Travis Cloke

What did I tell you guys last week? He justified it this week. Thank you T3... continue your form and hopefully be one of our better players in the finals!

I reckon many have been pretty harsh on travis, I thought he was solid earlier in the year and our forward structure was better with him. His work rate was good and he did some good stuff off the ball. Last night he had CHF written all over him. He knew where to run took a few very good contested marks and his vision and kicking where outstanding. What is to advantage is a is actually a natural footballer rather than an athlete who needs to be trained to be a footballer. He has the smarts he just needs consitancy which will come with time

PieLebo87 said:
What did I tell you guys last week? He justified it this week. Thank you T3... continue your form and hopefully be one of our better players in the finals!

I thought you where telling us how good he was at chb. I think tonight he proved that CHF is his spot, he was so much more affective this week . Not saying he wont ever go back but he looks every bit a forward to me.

Wasn't slow, but we all know how good he really is at CHF. His hands are one of the best at the club (will be the best in years to come) and he puts the ball inside 50. Played his best game in his career last night I thought. Looked good, and it is good to see him play in what I think is his best position. Was good last week to show his versatility I guess, and can be a go-to man.

I strongly refute that he has the best hands at the club, but he did take some good grabs and had the best game I have seen him play. Still not physically aggressive enough to dominate CHF (ie Brown, Carey, etc) but will be a solid third maybe even second tall. If he had the tenacity in the air like either of his brothers, he would be almost the complete package. Still like him better at CHB...

Interestingly, he had 5 clanger kicks from the night - still one of the major areas of weakness he has.

Some very good man on man marking from trav last night.

He moved well and presented well.

You can definitely see the influence of wayne carey in his game too.

Now can wayne do something with tazza's marking and kicking?

ant22 said:
I thought you where telling us how good he was at chb. I think tonight he proved that CHF is his spot, he was so much more affective this week . Not saying he wont ever go back but he looks every bit a forward to me.
:confused: He is only 19. There is no set position for him yet. He can play in the midfield next week and if he gathers 20pos. Ill still praise him. Read my previous post again and you'll see that Im simply praising him as an up and coming star at Collingwood. I dont care WHERE he plays, if he is going to fufil the potential we know he has, all I care about is that he does it at Collingwood for the next 10-15years

T3 showed us all last night how good he was. But i think that we have to be patient with him, chf is one of the hardest if not the hardest positions in the game give him time there (chf) and he will be a very good player. I was also very impressed with T1 last night, i feel he is a true backmananybody got any other thoughts on T1?

Played well last week as a CHB
Played awesome this week as a CHF

Good signs :)

Gave Roughead a bathing too.

jabso said:
If Roughead was a Pies player how much **** would we be getting for him as a #2 draft pick.
Big call, I wouldnt say hes been ****. He is in my dream team this year and seems to do a decent job every week.

jabso said:
I like the kid actually but we would be flogged by internet warriors on the main board over our him. More of the bigfooty mentality over young kids who were high draft picks and Collingwood.
Speaking of our kids, this years draft picks, have been doing us proud in Willy, why isnt MM picking them, or hasnt, because it is too late now that we are nearing the heated end of the season.
For example, Stanley, this weeks INSIDE FOOTBALL;
"Hit every contest/player very hard"

Wouldnt you think we'd need that kind of toughness in the seniors?

J Rowe has been in good form.
Icca hasnt been on fire but doing his job.
Anthony came back from inj. in the Willy reserves and did a good job
ect.

I was chatting to my Geelong mate before last season (2005) and said Trav is pretty good but i conceded that I would trade our whole forward line for the son's of God (Gary and Nathan = Jesus'??).

What a stupid man I was.

In my defence I did not concede tho that Nath was better than Trav.

Trav is gonna be a superstar, Nathan will be a good footballer, Gary.jnr is gonna be Jesus.

I'd swap Pebbles, Taz and Leon for Gary in a heartbeat. Watch the next ten years.

Wouldn't swap Trav & Dids for anyone in the league (ok ..... give me J.Brown and Judd).

