US Holiday

Hi guys.

Planning a trip to the US in October, have got most of it down but am sticking a bit on Las Vegas.

I turn 19 during our trip, and we are extremely keen on spending my birthday in Vegas.

Anyone who's been there/lives there, do you have any idea if a 19 year old has any chance of going anywhere in Vegas? Casinos etc?

You have no choice but to walk through gaming areas to get to other parts of hotels. You can't loiter in gaming areas though.

I took my 15 year old daughter last year and we wandered through plenty of casinos, just to check out their foyers, shops and restaurants.

Around the middle of the strip, there are outdoor bar areas with people selling things, live bands playing and large crowds gathered just enjoying the atmosphere.

You can also go to see many shows. In fact, alcohol and gambling is the only issue really. Even more adult shows are 18+.

Just found this:

http://www.vegas.com/traveltips/guide/crowd.html

If you don't mind just checking out the sights and the sounds (and it is a genuinely exciting atmosphere even sober), rather than being in a crowded night club, where only the accents are different to what you find anywhere in the world, then I reckon they have you covered.

You have no choice but to walk through gaming areas to get to other parts of hotels. You can't loiter in gaming areas though.

I took my 15 year old daughter last year and we wandered through plenty of casinos, just to check out their foyers, shops and restaurants.

Around the middle of the strip, there are outdoor bar areas with people selling things, live bands playing and large crowds gathered just enjoying the atmosphere.

You can also go to see many shows. In fact, alcohol and gambling is the only issue really. Even more adult shows are 18+.

Just found this:

http://www.vegas.com/traveltips/guide/crowd.html

If you don't mind just checking out the sights and the sounds (and it is a genuinely exciting atmosphere even sober), rather than being in a crowded night club, where only the accents are different to what you find anywhere in the world, then I reckon they have you covered.

Sounds interesting, really.

The flipside being that we plan to do SOME gambling and SOME drinking, at least. It is a birthday, after all. Any chance? At all? I would be travelling with overage people.

Well my group was too old to get carded, and my daughter didn't go near the bars or casinos so I don't know how gung ho they are, but I imagine they will card anybody youngish looking over the bar.

I never noticed anybody approaching anybody carding them on the streets, and yes you can walk down the strip with thousands of other people carrying a beer or a yard glass sized cocktail. I don't think I saw a police presence at all, but it is pretty safe so they must be there somewhere.

I suspect drinking you will get away with in lots of different places or ways, but inside you have more chance in the big casinos and very little chance in the clubs. On the streets, unless you drew attention to yourself, you would be very unlucky.

Given you can find pokies in the bloody airport greeting you when you get off the plane or sending you off broker than when you came, and even in some convenience stores and the like, if you want to gamble, you are going to gamble. Win though, and you will need someone 21 or over to collect for you, and even then, I think most places would have video surveillance to check it out if they were remotely suspicious.

Bugger it, I'm not shaving for 2 months.

I'll get in with a beard.

Actually, did you have to provide legal ID? A mate who goes to college in LA said that in Vegas, they don't accept foreign identification.

We never got carded for gambling or alcohol, but certainly a passport would be good enough anywhere in the world.

I know all the big car hire places will accept an Australian license without having to get an international transcript so don't see why it would be any different partying in Vegas. Never encountered it.

Actually, did you have to provide legal ID? A mate who goes to college in LA said that in Vegas, they don't accept foreign identification.

I got carded whilst playing Roulette.

Had no problems with showing my drivers license.

The funny thing about the states is, you can get into a strip if your over 18 but your not allowed to drink.

They also have a general rule of thumb that they will ask everyone who looks under 27 years of age. Drinking, Gambling and nudie bars need ID.

Nice sig.

Looks like I'm going to have to get a form of ID made up.

I got asked for ID at most places but not all, and I look young... I think they're a bit more easy going in Vegas, if you look around 20ish you shoud be fine. In general in America I got asked about 80% of the time although I did look around 17-18 ish when I went.

Then again, I have no idea why, but at the Yankees game I was siting in front of someone who got asked for ID and he was about 40 years old.. Dont know what that was about.

Has anyone done a spring break in Cancun or Florida? I am very keen for a week! Leaning towards Cancun atm!

I got asked for ID at most places but not all, and I look young... I think they're a bit more easy going in Vegas, if you look around 20ish you shoud be fine. In general in America I got asked about 80% of the time although I did look around 17-18 ish when I went.

Then again, I have no idea why, but at the Yankees game I was siting in front of someone who got asked for ID and he was about 40 years old.. Dont know what that was about.

Some places insist onseeing all ids regardless of how old you look - its the company policy. A couple of months ago i was asked for my ID and it was the first time it have ever happened to me in my life ( and i am over 40).

