Roast Umpiring: Corruption or Incompetence, or both

Early in the game thread I noted that we had got three free kicks in about the first 5 minutes. All down the southern end and I think for holding the ball or incorrect disposal. None resulted in a direct goal!
This got me thinking “I don’t like this” and that the AFL bosses would have been onto the blower to those 3 umps to let them know that is not the done thing. Message was received when #24 was gifted a free kick down the northern end very close to goal & on a slight angle.
Also it’s easy to pick a free kick out from a ruck contest and give the ball to Sweet’s direct opponent as both ruckman will look at the ump and think “what did I do wrong”? Getting a free kick from say a centre bounce is one of the best bonus free kicks a side can get - one straight kick to a leading forward and accomplishment completed
This league is so corrupt!
Edit. Yes, drop Jordan & bring in Dante, I can see the headlines from the VIC media “Port rookie ruckman keeps giving frees to his opponents”

At the game it seemed like we were being called to play on after a free or mark very quickly. One instance on the eastern wing, DBJ was handed the football by the umpire and almost immediately called to play on. It was a farce.

I was home in time to watch the last quarter of the delayed telecast and even the commentators were bemused by how quickly we were called to play on.

Also I know people don't like Dwayne, but several times he called out the umpiring by noting the crowd reaction.

Just terrible stuff from the umpires.

A beautiful free flowing game in the first quarter where we dominated and then we got a big ahead of ourselves and the umpires call whatever helps the game to become an even contest.

The players need to relax a little bit and know when to take a crack.

And if you're going to take a crack, take a real crack.

At the game it seemed like we were being called to play on after a free or mark very quickly. One instance of on the eastern wing, DBJ was handed the football by the umpire and almost immediately called to play on. It was a farce.
DBJ gave him the ‘I know what you are up to’ look. The players must be aware of it.
Georgi got called play on after 1 second whilst 5 metres out of play? Surely if the ball is out of bounds it’s a throw in?
I counted 3 ridiculously fast play on calls against us like that from ump 12
Very subtle form of cheating
Other one is the ducking, wines gets his head knocked off & commentators say ‘he ducked’ no he bent over to pick up a ground ball & got bumped in the head on the way up same as JHF multiple times.
You fat racist AFL apologist pos pig.

Funniest rigged game I ever saw was crows vs old Fitzroy. AFL wanted to relocate the Roy’s to Brisbane but club fought it & made a run for finals. Played the crows in the last H&A game and gave it a real shake but a string of ridiculous frees to the crowsin the last qtr, which left the commentators flabbergasted & laughing their heads off, got crows over the line & finished the Roy’s dreams of finals off & was even more blatant cheating than I have seen in tassie.

So the AFL have form

I usually try not to complain too loudly about umpiring but after that officiating debacle last night it's just about impossible not to imagine that given the same set of circumstances the Krey twins would be smashing holes in their respective coaching box walls, or back in the day Kevin Sheedy and numerous others of his era going off their t**s, which would be followed up by official complaints to the AFL by their respective clubs, and I suspect if his team was on the wrong end of similar umpiring Clarko would have demolished anything within reach, but we know the bloke who wants Port to be `everyone's second club' won't allow any strong reactions from the Power coaching staff, so unfortunately it will keep happening.

Re the Aliir and that beyond ridiculous 50 metre penalty, given the same officiating Maynard from the wobblers would be penalised multiple times per quarter, and we know that won't happen!

I was home in time to watch the last quarter of the delayed telecast and even the commentators were bemused by how quickly we were called to play on.

Also I know people don't like Dwayne, but several times he called out the umpiring by noting the crowd reaction.
Only to be corrected by rooshitto saying ‘they’ll boo anything’ or something to that affect.

Just before the last goal North kicked, JHF bent down to get the ball, was hit in the head and a North player dropped a Bronson Tsunami on him as he lay on the ground. Ball up.

It's absolutely disgusting. I hope part of our letter to the AFL suggests that if this behaviour persists and if JHF suffers injuries post football that we believe he will have grounds for legal action.

Really put the wind up them with their greatest fear.

Port & JHF are the ‘rowdy roddy pipers’ of the afl. Professional ‘heels’/ villains of the comp.

The AFL want the drama & controversy because they know the game as a spectacle is boring as bat shit & people wouldn’t bother watching without it.

So let’s embrace the hatred & controversy & bad boy label & have some fun with it. Get Pepps to grind one of their juniors into the deck. Get our seniors to box on with anyone who touches JHF. Have a massive Barney. I still think Dixon should have run one of their umps down in his last game.

Our players should orchestrate their own controversies, ie mimic Curtis’s dive. Highlight the umps mistakes, get our coaches to call out the AFL designated cheat pre game. They want us to villains/ heels so let’s give them what they want in spades

Previous discussion on Andrew Stephens. He screwed us against the Saints at home in 2020.
Questions need to be asked about this guy.

That was that dirty sniper Curtis.. jumped onto him on the ground..

Was a low filthy and gutless act especially for a bloke who loves a flop.

6: https://aflua.com.au/dvteam/daniel-johanson/
12: https://aflua.com.au/dvteam/andrew-stephens/
39: https://aflua.com.au/dvteam/jordan-fry/
43: https://aflua.com.au/dvteam/james-strybos/

The change between the umpiring in the first quarter and the subsequent quarters was dramatic.
The players knew it changed and dropped their bundles, knowing that they were about to get massively screwed.

The club will say nothing, because of course the majority of the board are elected by the AFL.

