Society & Culture Turning 27

• Thread starter Thread starter buddyruff

yeah i don't know why i haven't hit the online dating up....

i too have a few mates onto it and they are carving up big time.

sex rate sitting at about 50% they reckon, in comparison to getting out on the piss when it's about 10-15% (??)... who'd really know... does a 3 day bender with no sleep that ends in a root count as 1/1 or 1/3?? either it's an expensive shag there's no doubting that....

and your chances of waking up in the morning disgusted as to what's lying next to you is far lower considering you start the night sober (maybe not completely sober but more sober than when you first start cracking on to some lass in desperation at 2.30am) so can make a more informed decision if they're real life form doesn't quite match their digital form...

yeah i don't know why i haven't hit the online dating up....

i too have a few mates onto it and they are carving up big time.

sex rate sitting at about 50% they reckon, in comparison to getting out on the piss when it's about 10-15% (??)... who'd really know... does a 3 day bender with no sleep that ends in a root count as 1/1 or 1/3?? either it's an expensive shag there's no doubting that....

and your chances of waking up in the morning disgusted as to what's lying next to you is far lower considering you start the night sober (maybe not completely sober but more sober than when you first start cracking on to some lass in desperation at 2.30am) so can make a more informed decision if they're real life form doesn't quite match their digital form...

Go get em' son.

Onlien dating has many advantages. Meet a bird in a nosiy club you dont learn to much. But chatting to them online you do. Your forced too.

Sex rate for online dates is massive.

At 27 I had finished uni, finished post grad, was working full-time, bought a brand new car, living by myself and just got out of a long term relationship, and was getting to ready to buy a house. Had travelled to Japan, USA and Hongkers and Canada.

27 your mind should be career orientated. Family orientated stuff can happen from 30s for the rest of your life.

If your married and expecting children I really feel sorry for you. Thats crazy. Each to their own but - relgieon, family values play a big part I guess....But the stats show that if you get married in your 20's.....

My advice if your single in your 20's. Get slaying. Slaying brings confidence in all aspects of your life. In your job, socialising, on the sporting field. Everything. Forget wasting your time cracking on to birds in noisy bars and clubs. This time could be spent slaying. How you ask? Online dating. EVERYONE is doing it, and from experience it is the best thing since sliced bread. I have slayed many a pretty women Ive met online. Make sure you got a good profile, decent pics, decent ability to make conversation and away you go. Have had some awesome dates, met great chics, and its great for your confidence going on dates - you work out what chics like and dont like, what works and what doesnt. And saying this, youll be able to meet chics outside of online dating much easier.

Dont know why online dating has this bad wrap. Sure there are dodgy bastards and mingers, but if you choose the right site and no what to do you can easily avoid them. And yes there are absolute babes on there.

All my mates that are single are on it - every day and every night slaying away. If your single and not doing it your crazy.

I met my GF online. We live together now and buying a hosue together. And the back of my mind I know that if anything goes pear shaped Ill just jump straight back online to pick up roots.

Rant over.
I hope you know that fertility decreases for women in their thirties, and some women already face one or the other sort of fertility problems where getting older does not help so biologically wise late twenties is the best time for women to get pregnant. Of course if the husband/boyfriend is a couple of years older it doesn't matter so much it is just important from a women's point of view.

Turned 30 in April. Still single, still no kids, still in a mind numbing job. Hoping to change that coming into the second half of 2012. Hoping to shift states, jump into a completely different kind of job, and start university and work towards working in museum curation (modern history is my first love). 30s could still be my best years.

Gonna make it happen :)

I hope you know that fertility decreases for women in their thirties, and some women already face one or the other sort of fertility problems where getting older does not help so biologically wise late twenties is the best time for women to get pregnant. Of course if the husband/boyfriend is a couple of years older it doesn't matter so much it is just important from a women's point of view.

Its all mothers milk for me hearing this - I'd rather shit a chair than have kids

I will admit that I am on a couple of online dating sites but dont really take them seriously. I will tell you now that for most guys they are next to useless. Sure if you are Brad Pitt (which I'm not) then you wont be having any problems but from my experience and many others I know, there is way too much competition online. Women will literally get hundreds of messages a day. What are the chances they are going to pick you? You can send out literally a hundred requests on Oasis Active and get 1 accepted. Waste of time.

Of course kids aren't for anyone- but if this is the case for you you should not generalise it and say nobody should have kids in their twenties.

The best places to hook up with somebody(statistically) are all kinds of schools(university etc) or sport clubs. I met my husband at the cricket club.

online dating defs not my thing, but was at the footy with my brother and some friends last year. after the game we decided to go to another bar and my brother said he was unavailable because he had a date! we were all shocked. we asked for more info and he divulged that he actually had 2 dates! he was double booking! went to one place to meet a girl, then the second bar to meet the other, and guessing end up with the one he preferred...

good times...

oh, and want to slay bitches? go travelling... in fact, if you havent had say 15-20 passport stamps in both your passport and your underwear draw, you're probably behind the 8 ball... there is no understating the desiredness of aussie guys in south america. you'll find yourself turning your nose up at attractive women back here...

Of course kids aren't for anyone- but if this is the case for you you should not generalise it and say nobody should have kids in their twenties.

Im going to stand up for humanity here and say that generally people shouldnt have kids in their twenties. Specifically the early twenties and people who are, too put it loosely, bogans. Working as a teacher I think Im in a position to voice my opinion as I see the adverse consequences of children being raised by inept parents, and am unfortunately one of the people in society that suffers from these consequences directly when I have to deal with little shits that arent raised correctly by idiotically inept and incompotent parents.

