Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?

So you don’t actually have a point? At least we’ve cleared that up

But you sure showed me. I suggest players should be able to press assault charges and your response “omgz ur so offended!!1!2!1”
I've stated my opinion, refute it as much as you want.

Yes, I have specifically brought up Melbourne in an attempt to win the argument :straining: . Because that's what I truly care about. Continue crying about this situation, but just a warning, all that negativity and desire to be offendee isn't good for you. Just let it go, you will feel better for it.

I've stated my opinion, refute it as much as you want.

Yes, I have specifically brought up Melbourne in an attempt to win the argument :straining: . Because that's what I truly care about. Continue crying about this situation, but just a warning, all that negativity and desire to be offendee isn't good for you. Just let it go, you will feel better for it.
You’ve spent page after page in here whining.

So you point is that you want to state your opinion but anyone who responds is “offended”.

I responded to your point whining about police involvement. I’m not really sure how saying victims should be able to go to police is anything near “crying” or “offended”.

I really worry about the intellect of some people.

If any good is to come out of this, it will be a red card system that will genuinely reduce the events of these types of disgraces.

I don't follow this argument at all.

It was quite clearly a heat of the moment brain fade, he was obviously not thinking, this would only serve as a further penalty, not a deterrent.

For it to act as a deterrent you'd have to assume that Gaff had the intention to go out there and whack someone because there was no send off rule.

Another thing to consider, other sports have send off rules yet it hasn't stopped those kind of incidents from happening (by those kind I mean the type that get you sent off) - otherwise people wouldn't keep getting sent off right?

Wow. Another one.

This thread and discussion is about what Gaff did.
So precedent is not relevant to this discussion of how long his sentence would be? I don’t specifically agree with the posters point but I feel it is relevant to the discussion, feel your post would have been better aimed at people bringing in Lyon.

On the topic of 'Was this Gaffs last game for WC', does anyone else think the whole incident might actually increase his chances of remaining an Eagle? A lot of opposition fans hate him right now so it wouldn't look great for an opposition team to sign him. You'd think his value on the market has taken a bit of a hit so might bring him back more into the eagles budget. Winning the brownlow would have upped his value and cost him too. I also wonder how he would feel leaving West Coast with this as his final game legacy?

Having lived overseas for so long it's still amazese to see how PC people living in Aus try to be, some calling for Gaff to serve prison time, WTF has happened to you.
A young blokes made a big mistake, he's owned it and well and truly understands what he did is totally unacceptable, what's more it was a family friend and the father of the young fella injured has acknowledged it's out of character.
Good money says he's already been in touch one way or another with Andy Brayshaw.
So yeah he stuffed up, ruined another blokes season and will cop what he's given and owne it, but those suggesting gaol time and lifetime banes, GTFOH and grow a brain.

If gaff got him in the throat i reckon Bradshaw might be dead

Not sure if it’s been mentioned here, but the bit that I don’t get is, if he was aiming for his shoulder or chest, wouldn’t you think he would point to it when he saw he was on camera and was talking to Simpson on the bench, trying to explain himself, rather than gesturing and looking like saying ‘I don’t know what I was doing’

So precedent is not relevant to this discussion of how long his sentence would be? I don’t specifically agree with the posters point but I feel it is relevant to the discussion, feel your post would have been better aimed at people bringing in Lyon.
Yeah just ignore that Gaff instantly apologised and said he didn’t know why he did it.

If Brayshaw had said something despicable Gaff would have come out and said it straight away. He didn’t. His reaction after the enormity of what he had done set in, says it all.

But carry on with your rubbish.

A useful contribution like condemning the "line in the sand" game against the Bombers which plenty of Hawks greats, supporters and current admin get a hard on over repeatedly and celebrate (with a wink and nod).

Or is there a grandfathering clause on AFL violence (i.e. good before 2005, 2010 or 2001)?

No problem with Gaff getting a season ending suspension, but the hysteria is way over the top.

If any good is to come out of this, it will be a red card system that will genuinely reduce the events of these types of disgraces.

Nice deflection. You let your kids (or plan to let your future kids) us that excuse.

Neville Bruns says give him a 12 month suspension.