We are set up to be the patsy's in these frauds because our board are vfl elected.
Its the first time though that I thought the commentary team were clearly in on the grift.
But it makes sense, close games = profit.
How many times did the commentators frame the game as something special if North win.

The only reason why the grift didn't play out is the North players couldn't kick straight.

North kicked 2 goals from direct 50m penalties. The first from Farrell holding the ball too long was probably there but definitely one of those rules of the week where they suddenly decided to randomly crack down on it without warning. Second 50m from Wines holding the ball too long was ridiculous, compounded by the fact he should have gotten a free for high contact.

Paul Curtis also got a free 50+ metres off the ball directly in front for a dive from a Lachie Jones push that would have made any Brazilian footballer in the favelas extremely proud. Not quite Rivaldo 2002 world cup levels of hysteria, but close.

Then there was the JHF free kick given 50+ metres off the ball, for what looked like a pretty innocuous shoving match. Once the ref blew his whistle was when JHF got his two cents worth. North were further gifted a 50m penalty on top of the free kick for a certain goal.

Lastly, there was the Aliir one where he gets a 50m penalty or spoiling the mark too late, despite making the spoil before the umpire has even blown his whistle to confirm the mark.

In a game where North only kicked 13 goals, 5 were gifted from umpiring decisions, that, on most days, wouldn't be given.

The free kick count wasn't crazy lopsided as we have seen over the years in some games (such as 38-13 in 2013), but when the free kicks given are such momentum changers it really compounds the magnitude of their errors.

I think the best thing to note is that this was one of those games that would have been mentioned in the same vein as 38-13, the Carlton MCG 2015 Robbie Gray KO game, the 2016 Carlton game at Etihad, 2018 vs Hawthorn in Tassie etc. But despite such one sided umpiring, Port actually won the game.

Take it, but privately I hope the club lights a rocket up AFL House this week.
Magnificent post. Spot on in every respect.

Was one of the most biased, p*** poor umpiring performances I have ever had the misfortune to witness - and that's over nearly 60 years of watching footy!!!!

Crowd felt a dozen times that someone would jump the fence and plant one on the umpies (thankfully none did, but the atmosphere was as electric - in a bad way - and tension loaded as could possibly be imagined).

Wasn't just the dozen soft frees and a few 50m penalties that North got, especially in front of goal. Half a dozen frees from dubious ump calls or 50's, and would have been 3 or 4 more had they kicked straight.
It was the 25+ clear and obvious frees that weren't paid to Port (players dragged to the ground when the ball was 3-5m away / head high tackles / arms chopped, ankle trips, etc).

Instead it was "nothing to see you dumb South Aussie ****s, move along now - oh wait! Here's a soft***k free I can give to Norf to wind up the crowd even more. Tee hee".

no need to whinge out loud like the self entitled "poor us" Crows. Just do it behind closed doors and give these AFL ****s an absolute rocket. As a poster stated, tell them if our players are continually brutalised with no reward, and any of them end up with head traumas or long term injuries, we will sue the AFL to within an inch of it's last red cent.

43 was terrible.. panicked and guessed.. made mistakes and then doubled down on them..

12 is a grade A flog..

How about sending this group to the coll v ess game? Next time
12 is a designated cheat. A VFL plant. He has a lot of form on this front. As someone else said he should be investigated but when his behaviour is league endorsed what sort of investigation do we expect and if it happened what would it reveal. We already know it will be a contrived outcome with the assistance of previously utilised and always at the ready broom and carpet.

This time was Byrne-Jones being a unaware idiot. It was a down the field free kick for a ball that went out on the full. So the moment DBJ wanders over the line into the field it's play on.

Burgoyne did it as well, just wandering back into the field of play before he was ready to take the kick.

North kicked 2 goals from direct 50m penalties. The first from Farrell holding the ball too long was probably there but definitely one of those rules of the week where they suddenly decided to randomly crack down on it without warning. Second 50m from Wines holding the ball too long was ridiculous, compounded by the fact he should have gotten a free for high contact.

Paul Curtis also got a free 50+ metres off the ball directly in front for a dive from a Lachie Jones push that would have made any Brazilian footballer in the favelas extremely proud. Not quite Rivaldo 2002 world cup levels of hysteria, but close.

Then there was the JHF free kick given 50+ metres off the ball, for what looked like a pretty innocuous shoving match. Once the ref blew his whistle was when JHF got his two cents worth. North were further gifted a 50m penalty on top of the free kick for a certain goal.

Lastly, there was the Aliir one where he gets a 50m penalty or spoiling the mark too late, despite making the spoil before the umpire has even blown his whistle to confirm the mark.

In a game where North only kicked 13 goals, 5 were gifted from umpiring decisions, that, on most days, wouldn't be given.

The free kick count wasn't crazy lopsided as we have seen over the years in some games (such as 38-13 in 2013), but when the free kicks given are such momentum changers it really compounds the magnitude of their errors.

I think the best thing to note is that this was one of those games that would have been mentioned in the same vein as 38-13, the Carlton MCG 2015 Robbie Gray KO game, the 2016 Carlton game at Etihad, 2018 vs Hawthorn in Tassie etc. But despite such one sided umpiring, Port actually won the game.

Take it, but privately I hope the club lights a rocket up AFL House this week.
Wasn’t there also a 50m against Wines following the HTB incident when his head was crushed by the Xerri tackle? Ollie held onto the ball under the pack thinking it was his free. How that was HTB let alone 50 was mind blowing.

Roast Umpiring: Corruption or Incompetence, or both