benrick

G'day guys, unfortunately missed the VFL match today, just wondering if we won and who played well and who was ****

cheers

Played North Ballarat at the Northern Oval.

Have no idea on the result, though. I had to work a game of my own for the Ballarat Courier on Saturday, so that took precedence.

I'll try and find out later today.

For those who missed it, it was The ABC's live match of the round, so I'm sure Fox Footy will re-air it later in the week.

VFL Round 5 Results

Geelong narrowly lost to North Ballarat by three points.

North Ballarat 12.10 (82)
Geelong 11.13 (79)

North Ballarat
Goals: Eccles 3, McCorkell 2, Bye 2, Tuckey, Hutchinson, Frith, Whyman, McLean.
Best: Field, Eccles, McCorkell, Bye, McLean, Greig.

Goals: Thurley 3, Allan 2, S. Byrnes 2, Lonergan 2, McCarthy 2.
Best: Bartel, Callan, Rooke, Spriggs, Koulouriotis.

Article from the Sunday editions of The Age:

Brave Roosters outlast the battling Cats -- The Sunday Age

Brave Roosters outlast the battling Cats

By Ross Booth
May 2, 2004

North Ballarat hung on in a desperate final quarter to beat Geelong by three points in wintry conditions at Ballarat's Northern Oval yesterday, 12.10 (82) to 11.13 (79).

The Roosters led by 13 points at three-quarter-time, but the Cats had the slight breeze in the last quarter. Geelong kicked the first three goals and hit the front midway through the term and looked to be heading for a win.

But North Ballarat refused to lie down and a strong mark and goal by Andrew McLean at the 20 minute mark gave the Roosters the lead by three points. The last 10 minutes were a dour slog with neither team able to score, leaving North Ballarat to claim a brave victory.

The undermanned Roosters team was small compared with Geelong, but wet and windy conditions suited their midfield brigade led by Julian Field, Marc Greig, Andrew Eccles, Shane Hutchinson, and ruckman Nick Bye. Geelong was disappointing given its team included 15 senior-listed players.

In the conditions, the Cats had too many talls in their line-up, but were forced to do this given they play all their AFL-listed players before any VFL-listed or supplementary players can be selected.

Geelong's best players were not, unexpectedly, midfielders, too, led by James Bartel and captain James Byrne. The Cats have now won one of four, albeit an impressive 68-point triumph over Tasmania two weeks ago before last week's bye. North Ballarat has a 3-2 win-loss record, which includes a shock home loss to Frankston in round 1 and a thrashing by 77 points in Tasmania last week.

The Coburg Tigers won their fourth game in a row when they beat the Northern Bullants by 22 points at Cramer Street yesterday, 12.8 (80) to 7.16 (58). Ty Zantuck led the goal-scoring for the Tigers with six goals. Brad Fisher kicked three for the Bullants, who have lost four games in a row after defeating Geelong in round one.

TODAY'S SELECTIONS
WERRIBEE v Port Melbourne
Box Hill Hawks v SANDRINGHAM
Springvale Scorpions v FRANKSTON (3SER FM 97.7)
TASMANIA v Bendigo Bombers
Bye: Williamstown

Shannon Byrnes really impressed me with his game today, showed great pace across a ground that usually restricts speedsters like him. Add to that the 2 great roving goals he kicked.

Timmy Callan was a rock in defense, took some courageous marks and helped clear the ball out on many occassions. Perfect replacement for Sando.

I was pretty impressed with Jimmy Byrne, good in traffic I felt, and has reasonably good hand skills.

Lonergan took some good marks, though pity most were in defense and not up forward. His kicking is not bad at all for a tall bloke, though he needs to lead out of the forward 50 more often instead of wrestling to take contested marks in a one-on-one situation. Still hasn't got the body for it.

Cam Thurley looked dangerous when he had the ball, yet I wasn't impressed at all by his second effort attempts and one-percenters. Failed to give chase to his opponent on many occassions and gave away a silly 50 metre penalty.

Young Blake also impressed me early on in the ruck with his ability to hit the ball out to our advantage. If you look back at the tapes, you'll see he consistently got the upper hand in the ruck contests and forced the ball in our way.

Danny Byrne also impressed me with his speed and dash from the half back line and wing before kicking long to a contest. Would compliment the likes of Tenace, Wojcinski, S.Byrnes rather nicely.

Spencer and Allan didn't have their usual games. Spencer especially didn't have a great influence, though I look forward to seeing him again. Allan got a fair bit of the pill and kicked some nice goals, but wasn't as good as previous weeks methinks.