So always have one on you.

Hi guys.

Planning a trip to the US in October, have got most of it down but am sticking a bit on Las Vegas.

I turn 19 during our trip, and we are extremely keen on spending my birthday in Vegas.

Anyone who's been there/lives there, do you have any idea if a 19 year old has any chance of going anywhere in Vegas? Casinos etc?

I was in Vegas over a month ago. I am 26 and was asked for it quite a lot. at New York-New York one dealer didn't accept our driver's licenses so we had to go get a security pass or some shit. I had a beard and shaved head over there, looked my age plus more that's for sure. Forget getting a drink for yourself as they will definitely ask for your ID.

Some places insist onseeing all ids regardless of how old you look - its the company policy. A couple of monts ago i ask for my ID and it was the first time it have ever happened to me in my life ( and i am over 40).

So always have one on you.

Basically at every restaurant we went to in the states, we would look over and there would be 50 year olds pulling their ID's out of their wallets for some 20 year old waitress!

So I am heading to Philly from NY for Eagles vs Ravens pre season NFL on August 11th... Has anyone had any experience travelling by train from NY to Philly?

I need to get from 30th St station to Lincoln Field and return after the game.. any advice would be appreciated greatly :thumbsu:

You are better off driving down the New Jersey Turnpike to Philly. Just make sure you are tuned to 1010 WINS for the latest traffic and transit on the ones. After exit 7 or 6, switch it to 1060 KYW for traffic in Philly and South Jersey.

Get off Exit 3 of the New Jersey Turnpike on to Route 168. Turn a slight right on the Southbound Blackhorse Pike. Merge on top of I-295 South. Follow signs to Walt Whitman Bridge. After Crossing Walt Whitman Bridge, take I-76 to exit 349, Broad Street Exit. Make left onto Broad Street as you come off the exit. Follow signs into stadium parking.

If you prefer to take a train into 30th Street Station, take a PATH train from Pen Station in Manhattan into Penn Station in Newark. Take the PATH light rail into Newark Airport. Amtrak has trains at Newark airport that go into Philly.

You are better off driving down the New Jersey Turnpike to Philly. Just make sure you are tuned to 1010 WINS for the latest traffic and transit on the ones. After exit 7 or 6, switch it to 1060 KYW for traffic in Philly and South Jersey.

Get off Exit 3 of the New Jersey Turnpike on to Route 168. Turn a slight right on the Southbound Blackhorse Pike. Merge on top of I-295 South. Follow signs to Walt Whitman Bridge. After Crossing Walt Whitman Bridge, take I-76 to exit 349, Broad Street Exit. Make left onto Broad Street as you come off the exit. Follow signs into stadium parking.

If you prefer to take a train into 30th Street Station, take a PATH train from Pen Station in Manhattan into Penn Station in Newark. Take the PATH light rail into Newark Airport. Amtrak has trains at Newark airport that go into Philly.

Or you could just take the amtrak from penn station (NY) to Philly - much easier.

Basically at every restaurant we went to in the states, we would look over and there would be 50 year olds pulling their ID's out of their wallets for some 20 year old waitress!

I live in the States and it gets to be a pain in the arse sometimes, but deal with it (I'm late 20s). But asking ID from people that are clearly 40+ is just moronic.

Changing the drinking age to 18 over here would eliminate a lot of this nonsense, but would probably cause other problems in the process.

Rofl. You are kidding me!!!!

I get shitty being asked for my ID here, am I'm 30 (but I do look young for my age). Still ffs, I dont look under 18!!!

What a complete utter waste of time.

Rofl. You are kidding me!!!!

I get shitty being asked for my ID here, am I'm 30 (but I do look young for my age). Still ffs, I dont look under 18!!!

What a complete utter waste of time.

I got called for ID and I'm in my forties plus I have a no 1 hair cut (and my hair is grey/white). I tell them you have got to be kidding and they say no with a straight face!

So what happens in the instance- you being over 40 and assuming you dont need an ID, didnt bring one?

They refuse service/ to let you in? Beyond stupid...

Rolf, would love to see like a 90 year old rock up, try to get in without an ID. Hmmmmm.. maybe they just look old for their age, but they're still under 21. :rolleyes::D

They didn't accept my driver license in Boston on christmas night when we went out for drinks. I had to go back to the hostel and get my passport. Luckily the hostel was a 10 minute walk down the street.

Hello again everyone, last year the wife and I went to LA, Las Vegas and San Francisco and this thread was so much help for advice and tips so I thought I would come back on again and ask for some more tips, as the wife and I are doing a cruise to Hawaii in March next year.

So any tips or advice of things to do or not do in Honolulu would be much appreciated.

Thanks again