The Skunk

Draftee
How did everyone go?

I got into PE, which was my 2nd pref. My first preference went up 15 from last year. I mean WTF!!!

Delidio - Don't know if that was directed at me but I'm hoping to eventually get into publishing and editing :)

Peternorth - Hehe. May only be 12 contact hours but it's going to involve a hell of a lot more work out of class!

Really looking forward to it. I've been on the La Trobe website trying to figure out my timetable. At the moment it's looking like I get Friday's off, possibly Wednesdays too and don't have to come in on Monday until 3pm. That's fine by me! :thumbsu:

bah..... lot of work out side of contact hours for the first two weeks maybe, then uni life will take over as will uni attitude..... last minute assignments... little or no study....

Cool you'll get a BA (Bach Attendance) after 3 years, on average 12 contact hours a week!

1st in line at the Centrelink queue :D

Nah good onya do what ya want to do not what others say!:cool:

I know there are a lot of people bag BAs, say they're useless etc but I think it's undeserved criticism. It was suggested to me on another forum that I should combine it with Commerce (or something similar) but hell would freeze over before I would do that. I would be bored out of my mind. Doing subjects such as English, History, Linguistics, Politics etc are much more interesting to me and the type of subjects that I will (hopefully!) excel in. It would be pointless for me to do accounting, economics etc. I'd hate it, my results would reflect that and it wouldn't help me get where I want to be in terms of future careers.
I was talking to the Marketing Director of Macmillan last week and mentioned how I wanted to get involved with Editing/Publishing. I told him how I had been told to not just to do a BA but he said it was nonsense, that in terms of getting into publishing a BA (especially with English and History subjects) is fine so I'm not worried about it at all. :)

Cool you'll get a BA (Bach Attendance) after 3 years, on average 12 contact hours a week!

Fraz, don't listen to idiotic comments like this. They're mostly made by BSc students who know nothing about working without a professor there to hold their hand.

Congrats on getting your course. I hope you find it as fulfilling as I am finding mine.

Fraz, don't listen to idiotic comments like this. They're mostly made by BSc students who know nothing about working without a professor there to hold their hand.

The man speaks the truth Fraz. I've never worked harder than I have over the last two years (I'm a Pols/History double major).

The best thing I was ever told is that what you get out of a BA is what you put into it. Work hard and opportunities will open up, both for further study and outside employment.

Congratulations and good luck!

I got into my first preference - Arts at La Trobe! Woot! I'm stoked :D

Ah congrats mate! I have just transfered from Arts into a Bachelor of Media Studies, which is what i intended to achieve after completing my first year of Arts at La Trobe. Don't worry about what other people say you'll enjoy it! :thumbsu:

Yeah do what you enjoy, don't let people talk you out of it. People told me that about my course too!! Still trying to tell me I'm doing the wrong course!! I like my course though so, its all good.

Woo got into Batch of Art at deakin, going to do Journalism and Public Relations double (is it possible)

Thanks for all of your kind words and advice everyone. It's much appreciated :) I didn't realised there was this sort of "stigma" attached to BAs before I mentioned I was planning on doing it on another forum. Oh well, I think it's the right thing for me so that's all that matters I suppose...

Congrats rizzo :thumbsu: I was originally planning on doing a bachelor of journalism (at RMIT) but then decided it wasn't for me so I changed my prefs. Hope it all goes well for you :)

Edit: WaLkEr_ThE_StAr, if you don't mind me asking, what subjects did you do when you were doing a BA at La Trobe? Any advice on who the good/bad lectures are,any other tips, etc?

Thanks for all of your kind words and advice everyone. It's much appreciated :) I didn't realised there was this sort of "stigma" attached to BAs before I mentioned I was planning on doing it on another forum. Oh well, I think it's the right thing for me so that's all that matters I suppose...

Congrats rizzo :thumbsu: I was originally planning on doing a bachelor of journalism (at RMIT) but then decided it wasn't for me so I changed my prefs. Hope it all goes well for you :)

Edit: WaLkEr_ThE_StAr, if you don't mind me asking, what subjects did you do when you were doing a BA at La Trobe? Any advice on who the good/bad lectures are,any other tips, etc?

Congrats to you to Fraz!
DO you no if you cant make the sign up how you go about registering?

Thanks!
I'm pretty sure you can send a proxy - someone to enroll for you - if you can't make it on enrollment day. There would probably be some kind of form that you have to fill in to do this.
Maybe try the Deakin website for any information? I'm sure they'd have a section on enrollment. Also there'll be info about it when you recieve your pack in the next couple of days about enrolling :)

Wrong. I have a Bach of Arts and know what its like. Its great with 12 contact hours. Days off a plenty, meaning heaps of time to check out the talent on offer particularly in the warmer months.

Got into my first preference Commerce/Law at deakin, expecting a massive workload but its what i want to do so hopefully all will go fine

I did a BA and I haven't really had a hard time getting a job doing what I wanted to do. I did a BA majoring in Political Science and Journalism fwiw.

Its what you make it Fraz. Good luck! ;)

Wrong. I have a Bach of Arts and know what its like. Its great with 12 contact hours. Days off a plenty, meaning heaps of time to check out the talent on offer particularly in the warmer months.

Well, there are some that have good BAs and some that don't. That's generally dependent on whether they actually work or whether they treat it as a 'Bachelor of Attendance'.

yep agreed. i remember in first year in politics you get a mark for attending. but i think thats common across all subjects in different faculties given attendance is used if you get 49% in the final exam. thus good attendance would bump the mark to a 50%, and a pass.

an arts degree is a good one. it gives a "roundedness" that others dont. i learnt Chinese at uni and it is helping my business now.

in the end its all dependant on what the student makes of it.