Rooke was OK, but nothing too special to warrant a call-back straight away. Took some good grabs and made some good spoils, but still made some simple mistakes, the same type that cost him his place in the seniors.

McCarthy took some good grabs but again, nothing that should warrant him a place in the seniors again.

It was also the first time I had seen Koula play, and I walked away a reasonably impressed guy. The one thing I notice about Koula is that he tends to hurriedly snap the ball on his boot, and although this helped in the centre clearences, often his kick was an awkward one and tumbled along the ground (which was, in these conditions, even harder for players to pick up).

Foster had an up and down game. He was fairly solid in defence and beat his opponent convincingly, but did some shockingly stupid things. Gave away a 50m penalty that cost us a goal, and handballed to Jim Bartel in the middle of a pack of 3 Roosters. That cost us a goal too.

Umpiring was of a very low standard as usual, and as usual all the dodgy calls went against us. I remember about three imaginary Centre square ruck infringements that went against us in the space of about five minutes during the 3rd.

Was impressed by big Jeff Smith. Although he didn't see a lot of the ball, he gave his opponent a towelling and fought hard at ground level. Loats, Slade and Steve Johnson coming back from injury didn't do a lot; Slade got a few nice touches in the 1st but sat out the rest of the game, Loats is hopeless and Johnno showed glimpses of good form in the 2nd half. I reckon if Slade had played the last 15 minutes of the match his fresh legs might have made a difference but I kind of understand not wanting to risk his dodgy pelvis too soon.

Foster had an up and down game. He was fairly solid in defence and beat his opponent convincingly, but did some shockingly stupid things. Gave away a 50m penalty that cost us a goal, and handballed to Jim Bartel in the middle of a pack of 3 Roosters. That cost us a goal too.

Surely you jest? Foster too often left his opponent a big lead and consequently, allowed his man to mark the ball with relative ease. His defense was poor overall and that handball to Bartel was the iceing to a poor day.

Was impressed by big Jeff Smith. Although he didn't see a lot of the ball, he gave his opponent a towelling and fought hard at ground level.

Umm...no

Loats, Slade and Steve Johnson coming back from injury didn't do a lot; Slade got a few nice touches in the 1st but sat out the rest of the game, Loats is hopeless and Johnno showed glimpses of good form in the 2nd half. I reckon if Slade had played the last 15 minutes of the match his fresh legs might have made a difference but I kind of understand not wanting to risk his dodgy pelvis too soon.

Didn't expect alot from the trio, but here you claim Loats is hopeless? For a guy that's coming back from a knee injury, and playing in weather widely deemed unsuitable for big men like him, you should be just happy he came out unscathed. If Loats is hopeless then I'd hate to see what you reckon of Chambers and Smith.

Originally posted by you_idiot
VFL Round 5 Results

Geelong narrowly lost to North Ballarat by three points.

North Ballarat 12.10 (82)
Geelong 11.13 (79)

North Ballarat
Goals: Eccles 3, McCorkell 2, Bye 2, Tuckey, Hutchinson, Frith, Whyman, McLean.
Best: Field, Eccles, McCorkell, Bye, McLean, Greig.

Goals: Thurley 3, Allan 2, S. Byrnes 2, Lonergan 2, McCarthy 2.
Best: Bartel, Callan, Rooke, Spriggs, Koulouriotis.
I watched this on tv. Great contest.
Noticed that David Loats was playing for the Geelong team. Good to see that he is on his way back from injury.

you claim Loats is hopeless? For a guy that's coming back from a knee injury, and playing in weather widely deemed unsuitable for big men like him, you should be just happy he came out unscathed. If Loats is hopeless then I'd hate to see what you reckon of Chambers and Smith.
Agree 100%. Unless you've had a knee injury it's impossible to empathise. It takes a long time to feel stable again. I reckon, given the weather, they should have given him another week or so.

Originally posted by GeeCat
you claim Loats is hopeless?

Absolutely. I didn't think much of him at Hawthorn, wasn't impressed with his efforts in the Wizzie cup either. He's as untalented as Paul Chambers, and gutless to boot. At least Unco shows a bit of courage. I can understand Loats not being able to move quickly or move sideways cos of his knee trouble, but even taking that into account there's no way you can excuse his unwillingness to run at the ball. I think he's a total dud.

As for Foster, he's in the same boat as Chambers. Totally inept, but he's got a bit of guts. Gotta give him that.