Banter TRTT Part 13: 2021 Goodbye (To 2022)

Depends on the run. With a lot of metal stuff, pressings are usually in the low thousands and then they fetch heaps on the second hand market. They might also release a hundred or so of specific colours. It's a bit of a wanky collector thing. I just stick to plain black.
Yea I can understand a bit extra for limited runs, but big name stuff should hang in the $30 range.
I'm not keen on coloured vinyl it's hard to grade, hard to see imperfections & clean.
There are services where you can get bootleg vinyl made from CDs. Some records stores will even get batches made with knock off album covers digitally printed. I’ve got a couple and the quality is fine, you’d be hard pressed (lol) to pick the difference.
The problem with this is the specific mastering for vinyl, I remember Satriani (not that I'm a fan) making a good point about how CD & High Res digital files are the closest to his studio sound, it's almost like you are mixing down for vinyl I'm not a fan of digital masters for an analog media.

Yea I can understand a bit extra for limited runs, but big name stuff should hang in the $30 range.
I'm not keen on coloured vinyl it's hard to grade, hard to see imperfections & clean.

The problem with this is the specific mastering for vinyl, I remember Satriani (not that I'm a fan) making a good point about how CD & High Res digital files are the closest to his studio sound, it's almost like you are mixing down for vinyl I'm not a fan of digital masters for an analog media.

This is true. There's no justification for $60-$70 for the mass produced stuff.

That’s what creates the “warmth” 😎

My goal at the moment is having enough of a collection to not have to repeat stuff while listening so I’m happy to trade a small amount of quality to compete with the diversity of my Spotify play lists. For me, spending an afternoon in my ‘shed’ listening to vinyl trumps any loss of quality.

That’s what creates the “warmth” 😎

My goal at the moment is having enough of a collection to not have to repeat stuff while listening so I’m happy to trade a small amount of quality to compete with the diversity of my Spotify play lists. For me, spending an afternoon in my ‘shed’ listening to vinyl trumps any loss of quality.
Yea if you enjoy it that's all that matters, I'm far too nerdy I pretty much avoid buying new vinyl unless I know the specifics of the mastering.

Foo Fighters really don't seem the type.

I reckon Dave Grohl would have a six pack of mid then declare it a big night and hit the sack.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Probably seeing your mate ruin his life and ultimately die due to drugs in his 20s had some effect.

Numpties in comments sections are already blaming the Covid vaccine lol
The covid vaccine is literally heroin.

Also, if anyone remembers those videos i posted of the adelaide based anti vax 'rapper'...he has covid and hasnt been able to get out of bed for two weeks. Poetry.

Probably seeing your mate ruin his life and ultimately die due to drugs in his 20s had some effect.
Maybe, maybe not.

Rockstars like Angus Young and Gene Simmons are lifelong teetotalers without needing any trauma to arrive there.

Regardless, it's very much Dave's band and I would be super surprised if anybody had drug habits under his nose.

Under his nose, choice of words.

Maybe, maybe not.

Rockstars like Angus Young and Gene Simmons are lifelong teetotalers without needing any trauma to arrive there.

Regardless, it's very much Dave's band and I would be super surprised if anybody had drug habits under his nose.

Under his nose, choice of words.

Doesn't necessarily have to be something illicit. You only need to look at Prince, Tom Petty and a bunch of others.

Have no idea how concrete this is:

Preliminary information provided by officials of the Casa Medina hotel located in the town of Chapinero, announced the death of the artist Oliver Taylor Hawkins.

The cause of death remains to be established. According to witness versions, the death could be associated with the consumption of narcotic substances.

According to first versions, Hawkins had chest pain and then an ambulance was called, but when the doctors arrived, the artist had already died.

A Sijin laboratory and investigators are carrying out the respective investigations at the scene to establish the possible cause of his death, the Police reported.