Kangaroos
For example blinking...you dont think about conciously having to blink, but when you do it becomes an annoyingly noticeable.

Another, where you place your tongue in your mouth. Think about where you place it when your mouth is shut and then it becomes annoyingly noticeable.

Or lying there and thinking about going to sleep...nex minit thinking about how you cant fall asleep.

Looking at girls with big ****, sometime you squeeze your own chest.

Ask a girl with big **** about this.

Hearing your breathing. Particularly when listening to music using headphones.

Sometimes when I go to the toilet to pee I start daydreaming and next thing I know I'm no longer in the toilet and I am washing my hands, the thing is I'm then not sure that I used the toilet or if I just peed anywhere.

Accelerating and braking in the car. Normally you don't think about it but some days I think about it and it feels unnatural.

Interesting thread. You can kinda put a sports psychology spin on it, which is a subject of interest for me.

You've probably heard of being in the 'zone' playing sport where everything seems to happen naturally without thinking. But the moment you realise you're in the zone, you fall out of it.

That's why sports psychs advocate that when performing keeping an external and process orientated perspective on thoughts. I'll use tennis as an example. Focus on what tactics you want to execute for a point, focus on the tendencies of the opponent, focus on not thinking at all (if that makes sense). The moment you focus on internal outcome orientated things, for example the consequence of losing the game/set/match, the angle of your elbow when hitting your forehands (all left brained things) you tend to go to shit.

That's why thing like focussing on breathing between points is good because its stops the brain from falling into thinking emotionally, and helps you stay in the moment.

Another classic example - set shots at goal in footy. Why a player can hit a tit on the run 50 metres away without a problem but will miss from 25 in front.

Outcome v process orientated thoughts.
Right brain v left brain.

Ideally you want a player taking a set shot to simply focus on hitting something behind the goals, focusing on their breathing or not thinking at all. Its when they start thinking about mechanics of everything like the release of the ball, their run-up and the emotional side of things, like what everyone will think of them if they miss, that things tend to go to shit.

Practice is the time for focusing on mechanics. Not when performing.

Try it next time you have a shot on goal.

AFL players all have the sub-conscious ability to kick a ball accurately without thought (kick to kick with a mate, hitting a tit on the run). The moment they start thinking is when things fall apart.

A very misunderstood and unrecognised thing where a lot of athletes can improve their game in my opinion

Keyboard writing while not looking at the keyboard. If I'm in my own world, I can write a novel and not make a single mistake.

In that above sentence alone, I made 3 mistakes........Its my fingers have a mind of their own.

mind-blown-classic.gif

Keyboard writing while not looking at the keyboard. If I'm in my own world, I can write a novel and not make a single mistake.

In that above sentence alone, I made 3 mistakes........Its my fingers have a mind of their own.

mind-blown-classic.gif

Same with clicking the mouse....just happens.

Another classic example - set shots at goal in footy. Why a player can hit a tit on the run 50 metres away without a problem but will miss from 25 in front.

Outcome v process orientated thoughts.
Right brain v left brain.

Ideally you want a player taking a set shot to simply focus on hitting something behind the goals, focusing on their breathing or not thinking at all. Its when they start thinking about mechanics of everything like the release of the ball, their run-up and the emotional side of things, like what everyone will think of them if they miss, that things tend to go to shit.

Practice is the time for focusing on mechanics. Not when performing.

Try it next time you have a shot on goal.

AFL players all have the sub-conscious ability to kick a ball accurately without thought (kick to kick with a mate, hitting a tit on the run). The moment they start thinking is when things fall apart.

A very misunderstood and unrecognised thing where a lot of athletes can improve their game in my opinion

Sort of see what you are getting at in a sense it is about training and honing instinct. Elite sport for example is played at such a rapid speed that players don't really have time to think. They do what they have been drilled/practiced/what comes naturally. In a technical sport like cricket/golf/tennis I guess that is why it is vital to get technique down pat early.

In terms of a practical living sense it can play with personal development. Say you can't public speak/are crap at remembering names/are shy and want to improve/are too overbearing and want to settle etc can that really be trained/developed out or do people revert to type so to speak. I guess in sport and other areas can you re-train your brain so the conscious mind gets so drilled the learned behaviour is unconscious. To a point reckon you can but it takes time and may not always be possible.

Sort of see what you are getting at in a sense it is about training and honing instinct. Elite sport for example is played at such a rapid speed that players don't really have time to think. They do what they have been drilled/practiced/what comes naturally. In a technical sport like cricket/golf/tennis I guess that is why it is vital to get technique down pat early.

In terms of a practical living sense it can play with personal development. Say you can't public speak/are crap at remembering names/are shy and want to improve/are too overbearing and want to settle etc can that really be trained/developed out or do people revert to type so to speak. I guess in sport and other areas can you re-train your brain so the conscious mind gets so drilled the learned behaviour is unconscious. To a point reckon you can but it takes time and may not always be possible.

Yep, if I get self conscious about public speaking its all over for me.

If I just 'do' and don't think I do a good enough job.

Masturbating. I don't even realise I'm doing it until the police cuff me and the checkout chick has a disgusted look on her face.

I like to think about things being unconscious and just happening. Like your whole body is just doing stuff all the time and you have no idea and no way of controlling it. Like hormones and whatnot.