Walters playing for free kicks too often?

• Thread starter Thread starter tek87

Last year the rules regarding holding the ball worked against us. The ball carrier had more time allowing him to take the tackle and move it on before the whistle blew. This affected our manic pressure and in turn our turnovers, The new interpretation helps us. So too has the development of our midfield in being able to stand up in tackles.

I think last years interpretations were designed to deter us from seeing a tacklefest. With our early exit last year the focus hasn't been on our "negative" game plan and has created a situation in which we may flourish.

He ha ls always been our worst at staging. Umpires are on to him as I reckon he has missed out on a couple of free kicks Did to reputation.

His duck on Selwood and hands off to Hill who hit Taberner for a goal against the cats was sublime though! A good duck!
Walters teaching Selwood how to duck

Ducking has always been a pert of footy. Ducking and pleading for a free is lame, I think he is a ducking/weaving demon and no where in the lame category. Nor does he duck/push a tackle arm higher as is the current slimy tactic.

Who wouldn't take a ducking free in the goal square to win a grand final 5 point down with a minute to go .This loathing of ducking for a free is just a little bit hypocritical.:rolleyes:

It would sour the victory somewhat if the player had deliberately played for a free kick.

Knowing our luck, the umpire would pay holding the ball, giving the game to the opposition.

Better not to play for the free kick. Make the umpire aware when you're infringed, sure.

And that was a lovely duck by Walters under Selwoods arm to set up a goal. Not done for free kicks at all.

Hate it.

Takes away all the good he does when he flops or looks straight at the ump for something that's not there.

I don't know why people are saying ducking is the worst it's ever been. Watching the Demolition Derby the other night and that little staging turd Philip Matera was worse than a billion Selwoods, and he got away with it.

I don't like ducking, but you are right if it works do it. BUT IT IS NOT ****ING WORKING. He is good enough to just play the ball and playing the ball should mean he gets more frees that he is getting now.

A lot of hypocrisy by those defending Walters ducking saying its part of the game. If that's the case I don't see what right you have in having a go at the Selwoods or Shuey when they inevitably play for a free.

Its been in the game forever.Around the neck is a free kick.End of story. The rule or tackling technique needs to change if you want it out of the game.

You're sitting there watching a spectacle of the best of the best.Seeing the game ebb and flow with sublime skills pushing it fluidly through different areas of the ground.Skills only a well drilled team could master, applying the game plan and using structures to counter the opposition... Then Nek Minnit some flog goes and throws his head back/drops like he has been shot by a .308 and gets a shot on goal.

Its a FN disgrace and a blight on the game.

Its been in the game forever.Around the neck is a free kick.End of story. The rule or tackling technique needs to change if you want it out of the game.

Its not about the technique of tackling, its about accentuating any contact or throwing your arms back when there is little contact. Its not always about high contact, i can't stand the feigning that a player has been held without the ball.
AAACockburn's post pretty much nails it.

You're sitting there watching a spectacle of the best of the best.Seeing the game ebb and flow with sublime skills pushing it fluidly through different areas of the ground.Skills only a well drilled team could master, applying the game plan and using structures to counter the opposition... Then Nek Minnit some flog goes and throws his head back/drops like he has been shot by a .308 and gets a shot on goal.

Its a FN disgrace and a blight on the game.

If there is a rule to be exploited and a free kick is in the offing all players will push the boundaries to achieve the win.Its the same as walking in cricket or appealing when the fielding team know its not out.Its a little naive to think these highly trained athletes with a high level of competitive spirit are not going to do any thing it takes to get the win.

I think you're missing the argument. What I'm saying is that the act of playing for free kicks is a blight on the game. Im not saying players won't do it due to the potential rewards.

Its just a very average way to play the game in my opinion. As to your point of appealing for a catch when in the field even though its not out - i don't agree with that. The spirit of cricket is by and large still there.

As mentioned above, walters natural game involves a high level of ducking and weaving, yes he plays for them at times but there are plenty of times when he's impeded and no free is played.
He knows his natural gifts/strengths as a player and he works to them. It's not hard to see the pattern amongst the serial offenders - they're all shorter guys whose instinct has always been to avoid contact and not stand up in a tackle.
The throwing the head and feigning high contact $hits me as much as any footy follower, but I can understand that he's not ducking for that sole reason it's a by product of his stature and style

yep its getting embarrassing and i hate it when jack darling does it but now i will sound like a hypocrite if i criticize any eagles player