If gaff got him in the throat i reckon Bradshaw might be dead
There is less that 0 chance that brayshaw could have died from that hit no matter where he hit him. The damage that ocurred was likely to be the worst possible outcome for a hit of that force and nature.

Yeah just ignore that Gaff instantly apologised and said he didn’t know why he did it.

If Brayshaw had said something despicable Gaff would have come out and said it straight away. He didn’t. His reaction after the enormity of what he had done set in, says it all.

But carry on with your rubbish.
Hence why I said that I didn’t agree with the original posters point, I just feel it was still the wrong post to highlight as a previous punch off the ball is still precedent.

Carry on being offended though.

There is less that 0 chance that brayshaw could have died from that hit no matter where he hit him. The damage that ocurred was likely to be the worst possible outcome for a hit of that force and nature.

Bullshit

You’ve spent page after page in here whining.

So you point is that you want to state your opinion but anyone who responds is “offended”.

I responded to your point whining about police involvement. I’m not really sure how saying victims should be able to go to police is anything near “crying” or “offended”.

I really worry about the intellect of some people.
Where do you see me whining? Or are you just making shit up to suit your argument?

Before I continue this discussion I would just like to say that I’m not excusing his actions in the slightest and think gaff should get 6+ weeks. To put it simply it is immensely hard to generate enough power to kill some one with a punch particularly when they are front facing, most of deaths come from hitting the ground after. On top of that the way gaff punched was not capable of generating as much power as a typical left hook due to his arm remaining relatively straight through the whole swing. Not excusing his actions at all, he’s a ****ing idiot.

I'm not completely against the idea of a red card, it's something that would only be used around 1-3 times a year in extreme cases. Having Gaff out there was a danger to himself as he had a massive target on his back, also created a lot of tension between teams and increases the chance of things boiling over, increased the risk of a Freo player doing something in retaliation and getting a suspension, and also freo had the disadvantage of a player being down half the game.

I have a mate who is an umpire (not AFL yet) and thinks its pretty crazy so many levels of footy (i believe possibly even all levels?) have a card system but not the AFL.

Nice deflection. You let your kids (or plan to let your future kids) us that excuse.

Neville Bruns says give him a 12 month suspension.
You can call it a deflection, you can also call it a useful context for why football is where it is today. Fans and players celebrate acts of violence like the line in the sand or the demolition derby, you can feel the excitement when the 'biff' starts, then the horror when someone actually gets seriously hurt. Players have been throwing jabs and punches all season and no one has cared, then this incident highlights just what can go wrong when you swing a fist at someone.

I'm not a fan of red cards or de-registrations, for me, the best thing to come out of this would be a suspension for any punch thrown, regardless of whether it was 'insufficient force'. I still like the big hits and crunching tackles, but jumper punch someone, jab someone or belt someone, and you have some time on the sidelines.

Where do you see me whining? Or are you just making shit up to suit your argument?
Ah. So it’s only “crying” and “offended” if someone else does it. You’ve got a lot of posts in this thread complaining at people, hence “whining”

If only you could discuss the topic as well as you give out shitty childish potshots.

Although I think you need to use the terms “triggered” and “SJW” to get maximum effect.

Maybe in future if you are going to whinge when people reply, just don’t post.

You can call it a deflection, you can also call it a useful context for why football is where it is today. Fans and players celebrate acts of violence like the line in the sand or the demolition derby, you can feel the excitement when the 'biff' starts, then the horror when someone actually gets seriously hurt. Players have been throwing jabs and punches all season and no one has cared, then this incident highlights just what can go wrong when you swing a fist at someone.

I'm not a fan of red cards or de-registrations, for me, the best thing to come out of this would be a suspension for any punch thrown, regardless of whether it was 'insufficient force'. I still like the big hits and crunching tackles, but jumper punch someone, jab someone or belt someone, and you have some time on the sidelines.

Useful context is fine but that wasn't the spirit of the previous post. It was an attempt to either excuse Gaff or indict my opinion based on a Hawthorn brawl in 2004. Hence my response with Bruns' statement today, another useful distraction given Matthews' hit on him in '85.

Bruns says Gaff should get 12 months on the sidelines and to make sure the police stay out of it. Is he one of those biased types now that he's no longer a useful barometer for keeping the penalty on Gaff low?

Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?