Warnock

E Shed

Fremantle Obsessive
Sep 10, 2006
Perth WA
I notice Gary Lyon made the point on Footy Classified that he thought it was great work by the Demons (to give their dog & pony show to Warnock) and there should be more of it. He went on to say that they had the first pick in the pre-season draft and needed to make the most of it. Lyon looked right at the camera as he said it almost as if he was sending a message (although I may be imagining that) I think that's a pretty clear warning sign (on national TV) that they intend to play hardball.

I thought one of the other panel members might say something in defence of Freo or our right to some compensation or maybe just make the point that Melbourne were bordering on unethical behaviour but not a peep. I suppose at least they don't even make a pretense of being even handed on that show.

There's no doubt that they'll play hardball. They'll offer their 4th rounder, we'll want their 2nd and hopefully both clubs agree to trade for their 3rd round pick (which is still a great deal for the demons). If they won't budge on an offer of their 4th round pick relations between the two clubs will be really strained.

If we get shafted I'd like to see him really targetted when we play them next year, make him earn every possession.

The reaction of the Connolly supporters will be interesting if a shitty deal or the PSD eventuates too.

maybe i am being really naive, but i am pretty confident that the two clubs will come to an agreement. pick 19 would get the deal done

ps i wonder how garry would have reacted if the shoe was on the other foot?

It would be interesting to see the reaction if Freo were to approach a few Melbourne players this week. I guess though most of their players are worse than ours, so they'd be happy to see the back of them.

I don't expect to receive anything for him and really don't care if he goes anymore - we have potentially the best ruckman in the league for the next 5+ years and have time to develop another. I would hope that he has the courtesy to inform the club of his intentions sooner rather than later.

maybe i am being really naive, but i am pretty confident that the two clubs will come to an agreement. pick 19 would get the deal done

The thing is, we had the opportunity to do this previously.

We didn't.

We bent over.

He probably would've given us his 'cook of the week' or whatever that lame excuse for a bake he does at the end of the show is called.

I wonder if we should send a contingent over to get in Cale Morton's ear just to piss Melbourne off. Imagine if we could talk him into demanding a trade home. That'd suddenly make negotiations a little more interesting.

I'm really starting to hate Melbourne. Pathetic club that only survives thanks to the scraps of others.

Maybe it's time we dusted off the projector and put our own little presentation together.

Moody or McGrath anyone?

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,24203584-5016169,00.html
The salary cap will pose problems for Brisbane leading up to the trade period as it attempts to meet the needs of its two best players, Simon Black and Jonathan Brown, while warding off poaching raids on young star Michael Rischitelli.

The Lions are in a rebuilding phase and face tough decisions on the futures of premiership veterans Tim Notting and Robert Copeland.

Ashley McGrath, Justin Sherman, Wayde Mills, Albert Proud and Matthew Moody are others believed to be out of contract.

It doesnt even bother me if he wants to go any more, i just hope a deal gets done, i reckon a third round pick would be pretty poor compensation for freo, we wouldnt want anything less than pick 19. if robbie and the demons do decide to screw us over, then you will find a similar relationship to what the slime have with the blues. no further trading will be done with melbourne untill we can shaft them. the whole process pisses me off, and it will only get much much worse when free agency comes in, then teams will REALLY get screwed over

Gary Lyon is a ****head. He is all talk but when it comes to actually doing anything he is as weak as piss. Always saying what Melbourne need but never doing anything to help the club.

I sincerely hope that club dies. Not merge like Fitzroy, but completely dissapears.

If warnock shafts us by entering the PSD then I hope football karma bites his arse and he plays only 20 games for the dees before injuries force him into early retirement. If he helps us secure a fair trade then all the best to him, I understand his desire to go home.

I think we'll learn a bit about the kids character anyway

First of all, I would hold nothing against Robbie if he decided to go to Melbourne. Because Fremantle could offer him more money and a better chance of success than Melbourne, but if he wants to go back to Victoria so badly that he is willing to play at Melbourne, then good luck to him because it means he would rather just play football at home with his brother than be successful.

As for a possible trade, I doubt Melbourne would go down the PSD route. These days, it's unlikely that a club would screw over another club. All the clubs generally have fairly good working relationships, and by screwing a club it will inevitably come back to hurt them. A fair but unlikely trade would be Warnock for either pick 17 or 19. A more likely trade would probably be their 3rd round pick (35) and their 2nd round pick (19) for Warnock and our 2nd round pick (22). So we would get a 3rd round pick and an upgrade to our 2nd round pick. It would still be better for Melbourne, but it wouldn't be the worst trade for us. Just please don't trade for players.

Having said that Warnock hasn't left us yet, and still seems a good chance to stay. Let's hope none of this even matters.

People are getting overly precious here.

Why should he be stopped from going home to further his career?

Lach I don't think anyone has a huge problem with him going home (we've certainly enticed our share to come back here), the problem lies with the fact that Melbourne appear set on sending him to the PSD and screwing us over. If he's happy to be a party to that, then I don't think he will have anyones respect, nor would he deserve it.

I seriously doubt he wants to go to MelbourneFC, his agent would be in his ear saying he might not get paid in a year or two if he does. However he may want to go back home... which is fine, because all he will ever be with us is second string whilst sandi is around. We don't want to pay some kid 500k to sit on the bench for us, our team isn't that stupid.

