dylan123

Rather than resume when the Crows confront Carlton at Visy Park on Friday, van Berlo - who has battled a debilitating back ailment throughout pre-season - is likely to line-up in South Adelaide's reserves at Noarlunga.Since undergoing surgery on his injury more than a week ago, van Berlo has reported noticeable improvement in reaching for high balls and kicking long distances at training.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/van-berlo-back-on-track/story-e6frf9jf-1225838834728

Its good to hear that he has managed to do a full training session and pull up well from it, with any luck he will play on the weekend and pull up well from the match afterward.

I posted a description of a procedure my Dad had for his back ...it involved covering the nerve . No structural damage but the nerve being exposed caused him pain. He is fine now ...hope VB was in the same boat - and all will be good now. :thumbsu:

I did hear it was nerve damage. There was 1 in particular that had a tear in it, so they just chopped it altogether so he feels nothing in certain parts

Not really sure if this is possible (its second hand info) and it could be complete BS, but there it is

I thought they deadened a section of nerves so he no longer felt pain from a fracture in a vertabre in his back? I think the vertabre has to break clean before it can heal and there is no real danger from it and that the pain was just an uneeded side affect. *shrugs* As long as he's playing and not dying!

You have tons of nerves, so deadening a few won't be a problem. I expect it is a very small area he can't feel, and probably it's inside him (ie not his skin).

I thought they deadened a section of nerves so he no longer felt pain from a fracture in a vertabre in his back? I think the vertabre has to break clean before it can heal and there is no real danger from it and that the pain was just an uneeded side affect. *shrugs* As long as he's playing and not dying!
Why would it have to break the whole way through? If you have a vertabre in your spine that is snapped in half... no way you are playing AFL for a while.

Playing with a stress fracture... maybe. It must be healed, just not quite right.

I'm not sure. I've heard a few different things, probably pieced them together incorrectly. Would be good to get a clear answer.

I like this story even more -

AFL.com article on Crows coming back from injury

ADELAIDE assistant coach Ben Hart is confident the club’s injury cloud is starting to lift, with four key players back in the mix for round one.

Midfielder Nathan van Berlo (back), utility James Sellar (hand) and forwards Brett Burton (knee) and Chris Knights (foot) are all making good progress in their rehabilitation from injury, and could be welcome inclusions for the club’s clash with Fremantle on March 28

That's great news about Knights and Burton. I didn't think they would be ready until round 3 at the earliest. I'm starting to feel a bit worried about Porplyzia's injury though. He should be back into full training by now and by the looks of things will miss round 1. Hopefully it's not an on-going injury because I think he will be in the top 5 most important players for us this year.

It will be so great to have VB back in the side. Such a safe option across half back and i think we missed him terribly when he is out!!!

Provides on-field leadership and an example of hard work. Not to mention he can really turn it on. Also a great defensive option if needed. Will be WELCOMED back.

Yeah there have been a few occasions where the Crows have been really flat and he's done something really courageous to win the ball and it's fired the team up. Such a great leader. As WALL-e said when he fires up and gets 30+ possessions he really adds to our midfield too.

...and he (van Berlo) can be an exceptional user of the footy also. How often has he pinpointed a team mates right nipple from 30 meters away with a flat sharp pass when there is peak hour like traffic around!

BTW, someone on another thread questioned Edwards disposal. I believe in constructive and accurate criticism, but would have to say this is not an accurate overall picture. If Edwards burnt a bit of the ball in last years final v Collingwood that is an exception. McLeod's disposal was also uncharacteristically off at times that night, yet overall macca is regarded as one of the better disposals in the game. I rate Edwards right up there with his brother in law! In fact, when I am watching the Crow's and Edwards gets the ball, I say 'relax, it's in good hands'. He only rarely lets me down!

I would say that Crow's players whose disposal is somewhat deficient are Cook, whose kick by all accounts is improving (and has pace as a redeeming feature to compensate), Symes, Young who as his name suggests has time on his side and who is also improving, Moran, which is understandable considering his limited aussie rules
background and who is also improving, and Kurt Tippet, who is also improving and when he gets it right could well be anything!

Overall the Crows are a very skilled side and this is one aspect of the game that makes them a joy to watch, without being blind to those for whom skill is still a work area. There were those who criticised Knights disposal some time ago, but are less vocal regrding that aspect of his game now! For me, Knights always showed potential in this area at trial games and SANFL level and just needed his confidence to grow at AFl level before we would see what he could do!

VB was listed in South's League side. Their game started at 2.10. Anyone heard how he went/is going, depending on which half he plays?

There was a bit of footage of him on Sports Tonight a couple minutes ago. So he played at least and they said he got through the game. To what extent though I have no idea.

...and he (van Berlo) can be an exceptional user of the footy also. How often has he pinpointed a team mates right nipple from 30 meters away with a flat sharp pass when there is peak hour like traffic around!

how often, not very.

for all the good things he brings, his foot skills are a major area for improvement.

There was a bit of footage of him on Sports Tonight a couple minutes ago. So he played at least and they said he got through the game. To what extent though I have no idea.
Main thing is that he got through the game unscathed, hopefully pulls up alright tomorrow, and then I have a sneaky feeling we could see him round 1.:thumbsu: Certainly a player I wasn't expecting back to atleast rounds 4 or 5, so this is a bonus.

Know one of the blokes that umpired this game. Got a bit of an update on it from him.

van Berlo clearly stood out as being a level above everyone else on the field. Was running incredibily hard to make positions, and just generally did everything youd expect of a genuine AFL player in the SANFL. Magpies seemed to want to test him out a little bit physically, but he showed no signs of being ginger, and it backfired a little bit on them... apparently he applied a ripper of a tackle on some poor kid, absolutely crunched him.

Sounded like good signs.

He wasnt so complimentary on Talia's game though.

Know one of the blokes that umpired this game. Got a bit of an update on it from him.

van Berlo clearly stood out as being a level above everyone else on the field. Was running incredibily hard to make positions, and just generally did everything youd expect of a genuine AFL player in the SANFL. Magpies seemed to want to test him out a little bit physically, but he showed no signs of being ginger, and it backfired a little bit on them... apparently he applied a ripper of a tackle on some poor kid, absolutely crunched him.

Sounded like good signs.

Thanks. That's good news on VB.

Sounded like good signs.

Thanks mate - great news. Hope he pulled up well today and plays round 1.

Very good news, If he pulls up alright will we play him again this weekend in a SANFL match?