Votes v Dogs

Well I saw it quite differently, but it was that sort of game I guess.

5. J Carr
4. Mundy
3. Haselby
2. Pavlich
1. Headland

Unlucky Gilmore (good until injured), Johnno.

Yeah, Medders missed his chances but had a real go.

Rob said:
You have got to be joking IP.....5 behinds means 5 clangers.

Forgot JCarr. :o

Can I slot him in after Mundy...? It pushes Medders out... will edit.

Thought Medders had a red hot go. Better than McPharlin. Better than Jeffrey. Better than whoever else we had up forward (except Pav). Just a shame that the guy who was one of our most deadly kicks has, for some reason, lost his radar a bit this year. :thumbsd:

5 j Carr
4 Mundy
3 Pav
2 Johnno
1 Medhurst.... Heaps of clangers. But all in all he played a good game.

ImperialPurple said:

Thought Medders had a red hot go. Better than McPharlin. Better than Jeffrey. Better than whoever else we had up forward (except Pav). Just a shame that the guy who was one of our most deadly kicks has, for some reason, lost his radar a bit this year. :thumbsd:

I thought he had a red hot go too , but poor conversion is poor footy.

Hope he gets his radar working soon because it probably cost us the 4 points today.

5 Mundy (his best game for the year by far)
4 Josh Carr
3 Hasleby
2 Headland
1 Walker

ImperialPurple said:

Can I slot him in after Mundy...? It pushes Medders out... will edit.

I agree, aside from his kicking he looked pretty good. But the fact remains he blew a couple of deadset gimme shots on goal and probably should have slotted at least 1 of the others. These probably cost us the game, or at least a fair dinkum crack at it.

If he was a defender and his kicking cost 5 goals, would you be giving him votes?

From a dogs supporter at the game, I am surprised at all the votes for Pavlich. He must outweigh Morris by at least 15Kg and (from my perspective) wasn't really a dominant player. I dont get to see the Dockers much since leaving Perth (at the end of 2004) but Pavlich was a bit disappointing from my perspective - it seemed to me if he didn't mark it, it just didn't get it (though I would have to check the stats).

McPharlin was disappointing and seems lost in the forward line - although I understand he has missed some footy.

Medhurst tried hard, and a couple of his misses hit the post - he wasn't far away. Bad kicking is bad footy though, and if he kicks straight, you guys win. I am surprised to see him getting votes.

I thought Mundy was absolutely outstanding - clearly beat Johnson on the day - though Johnno still managed his usual 3 or 4 (although one was from a dubious free). Michael Johnson was also very good, though when he runs forward to a dangerous spot rather than to the wing he will become a better player. Good player in traffic - I wonder if he realises how big (and talented) he is.

Josh Carr and Haselby both fought pretty hard, but personally I thought Cooney was clearly the best player on the ground, and Westy was again outstanding.

Generally speaking, I was worried about Freo all day - with the structure you have (and the size you have) - a 'long, quick, direct' style of game would have put our defenders under the pump - Heck, a short, slow, indirect style put us under the pump until Chris Grant went back - but your players seemed under instruction not to play-on and not to kick to Pav/McPharlin other than on the lead. You have these guys and Farmer/Medhurst on the ground - I say roll the dice and use them.

Anyway, thanks for the game and good luck against the Catters.

Only saw highlights of the first quarter because it started at four here, but it looks like that would have been the best quarter to watch. Ah well.

5 - Mundy
4 - J.Carr
3- Johnson
2- Pavlich
1- Hasleby

5 - J.Carr
4 - Mundy
3- Johnson
2- Hasleby
1- Pavlich

I picked Pav in the top 5 but with a small question mark. I’m not sure how to say this with the correct diplomacy, but would anyone else agree that Pav looks a tad disinterested at times. I guess I notice this mostly in his second efforts or lack thereof. It’s like the weight of multiple defenders, poor delivery and constant scragging are starting to frustrate him to the point of disillusionment.

J. Carr: 41
Mundy: 40
Pavlich: 21
Johnson: 16
Haselby: 16
Headland: 6
Gilmore: 4
Macca: 3
Medhurst: 2
Parker: 1
Walker 1

----------------------------------------------

J Carr: 7
Mundy: 6
Pavlich: 5
Johnson: 4
Haselby: 3
Headland: 2
Gilmore: 1

That's great sabre - glad you're onto it. Not sure that tallied the votes from the week before (Rd 10 v Richmond), or even the week before that (Rd 9 v Brisbane). Our tally may be a little out of whack until we get up to date with those two. :)

ImperialPurple said:
That's great sabre - glad you're onto it. Not sure that tallied the votes from the week before (Rd 10 v Richmond), or even the week before that (Rd 9 v Brisbane). Our tally may be a little out of whack until we get up to date with those two. :)

Im onto it

ImperialPurple said:

Brisbane was taken care of.

But I had to go back and do Richmond...Allot more to tally when we win...

Slacker said:
I’m not sure how to say this with the correct diplomacy, but would anyone else agree that Pav looks a tad disinterested at times. I guess I notice this mostly in his second efforts or lack thereof. It’s like the weight of multiple defenders, poor delivery and constant scragging are starting to frustrate him to the point of disillusionment.

Made the same comment last week, he lacks second efforts and is playing in fits and starts. I reckon we need to put him in a locked room with Cookie and Macca, maybe a bit of urgency will re-enter his veins.