Walker - Have we found our forward?

Could this be the modern day Peter "The Buzz" Bosustow.

'bout the same height & weight. Loves a goal. Loves to fly. Good on the ground and fights like a terrier to keep it in the forward fifty.

Exciting times ahead.:thumbsu:
Just a little bit of what the Buzz had would be good, what i like about Walker playing forward is that he gives us some grunt, with Fev Wiggo and AW we have a forward line with options, that has to be better than what we have had of late.

I'm very happy to have Walker up forward, oposed to down back.

In the game these days you cant afford to turn over kicks coming out of the backline. Walker is known to shank more than the odd kick, and this leads to turnovers in the back half.

Having him up forward lets us use his natural talent and instinct, while reducing this possibility in the backline. Now that we have Bower and Waite, even Armfield running out of defence, Walks is no longer needed down there.

Walker only shanks when he's running too fast, generally coming out of the backline or down the wings.

If he plays in the forward line most of his kicks will be snaps or set shots which he is more than capable of :thumbsu:

Am absolutely stoked to see Walker back out there and playing good footy. :D

:D

Where was I? Ah yes, Walker makes for a very good forward. He's a difficult match up - strong overhead, has excellent pace and is as good as anyone his height when the ball hits the ground.

He is a ferocious competitor - will provide relentless pressure on the opposition coming out of defence and will also compete as if his life depends on it for every ground ball. There's not many footballers like him in the competition - is a similar type to Deledio, although doesn't have Deledio's footskills. I'd give Walker license to move throughout the forward half of the ground - his fitness is top notch and will run his opponent into the ground, plus is more than valuable up on the wings/flanks.

Two words for this thread on who he should model himself on

Ryan O'Keefe

C Ya

Good call Butchy. Gerard Healy said OTC tonight that he could play that sort of role. I really like the idea of Walker playing up forward, considering the strength of our mindfield now, and the fact that we have so many options down back.

Hmm...if Walker is discussed, might stay up to watch it. Was Carlton discussed early/late?

The best thing about Walker is that he is equally adept on the ground as in the air.

Fisher = very strong in the air; appallingly bad on the ground (often fumbling, losing his feet, ponderously slow etc)

Betts = good on the ground; very good overhead (but too short to provide a contest or take any meaningful pack marks inside 50).

Walker is tough at the footy, quick, has strong hands and has a touch of flair.

Just the player we need inside 50 to provide a truly dangerous foil for Fevola.

The opposition will have to put serious time into Walker, so instead of a largely useless dummy option that other teams largely ignore in their quest to double-team Fev (in the mould of a still-developing Hartlett or Edwards), the very presence of Walker in itself will assist our forward line.

Exciting times ahead...
Excellent points, totally agree and have mentioned it earlier this year that it doesn't really matter what size of player we have around Fevola as long as they require "urgent attention " just to allow Fevola to play 1 on 1 at least and not compete with defenders zoning off dud forwards who dont hurt the opposition!:thumbsu:

That's exactly what Walker provided on the weekend.

Aside the early stages of the game when port had free men behind the ball (which was really stupid as Waite ran riot), Fev was able to mostly play 1 out with his opponent, Fisher also is put into the game.

If it wasn't for inaccurate kicking Fev, Walker & Fisher could all have ended with 4+ goals each. Obviously we wont dominate games like that every game, but it was probably the best our forward line has functioned (structurally) since last year :thumbsu:

The good thing about Walker at present is that there was always pressure on him in the past to be our superstar midfielder and to play that role in the team. Now that we've got Judd and Gibbs ripping teams to shreads it leaves Walker to just play the game without any pressure on him to perform, and it's clear that he's enjoying it. Let's hope he can continue this form up forward because what he did on the weekend is the sort of stuff we desperately need.

Another piece of the puzzle unfolds. Walker's going to take mark of the year very soon. Armfield and Walker add heaps of pace to the side. I'm not sure whether we really need a big CHF anymore, we've stocked up the side with speedy mids who bypass that position altogether.

Armfield and Walker certainly do add pace, and the fact that Bentick has made way makes us alot quicker through midfield also!

Still need another key position forward however, although with Kruezer/Cloke spending more time up there it did make our forward line more potent.

I really like seeing Walker up forward. He can play to his strengths there. I have been waiting for the day when Carlton was strong enough in defence and the midfield so he could go back to the wing/HF.

He was having a good chat with my sister (Carlton fan) a couple of seasons back and he has had a bit of a struggle with confidence and Pagan didn't appear to help. If he is left to play his natural game up forward you will see the rise of an absolute gun forward.

Still need another key position forward however, although with Kruezer/Cloke spending more time up there it did make our forward line more potent.

With the resting ruckmen and Walker developing, the forward line is looking its most potent for years.

Would like to see the big guys work together a little better so that they don't crowd Fevola.

I also think Fisher will enjoy the luxury of being third or fourth tall.

Walker is a naturally attacking player, and will thrive in the forward half. His speed and leap add X-factor to our forward setup. His defensive pressure is excellent as well. He has developed into a very versatile player - can pretty much play anywhere. Massive upside. :)

Maybe we have got our selves abit of a Robert Murphey/ Steve Johnson.
Remember his Debut against the eagles. 26 touches and nearly mark of the year.
didnt watch the game on the weekend so cant really say much. but im from were Andrew is (Echuca) and in his younger days no one could catch him. In the Under 18's everyone was trying to tag him and catch him and the only way they could catch him is if they tripped him. Cant wait till he has a Big preseason and has no shoulder injuries.
But i do see him on the river some times doing wakeboarding and stuff behind the boat so lets just hope he dosent do a shoulder over summer.

Where are the "trade Walker" "he's a liability with his shoulder injuries" "he can't kick" "He cracked them with ratts cos he didnt get a game and he is a sook" people now........

The trade walker thread was around 40% in favour 60% against and now in this thread all people have said is how much of a superstar he is, either people have changed their mind after one game or have gone into hiding after his comeback.

Talk about knee jerk reaction, he plays a couple of good games and a real good game and suddenly he is Ryan O'Keefe, Steve Johnson, Motlop, Robbo.....Its from one extent to other.

Don't get me wrong I'm not a hater but really....its gone from one extent to the other. Footballers really shouldnt read papers or listen to anyones view but there own it would make your head explode.

Maybe I can put down my Walker Flag as people are finally coming on board -

How many games this year has he played?

Sheesh....!!

Pros:

a. He can mark. Maybe even take a flyer on occasion. Imagine that - a carlton forward actually marking the ball???
b. Can also crumb.
c. Is an aggresive, attacking player. Good quality in a forward.
d. Kicking at goal hides his major weakness (slighly suspect kicking - should no problems putting it through the sticks)

Untill now ive had him best suited to the wing. But would be very interested to see more of him up forward. Could slip under a few radars...

The good thing about Walker at present is that there was always pressure on him in the past to be our superstar midfielder and to play that role in the team. Now that we've got Judd and Gibbs ripping teams to shreads it leaves Walker to just play the game without any pressure on him to perform, and it's clear that he's enjoying it. Let's hope he can continue this form up forward because what he did on the weekend is the sort of stuff we desperately need.
Agreed, however if Walker plays up forward in a similar role to last week ongoing, the pressure will be just as high on him to perform as a goal kicker. Having said that ………….He can take it ………… Go Walks, Go Blues………….Against North - Walker for 5 (No Pressure)!

There is no one that i can think of that will be able to man up on him from Norths back line?
1. His pace
2. His explosive leading
3. He dosnt always have to go up for the mark can crumb with eddie.

Or since Wells has had a good past month of footy give walker the tagging job on him or let them both go head to head on the wing.