Universal Love TRTT Part 8: Random thoughts also sack Hinkley

Sure.

It was a difference pointed out to me by full blood people and non full blood people I was with in and around Alice.

It’s a term they use freely.

No offence intended edgie.

None taken, but a few aboriginal fellas I know, one of which is the son of a local elder, wouldn't consider themselves 'less aboriginal' than any 'full blood' because they have #onewhiteparent. Perhaps it's a term used freely up there amonst them but it just doesn't sit right with me hearing whitefellas using it reeks of white people judging blackfellas because they have other ancestry and therefore should not be entitled to aboriginal welfare and the like.

Maybe it hits a personal note too as I've often my aboriginal heritage denied, including by other aboriginals, because for all intents and purposes I have grown up a white Australian, which true as it may be, isn't a nice feeling. On a selfish level I also miss out on a lot of opportunities up my alley, mostly in creative arts, that I know biologically I should be considered for, not socially though. Socially is probably more the point of these things I guess, but on that personal note it still sucks. There's also no way or measure of knowing how socially the family has been affected because great nan was aboriginal and poppa Ross married a black woman even if it hasn't directly affected the last two generations.

None taken, but a few aboriginal fellas I know, one of which is the son of a local elder, wouldn't consider themselves 'less aboriginal' than any 'full blood' because they have #onewhiteparent. Perhaps it's a term used freely up there amonst them but it just doesn't sit right with me hearing whitefellas using it reeks of white people judging blackfellas because they have other ancestry and therefore should not be entitled to aboriginal programs and the like.

Maybe it hits a personal note too as I've often my aboriginal heritage denied, including by other aboriginals, because for all intents and purposes I have grown up a white Australian, which true as it may be, isn't a nice feeling. On a selfish level I also miss out on a lot of opportunities up my alley, mostly in creative arts, that I know biologically I should be considered for, not socially though. Socially is probably more the point of these things I guess.

I call myself a half breed, because I am.

I'm as comfortable with being white as I am with being black.

I identify as mixed race, because I am. I totally understand where you are coming from in the rejection from both sides at different times, but that's cancelled out by the acceptance by both sides at other times.

I look 'black' to some people and 'white' to others (this is across the board), when they then hear my accent it blows their minds hahahah!

VnDDkRm.png

None taken, but a few aboriginal fellas I know, one of which is the son of a local elder, wouldn't consider themselves 'less aboriginal' than any 'full blood' because they have #onewhiteparent. Perhaps it's a term used freely up there amonst them but it just doesn't sit right with me hearing whitefellas using it reeks of white people judging blackfellas because they have other ancestry and therefore should not be entitled to aboriginal programs and the like.

Maybe it hits a personal note too as I've often my aboriginal heritage denied, including by other aboriginals, because for all intents and purposes I have grown up a white Australian, which true as it may be, isn't a nice feeling. On a selfish level I also miss out on a lot of opportunities up my alley, mostly in creative arts, that I know biologically I should be considered for, not socially though. Socially is probably more the point of these things I guess.

All good points Edge Man. Thinking about it in more depth you didn’t hear it anywhere near as much around Darwin. Although up there anyone with really black skin was referred to as a long grasser regardless.

I’ll take on board your points.

I identify as mixed race, because I am. I totally understand where you are coming from in the rejection from both sides at different times, but that's cancelled out by the acceptance by both sides at other times.

I look 'black' to some people and 'white' to others (this is across the board), when they then hear my accent it blows their minds hahahah!

Power to you.

I'm not officially recognised as being 'black' and that's not something I may ever be comfortable with.

https://aiatsis.gov.au/research/finding-your-family/before-you-start/proof-aboriginality

I am not accepted by the community.

Power to you.

I'm not officially recognised as being 'black' as that's not something I may ever be comfortable with.

https://aiatsis.gov.au/research/finding-your-family/before-you-start/proof-aboriginality

I am not accepted by the community.

Hahaha, I'm not even officially recognised as being Welsh by the British government, so I wouldn't worry about that!

All that proving aboriginality stuff is very strange, though if there are extra government benefits occurring it is necessary. Shame that it comes to it. At least the DNA testing idea was howled down.

(actually I think Welsh was added recently to the census, despite us being the indigenous people of Great Britain).

All good points Edge Man. Thinking about it in more depth you didn’t hear it anywhere near as much around Darwin. Although up there anyone with really black skin was referred to as a long grasser regardless.

I’ll take on board your points.

No issues mate, at the end of the day you've had some great experiences, but aboriginal culture is very complex and what flies in Alice might not fly in other areas and communities. Does that mean what you done and said up there is wrong? I don't reckon so. Should you stop doing it around those people because of it? Nah probably not. Should you behave the same way amongst other people and areas? Better to err on the side of caution?

Hahaha, I'm not even officially recognised as being Welsh by the British government, so I wouldn't worry about that!

All that proving aboriginality stuff is very strange, though if there are extra government benefits occurring it is necessary. Shame that it comes to it. At least the DNA testing idea was howled down.

(actually I think Welsh was added recently to the census, despite us being the indigenous people of Great Britain).

I worry about it because I'm missing out on doing something I love.

Every singly creative arts grant open to Broken Hill recently has been for aboriginal people. FFS, one bloke I know who does short films puts everything in one of his actresses names, an aboriginal.

If that isn't wrong to everybody involved, what is?

Are you Colin Jackson?

Him, Ryan Giggs and Nigel Walker (rugby) were my childhood idols as black Welsh athletes (all from the same town as me as well).

Had a big poster that said 'Welsh, Gifted and Black' with them on it.

Her getting copious airtime on Sunrise awhile ago helped reignite her political career.
Koch and Sunrise need her demographics to win the ratings battle.

I said it many moons ago, that the way to have combated Hanson from the start wasn't to try and ban her, just attack her policies and continuously refer to her as One Drongo, No Realistic Solutions.

Rob Brydon was ****ing awesome man. Insanely sharp mind. Heaps of the show was improv.

He dressed up as Elvis and sung Burning Love at the end lmao. Dude can sing.

He had an audience Q&A, lots of questions about would I lie to you, Ronnie Corbett, his relationship with James Cordon, Gavin and Stacey.

A couple of songs where he got the crowd involved, got a few people on stage for stuff too.

Absolutely great night, he's such a people person. Energetic as hell. His comedy act was about an hour and then an hour combined for the q&a and musical stuff. Laughs woven into all parts of it.

Such a well rounded and varied show.