go for your life. But that just sounds like you're incredibly insecure and you need to tell people you're a better supporter than everyone else to make yourself feel better.

If that helps you sleep better at night, by all means continue to keep doing it. I know I don’t need to waste my time justifying my level of support online to some random old guy on an Internet forum.
No, I just can't cop so called "supporters" who show far more loyalty and support for pretentious punks who point blank refuse to follow the instructions of the coaches and the clubs and do whatever they want to do.

You know the things that i have formally studied and you know what my credentials are but that does not make me any better or worse than anyone else around here or on Big Footy in general. I love perusing Big Footy and getting an insight into issues, football and otherwise because they are viewed through different eyes but for f**k's sake, how f****ng ridiculous is it when a 20 year old who hasn't had a pre season for more than two years, who has already had two serious injuries requiring operations and the club says to him that they want him to go on loan to an English Club so as to develop the player and look after their twenty seven million pound investment and that player say to the club, "up your arse; I'm not going to do that, I'm going to do what I want" and you and other cheer that obnoxious brat on and criticise the club and coach instead! That's not a matter of being superior or any such garbage, it's a just a matter of basic common sense!

As for being a random old guy on the Internet, you really are a contemptuous fool. I may be a fair bit older but I update my credentials and expertise as soon as new developments and theories arise to supplement my the studies that I undertook a number of years ago at an august institution, not some 10 week course where you complete it and then become a "personal trainer" who don't even know the correct order in which to stretch the muscle groups, but a bonafide place of higher learning.

That doesn't make me any better than anyone else, I'm just a normal everyday bloke like everyone else with some letters after my name but when I point out to you how under Arteta the club has brought in people who are regarded by their peers as right at the cutting edge of modern training and rehab methodologies, you just ignore that and continue to denigrate me because of my age and cast me as old fashioned! Well I tell you what, you are just plain bloody ignorant and have no idea whatsoever about the latest innovations and trends in exercise and sports science, nor in sports psychology but regardless of that, you don't need to be a Rhode Scholar to know that clubs are always more important than players and individuals, a concept that you and some of your mates just cannot grasp so you denigrate and deride those who stand up for their club and no amount of smart arse, wah wah wah will change the fact that you are ignorant and blinkered.

When I asses a player and form a conclusion, I present my reasoning behind my conclusion as do many other people around here and they do not always concur with each other and that's brilliant because we get to reassess, it has nothing to do with being "superior" or any of that garbage. It's about discussing and mounting an argument. You though, you just dismiss and denigrate and then you snipe to make yourself feel better.

Players who dis the clubs they are at and take the piss are not worth a piece of shit, regardless of how good they supposedly are or how much potential they have. They can say whatever they like once they are off the books, that's up to them. My thinking on that is NOT old fashioned, it is sensible and subscribed to by those who have any idea of team sport. Unfortunately, you just don't get it and stick up for the destabilisers, the arrogant and the prats in preference to your club.

Why is United allowing DDG and Martial to leave as free agents at the end of the season?
No-one knows that this is going to happen for sure but the way player agents and players have been "gaming the market" so to speak, it is not unreasonable that they may well leave on frees. It means that instead of prospective employers paying money to the players' current clubs, they can let their contracts run out by refusing to go anywhere and when they go to the club of their choice, the money that the club who wants them would have paid to Man Utd. in this case, can be split fifty-fifty (for example), between the player and the prospective club so the club can save 50% of what they would have paid Man Utd and the other 50%, goes to the player as a signing on fee and the club from whom that player has left, gets absolutely nothing. That's how ridiculous the system is and why the maggots and parasites known as agents have proliferated.

Why is United allowing DDG and Martial to leave as free agents at the end of the season?

Both have pleaded their cases to the court of oopsie daisies and now the contracts they signed are due to expire a couple of years before they were meant to.

No, I just can't cop so called "supporters" who show far more loyalty and support for pretentious punks who point blank refuse to follow the instructions of the coaches and the clubs and do whatever they want to do.

You know the things that i have formally studied and you know what my credentials are but that does not make me any better or worse than anyone else around here or on Big Footy in general. I love perusing Big Footy and getting an insight into issues, football and otherwise because they are viewed through different eyes but for f**k's sake, how f****ng ridiculous is it when a 20 year old who hasn't had a pre season for more than two years, who has already had two serious injuries requiring operations and the club says to him that they want him to go on loan to an English Club so as to develop the player and look after their twenty seven million pound investment and that player say to the club, "up your arse; I'm not going to do that, I'm going to do what I want" and you and other cheer that obnoxious brat on and criticise the club and coach instead! That's not a matter of being superior or any such garbage, it's a just a matter of basic common sense!

As for being a random old guy on the Internet, you really are a contemptuous fool. I may be a fair bit older but I update my credentials and expertise as soon as new developments and theories arise to supplement my the studies that I undertook a number of years ago at an august institution, not some 10 week course where you complete it and then become a "personal trainer" who don't even know the correct order in which to stretch the muscle groups, but a bonafide place of higher learning.

That doesn't make me any better than anyone else, I'm just a normal everyday bloke like everyone else with some letters after my name but when I point out to you how under Arteta the club has brought in people who are regarded by their peers as right at the cutting edge of modern training and rehab methodologies, you just ignore that and continue to denigrate me because of my age and cast me as old fashioned! Well I tell you what, you are just plain bloody ignorant and have no idea whatsoever about the latest innovations and trends in exercise and sports science, nor in sports psychology but regardless of that, you don't need to be a Rhode Scholar to know that clubs are always more important than players and individuals, a concept that you and some of your mates just cannot grasp so you denigrate and deride those who stand up for their club and no amount of smart arse, wah wah wah will change the fact that you are ignorant and blinkered.

When I asses a player and form a conclusion, I present my reasoning behind my conclusion as do many other people around here and they do not always concur with each other and that's brilliant because we get to reassess, it has nothing to do with being "superior" or any of that garbage. It's about discussing and mounting an argument. You though, you just dismiss and denigrate and then you snipe to make yourself feel better.

Players who dis the clubs they are at and take the piss are not worth a piece of sh*t, regardless of how good they supposedly are or how much potential they have. They can say whatever they like once they are off the books, that's up to them. My thinking on that is NOT old fashioned, it is sensible and subscribed to by those who have any idea of team sport. Unfortunately, you just don't get it and stick up for the destabilisers, the arrogant and the prats in preference to your club.
Maybe that's how you see it, but maybe they see it differently through their own eyes?

No, I don't know what you've studied. You've never made any mention of it. And I don't see how or why it is relevant when it comes to personal opinions.

People have different view points, something which - I believe - you fail to grasp or understand. People are quite entitled to their opinion(s), and you do not have to agree with it, just like they do not need to agree with yours. It's OK not to agree.

You were doing so well until you name called. Is it really necessary? Like, what does it achieve? Does it make you feel better about yourself? Do you get a kick out of it? Is your grasp of the English vernacular so limited your first resort is to name call like a bully? Again, you've never mentioned your credentials, I have no idea what they are, but again, not sure how that makes your opinion more valuable than anyone else's. Opinions are opinions and they will regularly differ.

You're entitled to your opinion, as I am mine. The difference is though I don't walk around like mine is gospel and anybody who disagrees is a clueless porkchop.