Toast VFL Flag!!!!!!!

What a passionate crowd today! I moved from level 2 down to level 1 to get amongst it and the noise was remarkable. The guy sitting next to me started crying after Jones goal in the last quarter - a real Scray. I wish I could bottle that stuff and let it out during our AFL games. Love the Dogs. GO SCRAYS!!!!!

I'd love to see that passion come out in similar circumstances at the end of an AFL day gf.

Massive pat on the back to Garlick, Gordon and co too. They deserve massive kudos for having the courage to introduce a standalone team, knowing it would cost $$$ in the short term, but hopefully deliver results in the longer term.

Huge boost for the philosophy and development the club is looking to introduce. Long may it bear fruit !!

Talia not getting the credit for a brilliant game as well by far our best defender.

That's what I thought after the game. Doesn't it go for defenders, if you can't particularly notice them they're doing everything right? Talia did his job probably better than anyone else out there, quietly and efficiently. Not that Goodes and Jong didn't play extremely well, but Talia held up very well without his partner in crime Fletcher Roberts.

Yep. And Mark Austin actually played an alright game, but Young as the third tall had a stinker and the rest of the defence was a bit iffy, a couple of clangers here and there, and he held it together. I also noticed a couple of Box Hill key goals at about the 20 minute mark of the third was when he was off having a breather.

Talia's been just as big as a key as anyone, save maybe Goodes, in the VFL team this year.

Pete from RadioPeesAndPoos (3WBC) here - though personally I can't stand the Hawks :p

How great it was to see a fairytale finish to the 2014 VFL season - well bloody deserved!

MASSIVE pat on the back for the Footscray supporters unlike other AFL clubs, Doggies fans showed up in bloody good numbers throughout the whole VFL finals. 7,000 at Whitten Oval, 7,000 at North Port Oval and nearly 24,000 at Etihad. You brought the old VFA feeling back to the comp :)
As a 4th generation williamstown supporter and WB supporter as much as I would have loved williamstown in it, this was 2nd best result for me. Being there and seeing the emotion on the faces of bulldogs fans young and old was amazing.

As for the seagulls we'll be back in 2015, just shows how hard it Is for stand alone clubs

Best day at the footy in ages. Loved the roar from the crowd as we whipped the boys home. Loved the Footscray chant. Loved the feeling of the ground heaving, stark contrast to when we get 20,000 there to AFL games. Wouldn't it be awesome if footy was more like that more often? Ah well, just enjoy it for now.

Pete from RadioPeesAndPoos (3WBC) here - though personally I can't stand the Hawks :p

How great it was to see a fairytale finish to the 2014 VFL season - well bloody deserved!

MASSIVE pat on the back for the Footscray supporters unlike other AFL clubs, Doggies fans showed up in bloody good numbers throughout the whole VFL finals. 7,000 at Whitten Oval, 7,000 at North Port Oval and nearly 24,000 at Etihad. You brought the old VFA feeling back to the comp :)
Hey now, hey now CrowdedHouse , don't dream it's over...

It was over last week when your Doggies knocked out my Borough :(

Still, would rather a real passionate and fair dinkum club like yours win the flag, rather than those flogs in Brown and Gold!

Just got home, what a game, noise and feeling amazing, huge crowd, a lot of character coming back from 3 goals down in the last.
Great work by the handful of players that played that stuck around and mixed with the crowd before heading into the rooms, also well done to Stringer Bonts and Roughie signing massive amounts of signatures and taking massive amounts of photos with fans, some senior guys could learn off those guys.

Premiers!!!

I'll be humble here - we don't know whether that was because the AFL team were out of the Finals. Mind you, I'd like to think that we'd still come and cheer on the VFL team when the seniors are still in competition.

That said, it was good to see the massive fan involvement even before September - especially the first match against Richmond and all the double-headers.

It was over last week when your Doggies knocked out my Borough :(

Still, would rather a real passionate and fair dinkum club like yours win the flag, rather than those flogs in Brown and Gold!
I hated leaving north port oval last week with those flogs banging on about Box Hill

Btw how do you think you guys will go next year? A few big losses to the team

Yep. And Mark Austin actually played an alright game, but Young as the third tall had a stinker and the rest of the defence was a bit iffy, a couple of clangers here and there, and he held it together. I also noticed a couple of Box Hill key goals at about the 20 minute mark of the third was when he was off having a breather.

Talia's been just as big as a key as anyone, save maybe Goodes, in the VFL team this year.

I think what won me over most about Talia was that he seemed to get better when the pressure was on; I've assembled a couple of pics from the replay...

0qjV93Y.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pKbRp2F.png

(Note the time/score of both of these)

I'll be damned if Talia isn't in that round 1 team next season.

Just a side note, but is this the first time the Club has used the old tri-colour shield logo for the Footscray Bulldogs? The only other source I know of that has a logo specifically for Footscray (the VFL score site) uses the oval robodog. It's nice if they're doing this permanently - another level added to the heritage observed by the team.

Footscray%20Flag%20Memorabilia.png

Fantastic day at the football, loudest pro Footscray I can remember at Etihad stadium.

How good was it to sing Sons of the West with 20,000 people.

Now bring on the main stage

Showed that to my 89 year old mother this morning. Even though she knows "about" footy, she has no real idea. I signed her up as a member for a few years last decade. As I've explained elsewhere, she and my father attended a match at the Western Oval back in May 1979 against South Melbourne. As a fellow Cubs fan, she understands the pain of following a club like the Bulldogs. Imagine living 89 years and following a team, never seeing then win the ultimate prize.:(

I still have 27 years to go for either a Cubs or Bulldogs championship to catch up to her. I live in hope, but I don't think I'll make it that long, so the teams better get going pretty soon!:p

Fantastic game & result! I was there. Saw Bulldog coloured tickertape for the first time in my 50 years!!!

HOPE
Hard work
Optimism
Persistence
?

Please feel free to add!

Great to be outnumbering the opposition crowd wise for once.

Had a great day, forgive me.

I love this CLUB. (Occassionally ;-))
Etihad?

I can see why they've played Talia and Roberts together this year. It was a shame to see Fletch out with a shoulder, but if my suspicions are correct that duo will be the next WB FB/CHB pair.