PieLebo87 said:
Speaking of our kids, this years draft picks, have been doing us proud in Willy, why isnt MM picking them, or hasnt, because it is too late now that we are nearing the heated end of the season.
For example, Stanley, this weeks INSIDE FOOTBALL;
"Hit every contest/player very hard"

Wouldnt you think we'd need that kind of toughness in the seniors?

J Rowe has been in good form.
Icca hasnt been on fire but doing his job.
Anthony came back from inj. in the Willy reserves and did a good job
ect.

Now Pielebo87 I am not picking on you(2 responses in 1 thread) but have you seen any willi games?? Do you want us to pick young blokes for the sake of development . We need to pick our best 22. Stanley is struggling to get a game in the willi 1s let alone at Collingwood. I have seen 4 of his games and he has been very dissapointing. Yakka has not shown anywhere near enough to suggest he is in our best 22. Anthony is young and raw and has talent but no where near ready and no one really expected him to be this year.

Rowe is the only player in those you mentioned who would be close and may get his chance this week with leon being out.

We are in the top 4 , top 4 sides don't have 5 first year players playing in it . It is a good thing these kids need to do there time . We need to make them earn it the pendlebury did. He was in best for about 7 weeks before he got a gig.

ant22 said:
Now Pielebo87 I am not picking on you(2 responses in 1 thread) but have you seen any willi games?? Do you want us to pick young blokes for the sake of development . We need to pick our best 22. Stanley is struggling to get a game in the willi 1s let alone at Collingwood. I have seen 4 of his games and he has been very dissapointing. Yakka has not shown anywhere near enough to suggest he is in our best 22. Anthony is young and raw and has talent but no where near ready and no one really expected him to be this year.

Rowe is the only player in those you mentioned who would be close and may get his chance this week with leon being out.

We are in the top 4 , top 4 sides don't have 5 first year players playing in it . It is a good thing these kids need to do there time . We need to make them earn it the pendlebury did. He was in best for about 7 weeks before he got a gig.

As much as i agree in theory, that players must deserve a run in the 1s. I have to bring nick in as a exemption to the rule. He wasnt setting the world on fire for willi when he was given a call up. Some players take to the presure and situation that playing in the big leagues gives. Personally id be giving these youngens a run, 1 per week, give tarks a rest and give stanners a run ect. If you dont blood your younger players especially in games that will be hard to lose (bottom 4 teams) then you end up like brisbane.

Theres 5 games left (Adelaide, Kangas, Port, Carlton, Essendon) If bucks is being rested this week, bring in yakka or Rowe. Against the Kangas, give burns the week off and bring in stanners, give tarks a rest and throw a bone to yakka or Rowe (who ever doesnt play against the cows) ect.

It all boils down to the fact that 3 players have to be let go at seasons end.

If it was me, id cut Hall loose, wakes retire, but then id be stumped for the last one. Alot of you are going to say walker or yakka, but i disagree. Walker has shown glimpses, and if hes given a chance to stay at CHB for 5-6 games then he could become more than serviceable, his is only 23 next year, a year younger than Maxxy.

I'd cut loose:

Fanning
Walker
Hall
Morrison
Iacobucci
and maybe Iles

I'd promote Harry O'Brien.

I'd keep Toovey and Nicholls on the rookie list for another year

Meaning we would be able to draft five players and one rookie.

King Woodie said:
I'd cut loose:

Fanning
Walker
Hall
Morrison
Iacobucci
and maybe Iles

I'd promote Harry O'Brien.

I'd keep Toovey and Nicholls on the rookie list for another year

Meaning we would be able to draft five players and one rookie.

You would cut loose a player who we only drafted 12 months ago, in Iles?

I definately wouldnt cut Yakka or Iles loose, Morrison is the other that i probly would cut, just to make the 3, if we wanted to make room for Obrien that id give Richards the boot, he is just 2 injury prone and has been on the list as long as walker has. Just to take into account if we cut Walker then we have to pay out his contract (he is contracted till end of 07).

I would probly look at trading pretty heavily. Lonie or Tarks might get some interest (both have had pretty good years and are still young). But id try to upgrade our 2nd rounder with possibly the Kangas, who could be looking for an outside wingman with a good kick.

Travis Cloke