A deal will get done, just won't be with Melbourne. Their team is going to fold and the AFL are pretty much going to force this issue at the end of 2009. He could go to any Melbourne team who will offer their first round pick, even hawthorn maybe, that would be pick 15.

Lach I don't think anyone has a huge problem with him going home (we've certainly enticed our share to come back here), the problem lies with the fact that Melbourne appear set on sending him to the PSD and screwing us over. If he's happy to be a party to that, then I don't think he will have anyones respect, nor would he deserve it.

Cmon, we have people wishing him injury, which is lower than a snakes belly

The question is do we make a stand like the Power did with Stevens?

If the Demon's arn't going to offer us anything more than 4th round pick, from a pride perspective is it better to let the prick just go to the PSD?

If Warnock is as good as gone, lets start shopping him around to every other Melbourne based club.
Surely if Hawthorn gave him a little presentation it wouldn't take much for him to be convinced of the better club to play for.

If the Demon's arn't going to offer us anything more than 4th round pick, from a pride perspective is it better to let the prick just go to the PSD?

If Warnock is as good as gone, lets start shopping him around to every other Melbourne based club.
Surely if Hawthorn gave him a little presentation it wouldn't take much for him to be convinced of the better club to play for.

Melbourne have pick one Sabre.
I think that won't work. :D

Cmon, we have people wishing him injury, which is lower than a snakes belly

I think we've had one person do that. Everyone else is quite accepting that if he wants to go it's his choice, but don't want to see him screw the club. You know as well as anyone that some posters go overboard regardless of the topic.

Like Lach says, with Melbourne holding PSD pick 1 it doesn't really make any difference.

I'd be questioning the advice he's getting from his management. Unless he's desperate to simply play with his brother and has no other considerations, Melbourne would be the last place he should go.

As much as I dislike Richmond, I think they would be the best option for him career wise. Simmonds only has another year or two left and by that time Robbie should be ready to take over the #1 spot. I don't believe he will be ready for it next year and that is what Melbourne need (Jamar and Johnson are average back-ups at best). The other issue is if he's being paid big money, the expectation to perform will be high.

Warnock wants to come to melbourne because of his brother matthew warnock. We also could use another ruckman. To suggest that we would give you pick 19 for him is an absolute joke, especially when we can get him for free. Warnock was pick 42 for crying out loud, what makes you think that he has risen up from a 3rd round draft pick to a priority pick at the end of the first round. We lost scott thompson(10 times the player that Robbie Warnock will ever be) for pick 12 so we know what its like to be screwed over.

And Melbourne have a far younger and talented list than fremantles who struggle to have many talented youngsters outside palmer, ibbotson and mayne.

Nathan Jones, Sylvia, Mclean, Cale Morton, Stef Martin, S.Buckley, Bate, Maric, Garland and Wonaeamirri look to be shaping our future. Throw in Jack Grimes(2007 pick no.14) and Petterd(who is considered to be our most talented youngster) who are both returning from injury and our future looks considerably better than yours.

not to mention better 2008 draft picks. And financially speaking the AFL is continuing to loan us money each year. We were the first club in the afl and the afl needs the tradition in our game and thus, will not allow us to go under.

Warnock wants to come to melbourne because of his brother matthew warnock. We also could use another ruckman. To suggest that we would give you pick 19 for him is an absolute joke, especially when we can get him for free. Warnock was pick 42 for crying out loud, what makes you think that he has risen up from a 3rd round draft pick to a priority pick at the end of the first round. We lost scott thompson(10 times the player that Robbie Warnock will ever be) for pick 12 so we know what its like to be screwed over.

And Melbourne have a far younger and talented list than fremantles who struggle to have many talented youngsters outside palmer, ibbotson and mayne.

Nathan Jones, Sylvia, Mclean, Cale Morton, Stef Martin, S.Buckley, Bate, Maric, Garland and Wonaeamirri look to be shaping our future. Throw in Jack Grimes(2007 pick no.14) and Petterd(who is considered to be our most talented youngster) who are both returning from injury and our future looks considerably better than yours.

not to mention better 2008 draft picks. And financially speaking the AFL is continuing to loan us money each year. We were the first club in the afl and the afl needs the tradition in our game and thus, will not allow us to go under.

Bate, Sylvia, Buckley, Martin talented youngsters??? Spare me the bullcrap.

Whats Warnocks draft position got to do with his worth now. The fact he is in such high demand dictates his worth more then anything, and it seems he is worth quite a bit.

And your proud the AFL is loaning your club money?? Not a greta position to be in and they will only prop you up for so long until your shifted off to Sydney or Tassie.

I don't expect to receive anything for him and really don't care if he goes anymore - we have potentially the best ruckman in the league for the next 5+ years and have time to develop another. I would hope that he has the courtesy to inform the club of his intentions sooner rather than later.

If we could guarantee Sandi will be fit and playing well for the next 3 seasons Warnie would be no huge loss. But very few ruckmen go through their careers without a few injuries and if Sandi goes down for an extended period in the next couple of years we could be in deep shit.

Warnock was pick 42 for crying out loud, what makes you think that he has risen up from a 3rd round draft pick to a priority pick at the end of the first round.

What the F**k do's where we picked him up from have anything to do with it?????????????

What was James Hird tacken in the draft again?

So by your logic at 21 Jimmy would have only been worth a 6th round pick.

Hmm nice 1 idiot back to the melbourne board.

Warnock