In general (there is always exceptions which I accept)

1) They havent developed the social, emotional intelligence and cumilated resources to look after them and bring them up correctly. It is unfair on the child. It is unfair on those who have to shoulder the burden. Such as teachers, the police, the welfare system. it has a waterfall effect on the rest of society.
2) The world is over populated as it is. The future is dire in terms of resource scarcity and the global economy. To bring a kid into the world under these constraints in an envrionment likley to be under resourced (see point 1) cant be good. For anyone.

Australia says NO to young bogan mothers.

Bogan mums don't become less Bogan the older they get. Shearing everyone under the same comb who is younger than 30 is a bit harsh and seeing that the average of people born today have been born to parents younger than 30 years old- which also leaves you with quite short time frame to procreate in any case.
If you don't want kids at all fine, but you should remember that most of the western economies depend on younger people replacing older people. In japan and countries with a similar age structure they are already suffering from the problems on not having any new people to come after them.Of course you may be a proponent of just letting humans die out and let the planet rest but you can't expect everyone else to follow that route.
People like to cite Africa for being overpopulated , but actually it has still the most reserves as they may have many people , but they also have a vast area to live in and if it wasnt for all the rest of the world trying to interfere they would solve problems themselves and there wouldnt be so much problems with ressources.

It's amazing how attractive a baby bonus can be when it comes to having children. Australia is becoming a welfare nation (I think I'm qualified to comment having worked in this area for the last 6 or so years...).

I turned 27 earlier this year and am fairly happy with where I'm at:

* My fiancé and I have our own home and an investment property
* We have both travelled extensively
* I have a degree and a well paying job, my fiancé has a well paying job as well which affords us the ability to enjoy life's luxuries
* I am expecting our first child

We also have regrets, but that's life I guess. I'll continue to be happy as long as I have my family, my health and the ability to survive without being dependent on others. Everyone should do what makes themselves happy for some that might mean travel for others it's having a mortgage and a couple of kids. If it's important to you then that's the only thing that matters.

Being 27 was my best year to date (2011) My now wife and I got married, got promoted and did a fair bit of travel, I am now 28 and need to get our life sorted kids, house etc. We have been together 9 years and we have always enjoyed the finer things and lived with little fuss doing what we want when we want but now it is time to settle down and start a family and buy a house.

At 27 I had finished uni, finished post grad, was working full-time, bought a brand new car, living by myself and just got out of a long term relationship, and was getting to ready to buy a house. Had travelled to Japan, USA and Hongkers and Canada.

27 your mind should be career orientated. Family orientated stuff can happen from 30s for the rest of your life.

If your married and expecting children I really feel sorry for you. Thats crazy. Each to their own but - relgieon, family values play a big part I guess....But the stats show that if you get married in your 20's.....

My advice if your single in your 20's. Get slaying. Slaying brings confidence in all aspects of your life. In your job, socialising, on the sporting field. Everything. Forget wasting your time cracking on to birds in noisy bars and clubs. This time could be spent slaying. How you ask? Online dating. EVERYONE is doing it, and from experience it is the best thing since sliced bread. I have slayed many a pretty women Ive met online. Make sure you got a good profile, decent pics, decent ability to make conversation and away you go. Have had some awesome dates, met great chics, and its great for your confidence going on dates - you work out what chics like and dont like, what works and what doesnt. And saying this, youll be able to meet chics outside of online dating much easier.

Dont know why online dating has this bad wrap. Sure there are dodgy bastards and mingers, but if you choose the right site and no what to do you can easily avoid them. And yes there are absolute babes on there.

All my mates that are single are on it - every day and every night slaying away. If your single and not doing it your crazy.

I met my GF online. We live together now and buying a hosue together. And the back of my mind I know that if anything goes pear shaped Ill just jump straight back online to pick up roots.

Rant over.

I know people like you your the guy who likes any picture a girl puts up on FB and says comments like Hot or Looking good babe then you inbox them constantly.

Your the guy who will want to go somewhere because there is a girl you know going there and you think your a chance when your not.
You then tell all your mates that this place looks good lets go we then get there you make out like you didn't no she was going to be there then you want to leave because that girl has left or is not giving you anything.

Your the guy who tells everybody you don't want a relationship and you like playing the field but deep down desperate to find someone and will fall for anyone who shows you some interest then your mates put up with you and your moods after when nothing comes from it all.

These people that sound like you think they are really smart but continue to lie to themselves and are laughed at and considered desperate as they spend a big majority of there time doing these things on FB, Dating site and the constant texting yeah they get some here and there but the huge amount of time that is put in is laughable.

Not sure how people have investment properties and shit at 25. I am nearly 20 and have never really even had a job that lasted more than a couple of months and just go to uni full time. Will be 21 when I finish it and still have no idea what I want to do

Im pretty much the same. Freaks me out when people say they have all that stuff in their mid 20's. I have no idea how I would be able to do any of that in 4 years.

* My fiancé and I have our own home and an investment property
* We have both travelled extensively
* I have a degree and a well paying job, my fiancé has a well paying job as well which affords us the ability to enjoy life's luxuries
* I am expecting our first child

That'd be pretty much my aim at 27. Sounds very good!

Jesus. I'm 25 next month and I've accomplished jack. Haven't travelled, still renting, nowhere near buying a house, still looking to buy a car, and only have 12k in my bank..

Get off the billies son

When I turned 27 I had got a decent job and felt a bit meh because of the bullshit and backstabbing to get there. So slinged my hook and moved to the UK for a couple of years and see a bit of the world, helped me heaps in not being such a dick. Now I just limit that to posting on here.

Jesus. I'm 25 next month and I've accomplished jack. Haven't travelled, still renting, nowhere near buying a house, still looking to buy a car, and only have 12k in my bank..

Why do you have to buy a house at your age? Only 12k in your bank? Yeah..nah.