Universal Love TRTT Part 8: Random thoughts also sack Hinkley

So why did they leave money on the table? Especially when you’ve got Kit Harrington defending the writers from fans who are criticising them while at the same time saying the final season was “disappointing”?

There's videos of a lot of the actors dodging questions about the final season. None of them seem happy about the way it ended.

The writers are moving on to Star Wars now. I'm not sure why George RR couldn't get other writers on board, I'm not sure how these contracts work.

https://bgr.com/2019/05/17/game-of-thrones-petition-fever-hits-benioff-and-weiss-star-wars-too/

Have you looked at it from the other side? How simple a life did they lead? Did they grow their own vegetables, did they have their own chickens, Did they make their own sauce/wine/grappa/olives etc, did Mamma/Nonna cook every single night? Did they watch their pennies? Did they scrimp and save? Did they rarely go out? Did they wear designer clothes? Did they drive a fancy car?

How do you reckon the average DINKS would go living that lifestyle?

Mate you just described a trendy hipster’s paradise if only they could afford a block of land within 15kms of town to live it out.

This is all well and good, but policies like negative gearing, hefty CGT discounts, and (especially) the franking credits loophole aren't there to 'protect wealth', they're there to help the already wealthy accumulate more wealth without lifting a finger.....

Actually 50% Capital Gain discount versus the original CPI adjusted Capital Gain discount, there isn't much difference in the tax paid for assets held for the long term of around 20-25 years.

Sure some shares, and some real estate, especially housing in Sydney and Melbourne you are a decent way ahead, but commercial properties, retail properties, real estate of all forms in the bush and regions and outside the 2 big cities and certain suburbs of the other cities, the 2 calculations made there isn't much different if you have held assets for a long time through both slow and boom economic times.

If anyone has ever studied the Fightback package that Hewson produced in 1991 for the 1993 election, they will see that about 90% of it was implemented by about 2003, despite Howard going to the 1996 election with his never, ever a GST line. It was more than just a GST package. there were a whole lot of economic, industrial relations and government services reforms in it. It got thru because the government was able to sell it and enough people knew something had to change.

The franking credits refund paid to no one who pays tax is a rort. That will be changed one day, just like Hewson's package one day was implemented because everyone knew it had to happen, but you have to do it from government and not from opposition, so you can have treasury officials come up with a hundred examples and scenarios so you can help explain it and stop the bullshit from the other side.

Hawke-Keating go their massive tax changes thru because they went to an election and said we are going to have a tax summit to discuss all this and get everyone's views and then from it we will come up with a fair package. Keating lost out on his Option C GST package, but he got everything else approved and eventually legislated. Howard and co. said the earth was going to end, it didn't, and then when he got into government he didn't scrap all these changes, but altered them to be more favourable to his constituents.

The franking credits issue you get thru by having a cap and then phase out period, eg $5k year 1, $4k year 2, $3k year 3 etc. Same with negative gearing, you cap it at say $5k or $10k loss is the maximum loss you can claim whether the property is geared or not. Once the cap is in place for a few years you can remove it by phasing the amount down.

....And I forgot, as Pappagallo ponders online which 6 pack of the 78 varieties of Craft Gooseberry infused Indian Pale Ale he wishes to have delivered direct to his front door for the same price as a chickenpox vaccine for an entire African Village, Nonno had to line up at the pub, well before 6pm, in the heat, rain and wind for a crate of Southwark Long necks.

I have a kid now so no more sustainably micro-brewed double chocolate cinnamon stouts for me, I might even have to cut my $45 a tin moustache wax. Talk about austerity measures.

Have you looked at it from the other side? How simple a life did they lead? Did they grow their own vegetables, did they have their own chickens, Did they make their own sauce/wine/grappa/olives etc, did Mamma/Nonna cook every single night? Did they watch their pennies? Did they scrimp and save? Did they rarely go out? Did they wear designer clothes? Did they drive a fancy car?

How do you reckon the average DINKS would go living that lifestyle?
Yeah, those living beyond their means are most likely to be Libs voters mate. They are the bulk of 'aspirationals' and consumerists that make up the Lib electorate.

Everyone works hard for their money

Except to my understanding, Doctor Feel's former bathroom dweller.

Probably a few others too.

Heck, maybe me, I'm on work time now.
Tax relief for hard working Australian's.

You never hear tax relief for soft working Australia's.

Everyone works hard for their money

Except to my understanding, Doctor Feel's former bathroom dweller.

Probably a few others too.

Heck, maybe me, I'm on work time now.
If only.

What did Rudd/Gillard/Rudd achieve for nurses, teachers etc? You know the people they claim to represent. A mate of mine who you met briefly and is a retired headmaster from the public school system said, nothing.

