Umpires robbed us - no doubt about it.

Was at the game today and boy oh boy did you guys get a tough run. Probably cost a few goals and that's all it takes. Umpiring was ordinary all day but I guess we rubbed our green a bit harder.

SonOfReep take a look here, you might come up a bit short here.

Was at the game today and boy oh boy did you guys get a tough run. Probably cost a few goals and that's all it takes. Umpiring was ordinary all day but I guess we rubbed our green a bit harder.

I think the Pies deserved the win, bad kicks at goal is bad football, the eagles in a way need these losses as a kick up the bum, it's their own fault.

Saying that though there are about 4 baffling decisions. Congrats on the win.

It wasn't just that.
It's the chook raffle HTB against Cox. Wellingham being tunnelled in the marking contest. Naitanui being held off ruck contests by midfielders (which is about the easiest and most obvious free to give). Ducking the head frees called then but not earlier.

A lot of the blame has to sit on the shoulders of Kennedy and Darling. Two key defenders down and it seems like they're trying to catch and handle a bar of soap. Kennedy in particular was absolutely f***ing appalling.
What game were you watching? All I could see was our forwards creating and leading hard into space and having it kicked on top of (or over) their heads. Learn something about the game then come back!

What game were you watching? All I could see was our forwards creating and leading hard into space and having it kicked on top of (or over) their heads.
The delivery was mostly pretty average, but when they did give the forwards an opportunity were the forwards marking it? The moment a bit of body or arm contact came they both spilled chances you would expect decent key forwards to mark, against second string and medium defenders no less. After Brown and Frost went down that was the area we should have had the upper hand, and both of them failed to capitalise when given opportunities.
Darling to his credit was good at ground level.
Learn something about the game then come back!
That meaningless rubbish just about sums you up, doesn't it?

Finally a poster with some sense

we have been shafted ever since the Victorian media started bitching and moaning two years ago

Umps read media

I hoe the prat that paid the 50 to Grundy doesn't sleep very well .....because that was the most pathetic decision I have seen in a very long time ...gifted the game to pies

Every time I think of the umpires I think of that QF we won against Sydney in the mid 2000's which had so many dubious frees go towards us.

We have been r*ped dry this year but maybe we're just copping karma for the years they have been on our side.
the karma came 3 weeks later.

Was at the game and I can tell you the Collingwood supporters were fuming all day booing and screaming BALL at every contest and umpiring decision..of course they also thought they got screwed by the umps..thats human nature.
It was a good fierce game with dirty turnovers and poor delivery from both teams and some umpiring mistakes both ways and we should have won it, we blew our chances thats all there is to it.

Blaming the umpires is an easy out.

Was it the umpires fault Kennedy dropped numerous easy marks ?
Was it the umpires fault Yeo dropped that sitter just before half time?
Was it the umpires fault we missed some getable goals?
Was it the umpires fault Mastens handball hit Pendlebury on the chest whilst Selwood stood flat footed and watched him intercept and run in and kick an easy goal ?
wAs it the umpires fault Elliot could beat 3 players in the last quarter to kick a goal out of a scrimage ?

Umpires make mistakes like players, however all supporters seem to think it's the umpires fault alone when you lose. Maybe if we taken our chances when we had them the result would have been different.

Woke up at 5am and watched the replay, the Grundy one definitely sucked huge balls as did Cox's. No way cost us the game though, Pies outplayed us in the end with 2 men down. The tv doesnt reflect the loudness of the crowd either..it was deafening.

There was 5 minutes of baffling decisions in the last quarter where I lost my shit besides that it was ok. Though I question how darling and kennedy cant take at least one contested grab in a fair contest

I was disappointed with Simpsons press conference

He didn't question anything ....I don't want him to rant about umpiring but a polite sheez what the hell happened there might worth throwing in ......

Yes umpiring r*ped us again, but what did you expect ? Favourable decisions for us......please that's never going to happen at the MCG.

Those green flogs have to walk out of that ground eventually with a very hostile element waiting for them, what would you do if your life depended on it?
..remember where talking about low life Collingwood supporters , some without gainful employment other than criminality .....I would do the same if my life was depended on it.

Yeo gets his teeth knocked out .....that's OK....but a defenders arm brushes against an opposition players shoulder & thats 50.( pushed on by one of his own players I might add) Seriouisly can count 10 decisions that went against us ........thats why you have to be accurate & a 7 goal better team to win in VIC so umpiring & crowd have no influence.

I reckon that the umpiring was inconsistent all day. And inconsistency is the thing that makes it frustrating for supporters. If the umpies are paying soft free kicks or no free kicks all game then the players adapt. If they flip flop between the two that is when it all falls apart.

For sure the umpires were below par yesterday, but The Eagles did not take their chances when they had them so left themselves in a position where a few bad calls did cost us.

While the umpiring was atrocious, i think our lack of being able to turn our inside 50s into a score was what cost us in the end. We can't blame the umpires for every game we lose.

Blaming the umpires is an easy out.

Was it the umpires fault Kennedy dropped numerous easy marks ?
Was it the umpires fault Yeo dropped that sitter just before half time?
Was it the umpires fault we missed some getable goals?
Was it the umpires fault Mastens handball hit Pendlebury on the chest whilst Selwood stood flat footed and watched him intercept and run in and kick an easy goal ?
wAs it the umpires fault Elliot could beat 3 players in the last quarter to kick a goal out of a scrimage ?

Umpires make mistakes like players, however all supporters seem to think it's the umpires fault alone when you lose. Maybe if we taken our chances when we had them the result would have been different.

You have no idea about momentum do you? Any one of the other decision goes our way (such as Brown being sheperded from the contest which was paid as a 50 against us and Collingwood goal) and we win.

We had our chances but in an even contest all day the back end momentum killers are hard to recover from. We had momentum for much of the game but Collingwood had time to respond, we didn't.

You have no idea about momentum do you? Any one of the other decision goes our way (such as Brown being sheperded from the contest which was paid as a 50 against us and Collingwood goal) and we win.

We had our chances but in an even contest all day the back end momentum killers are hard to recover from. We had momentum for much of the game but Collingwood had time to respond, we didn't.

Please we take our chances momentum is not a factor, there was 6.52 left on the clock after that decision and we went forward numerous times and made errors, no way the umpires ruined our chances even with that free kick, if the players let that effect them in such a way that they decide that has killed their chances, then maybe they shouldn't be out there.

Obviously you have little understanding of human nature and professional sports. The mental side of a game is just as important as the natural side of a game.

The umpiring wasn't good that's for sure. But it was not just the umpiring that cost us the game.

The reality check for us is this: Just like the Carlton and Port games.

We lack pace.
We lack composure.
We don't take our chances in front of goal.
We don't hit enough targets by either foot or hand.
We don't play four quarters of football, concentration was again a key issue.

Until we address these issues at the draft and trade table we will remain an OK but very average middle of the ladder team.
The game was there to be won by us yesterday but once again we came up short.

I was disappointed with Simpsons press conference

He didn't question anything ....I don't want him to rant about umpiring but a polite sheez what the hell happened there might worth throwing in ......

He's not allowed to. AFL has a zero-tolerance policy on talking about the umpiring after a game. It's why Brad Scott does all his whinging before the game.

Because the AFL can't find a balance between respecting umpires and holding them accountable.

the eagles in a way need these losses as a kick up the bum, it's their own fault.

Saying that though there are about 4 baffling decisions. Congrats on the win.

The players might but us supporters sure as hell dont.

Another heartbreaking loss that was there for the taking :(