Banter TRTT Part 12: Get Your Bowels Checked

Everton’s a weird place to land. Awash with cash, but not considered a premium destination by any agent/player worthy of that spend, and expectations are so great that even if you do unearth a gem from the bowels of nowhere a la Mahrez/Kante, that player probably won’t readily get the chances required to truly flourish ahead of a bigger/existing first team name/signing.

He claims he recommended signing Harry McGuire, Andy Robertson and Alf Inge Haaland Jr for a pinch of their ultimate values, but was overruled/denied. If there’s any truth to that (🤏) then that’s an episode of Sliding Dhoarrrs.

Maguire and Robertson were obvious guns even when they played for a relegated Hull. Erling Haaland was a star when he played for Molde in Norway at the age of 16 and his career was being planned for the next 10 years at the stage. Any scout worth their salt would have been going gung ho for all three so it's not a great brag to make especially at the time Everton would have been able to go after them.

Steve Walsh lucked out big time on Vardy, Mahrez and Kante and got a job way above his depth (and paygrade) at Everton.

Haven't given an iota of a shit about tennis since Lleyton was a serious shout for major tournaments but seeing the stuff about Naomi Osaka getting hounded by the press (particularly the shit about her background) honestly makes me sick. Glad she gave the proverbial middle finger to a lot of these campaigners and pulled out of the French Open.

Our media certainly has blood on its hands (Shane Yarran) but the way they're going after a 21 year old Haitian-Japanese woman makes me glad our footy coverage is mostly just full of speech impaired bogans and not the scum that seem to be in other sports media.

I'm playing a Melody for finbar. Hopefully he softens up without going off. Toughen up mate. We all hurt. It's all good to judge.

Maguire and Robertson were obvious guns even when they played for a relegated Hull. Erling Haaland was a star when he played for Molde in Norway at the age of 16 and his career was being planned for the next 10 years at the stage. Any scout worth their salt would have been going gung ho for all three so it's not a great brag to make especially at the time Everton would have been able to go after them.

Steve Walsh lucked out big time on Vardy, Mahrez and Kante and got a job way above his depth (and paygrade) at Everton.
Robertson was backup to Alberto Moreno for the first half of his first season at Liverpool. By no means a sure thing, I actually thought he started quite shaky when he got a couple of chances early on. Anyhow lucking out on Vardy, Mahrez and Kante is basically harder than winning the lottery.

E2xyVLLWUAYT3Gd

dear young people,
15 odd years ago, shotz would do a happy hour on friday and saturday nights where you could get $1 tap beers.

what is today's equivalent of this? because it was very very good.

dear young people,
15 odd years ago, shotz would do a happy hour on friday and saturday nights where you could get $1 tap beers.

what is today's equivalent of this? because it was very very good.
1986 Avenues Tavern friday nights $1 meal with complimentary schooner. (meal was shit though)

1986 Avenues Tavern friday nights $1 meal with complimentary schooner. (meal was sh*t though)
2010 Southern Cross hotel schnitty and schooner for 5 bucks.

Which slowly turned in to schnitty for 3 bucks and a 2 buck beer. Then 5 bucks for schnitty and 2 buck beer. Then 5 bucks for schnitty no longer including chips or salad, that cost extra. Then the beer went up to 3 bucks. Before you know it you were paying ten bucks a pop.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk