Warnock

This from Today's West (I can't find the article online).

Fremantle believe they are in the box seat to retain Warnock, and feel that even if Warnock does seek a return to Victoria, he won't elect to join his brother Matthew at Melbourne.

Lets hope that's correct. :thumbsu:

This from Today's West (I can't find the article online).

Fremantle believe they are in the box seat to retain Warnock, and feel that even if Warnock does seek a return to Victoria, he won't elect to join his brother Matthew at Melbourne.

Lets hope that's correct. :thumbsu:

From listening to Duffield and co on pr this morning, Warnock is not convinced about leaving, but is looking at how much game time he can get at Freo.

Carlton are definitely a better option for us than Melbourne. I think most of us can cop it on the chin if he goes, but only if we get something in return. What WA youngsters do they have?

I'd still want picks. Selections 24 and 40 would be reasonably fair, or a pick and Eddie Betts?

Either channel 7 or 9 said a couple of days ago that if Kerr wants to go to Victoria the Eagles will refuse to deal with Carlton because they are still angry with what they got for Judd. If that's correct then it's good news for us if Warnock wants to go home.

I'd still want picks. Selections 24 and 40 would be reasonably fair, or a pick and Eddie Betts?

Either channel 7 or 9 said a couple of days ago that if Kerr wants to go to Victoria the Eagles will refuse to deal with Carlton because they are still angry with what they got for Judd. If that's correct then it's good news for us if Warnock wants to go home.

Thats rediculous, these guys are absolute professionals and its their game to screw each other over, they surely accept this.

From listening to Duffield and co on pr this morning, Warnock is not convinced about leaving, but is looking at how much game time he can get at Freo.

Dennis Armfield, Steven Browne.

Either of those + their 2nd rounder would work for me. :thumbsu:

Interestingly the guy from the Herald Sun, the one who reported the Melbourne 'presentation' was saying that with Carr going Freo may now have enough money for Warnock (which clearly we do, $2.2m and counting)? Did I miss something? I thought he was going back to Melbourne because he hates Freo and they treat him so badly? What's money got to do with it?

Does someone want to remind me what Warnock has done to deserve a big chunk of the 2.2 mil in the salary cap space? Being a sulky brat, gotten himself injured and generally been shown up by an honest workhorse in Kepler Bradley? :confused:

I think its important Freo doesnt pay thru the nose for Knockers.

We're going to have to pay a premium above his realistic value because of his attraction to other clubs but lets not get carried away for a player that has heaps of promise but needs to get the runs on the board first before we set him up for life.

Freo has in the past I think paid well over the odds for players and I think we need to get wiser with the $$. The Palmers and Maynes etc of the club are going to need and probably more than deserve hefty payrises in the next 12mths.

I think its important Freo doesnt pay thru the nose for Knockers.

We're going to have to pay a premium above his realistic value because of his attraction to other clubs but lets not get carried away for a player that has heaps of promise but needs to get the runs on the board first before we set him up for life.

Freo has in the past I think paid well over the odds for players and I think we need to get wiser with the $$. The Palmers and Maynes etc of the club are going to need and probably more than deserve hefty payrises in the next 12mths.

Agreed Shark, but Palmer, Mayne and Hinkley have all signed up for 3 years, so won't be out until the end of 2010. Having said that, we have a lot of players coming out end of 2009, so that money will come in handy.

I just find it interesting that 2 weeks ago Warnock was gone and Freo had no chance of keeping him, yet now the media are saying that we might have the $$ to hold onto him. I think they just make it all up as they go along.

He has only played about 15 games of AFL. He is not worth more than 100K/Year at the moment.

Let's go after people who want to play for us, not money, like Natanui

I just posted this in another thread - but probably more relevant here...

.... Noone else was prepared to take the risk that he'd ever be more than just a freakin' stringbean, and he's happy to walk from the club that gave him his opportunity. He's handled this whole thing poorly - example being when he stated at "Footy on the Road" that he might stay if he got more game time. He should not have assumed he was in a position to be bribing the club into giving him a game when his WAFL form was patchy at best. No individual is bigger than the club.

It certainly is looking more like melbourne is not his only option - so pack him off home to the highest bidder.

How about Warnock and our second round pick to Richmond for their first and third pick?
IN: picks 8 and 42;
OUT: Warnock and pick 21.

Or Warnock and our 4th round pick (53) to Carlton for Armfield and their second round pick (25).
IN: Armfield and pick 25
OUT: Warnock and pick 53

Or get Melbourne to get serious and give us their PP (#17).
IN: Pick 17
OUT: Warnock

I find it hard not to agree IP, but I'm still a little inclined to give Warnock a slight benefit of the doubt. Look at what his manager has done with Kerr at the weagles. He's assumed they will give him whatever he wants (long term deal on big $$$) because they've lost Cousins and Judd and he's the only marquee player they've got left. It's backfired. I just wonder how much he's been filling Robbie's head with visions of grandeur. I'd love to see him stay, but if he doesn't want to play for us we need to get the best deal we can.

.... Noone else was prepared to take the risk that he'd ever be more than just a freakin' stringbean, and he's happy to walk from the club that gave him his opportunity. He's handled this whole thing poorly - example being when he stated at "Footy on the Road" that he might stay if he got more game time. He should not have assumed he was in a position to be bribing the club into giving him a game when his WAFL form was patchy at best. No individual is bigger than the club.

It certainly is looking more like melbourne is not his only option - so pack him off home to the highest bidder.

How about Warnock and our second round pick to Richmond for their first and third pick?

Or Warnock and our 4th round pick (53) to Carlton for Browne and their second round pick (25).
IN: Browne and pick 25

I'd be happy with any of the above with just the one change in the Carlton scenario and that being Steven Browne instead of Armfield.

The thought of Browne running around with Palmer, Mayne, Hinkley, Ibbo and whoever we pick up in the draft is exciting:thumbsu:

I'd be happy with any of the above with just the one change in the Carlton scenario and that being Steven Browne instead of Armfield.

The thought of Browne running around with Palmer, Mayne, Hinkley, Ibbo and whoever we pick up in the draft is exciting:thumbsu:

fair enough. I was going to put Browne / Armfield - but I reckon they rate Browne higher and it might be more difficult to prise him away.

But you're spot on, and I'd go with that in a heartbeat.

Or Warnock and our 4th round pick (53) to Carlton for Armfield and their second round pick (25).
IN: Armfield and pick 25

Article in the sun proclaiming deal done with Freo and Dees swapping picks 3 for 1 and Freo sealing nicnat with first pick

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24268000-19742,00.html

After Friday night's season-ending win, Harvey said he wants another injection of midfield talent to lift a new-look Dockers toward finals next season. Harvey said his recruiting priority was more on-ballers after the outstanding success of first-year stars Rhys Palmer and Chris Mayne and the emergence of utility Garrick Ibbotson.
Palmer, 19, ended a stunning debut season with a 27-possession best-afield performance to lead Fremantle to a four-goal victory.

As many as six new young followers will be targeted.

Harvey said he would not trade early draft picks and there will be an emphasis on attracting more youth.

"It's about adding to our midfield with whatever selection we've got. We'll be ramping up our midfield as much as we can," he said.

Palmer and re-born midfielders Byron Schammer and David Mundy have been responsible for improved pace through the midfield.

"Our younger guys have injected some speed," Harvey said.

Harvey said Freo's improving indicators could encourage Warnock to sign a new contract.

If that's the case we have virtually given Warnock away for free.:thumbsdown:

There is every likely hood we will get Naitanui with pick 3 anyway.....that's the equivalent to Warnock going in the PSD.

If that's the case we have virtually given Warnock away for free.:thumbsdown:

There is every likely hood we will get Naitanui with pick 3 anyway.....that's the equivalent to Warnock going in the PSD.

I suppose what it does do is give us certainty. That was we get exactly who we want and not leave anything to chance - that melb might take Rich, and WC naitanui or vice versa. This was we get whoever it is we rate as the best kid in the country, rather than "whoever is left".

I'd still want their pick 35, though. That was at least we are getting something to offset the "free to the PSD" feeling...

If Melb end up with Warnock and Watts anyway - then we have been screwed. If we get pick 35, then at least we can add another player to our list as well.

Source?

Gets us choice and certainty NicNat or Rich but I feel we've been bent over. Especially if Carlton and Richmond are keen, we might get their first or second plus.

From what Harvs is saying I'd say it be Rich, Hartlett, Ziebell.

Source?

Gets us choice and certainty NicNat or Rich but I feel we've been bent over. Especially if Carlton and Richmond are keen, we might get their first or second plus.

From what Harvs is saying I'd say it be Rich, Hartlett, Ziebell.

Bent over for sure.

We were going to get NicNat or Rich anyway, we are effectively giving him away for nothing.
Shop him around to the Tigers/Collingwood/Carlton, let him sit down with those club and realise how much of a mistake it would be going to the demons.

Warnock