Ugh, I'm sorry but the proposition that there's no difference in the policy of labor/liberal governments towards our education system is so patently untrue that I have to call it out.

If you're genuinely interested (I suspect you're not), go and have a look at the absolute shambles the Conservatives have made of the education system in the UK, where teachers are leaving in droves and they literally cannot staff schools anymore due to plummeting morale and intolerable working conditions. Then maybe reflect on how much of that ideologically motivated 'profit-before-all-else' attitude exists in the LNP as well.

Compared to the UK, Australian teachers (currently) have better pay, better working conditions, better classroom sizes and better rights. Like it or not, most of that is thanks to the Labor party. And all of it is constantly, and I really do mean constantly, under threat by neoliberal ideologues who would quite happily gut the public education system if they thought they could get away with it. It's already happening on several levels here and as a teacher I'm genuinely worried about how much damage could be wreaked during another three years of LNP government.

So vote Libs if you want but don't attempt to justify it by pulling the old 'both parties are the same' false equivalency bullcrap. The decisions that our government make have real consequences for real people every single day, and I've witnessed firsthand what can happen when hard fought rights are eroded in the name of 'efficiency' and 'spending cuts' by people whose sole motivation is a profitable bottom line.

I'm really over this whole 'what have the Romans Labor Party ever done for us' narrative form people who simultaneously enjoy their annual leave, sick pay, penalty rates, medicare and social security, etc the list goes on. It shows a lamentable ignorance of history and a worrying flippancy towards rights that, not to be dramatic or anything, but people literally died fighting for.

The Greeks and Italians benefitted from the same kissed on the dick timing that all the other Baby Boomers did. My grandparents were just general workers in nurseries and restaurants and they still paid off three houses within 5km of the city. They weren’t bludgers by any means (shifty perhaps, we suspect Nonno was stealing plants from work and selling them to his mates lol) but even the average double income no kids professional couple would struggle to achieve half that these days.

I'm genuinely peeved that for some reason I missed out on all the benefits of all this appendage kissing:):rolleyes:

Having been initially an employee, then employer and then self employed. it sure as hell is an interesting world.

Ugh, I'm sorry but the proposition that there's no difference in the policy of labor/liberal governments towards our education system is so patently untrue that I have to call it out.

If you're genuinely interested (I suspect you're not), go and have a look at the absolute shambles the Conservatives have made of the education system in the UK, where teachers are leaving in droves and they literally cannot staff schools anymore due to plummeting morale and intolerable working conditions. Then maybe reflect on how much of that ideologically motivated 'profit-before-all-else' attitude exists in the LNP as well.

Compared to the UK, Australian teachers (currently) have better pay, better working conditions, better classroom sizes and better rights. Like it or not, most of that is thanks to the Labor party. And all of it is constantly, and I really do mean constantly, under threat by neoliberal ideologues who would quite happily gut the public education system if they thought they could get away with it. It's already happening on several levels here and as a teacher I'm genuinely worried about how much damage could be wreaked during another three years of LNP government.

So vote Libs if you want but don't attempt to justify it by pulling the old 'both parties are the same' false equivalency bullcrap. The decisions that our government make have real consequences for real people every single day, and I've witnessed firsthand what can happen when hard fought rights are eroded in the name of 'efficiency' and 'spending cuts' by people whose sole motivation is a profitable bottom line.

I'm really over this whole 'what have the Romans Labor Party ever done for us' narrative form people who simultaneously enjoy their annual leave, sick pay, penalty rates, medicare and social security, etc the list goes on. It shows a lamentable ignorance of history and a worrying flippancy towards rights that, not to be dramatic or anything, but people literally died fighting for.

Talk about the UK and Australian history all you like.

I asked what did Rudd/Gillard/Rudd do to improve your lot in life?

The answer from any rational teachers and nurses I know is nothing.

And again don’t assume I voted for the Libs.

Talk about the UK and Australian history all you like.

I asked what did Rudd/Gillard/Rudd do to improve your lot in life?

The answer from any rational teachers and nurses I know is nothing.

And again don’t assume I voted for the Libs.
None of them have claimed paid parental leave?
Kept their employment they would have otherwise have lost due to austerity measures, recession that would have occurred if not for the economic management during the GFC?
Maybe they enjoyed the cleaner air that a climate change policy that demonstratively reduced carbon pollution in this country?
You'd have to give us more information on these teachers and nurses

The doco on Netflix about Hitler's nephew is worth a look he moved to the USA just before the war, he had 4 sons all of which have never had children themselves apparently they made a pact in their youth to end the bloodline.

Thanks I think I'll watch a De Niro flick instead.

And what business does Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshead have telling us what is ok for our babies?

I'll have you know, Pete Townsend is very, very interested in children.