Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?

"Once I saw him lying on the ground, I instantly felt sick. Mentally, I didn't want to keep playing. Physically, I was able to keep playing. But mentally, I felt shattered."

So sick you had to run off

Hopefully one thing that comes from this is Nisbett loses his job. How ****ing stupid can some one be?

Cameron had a shit record, and got 5 weeks for the identical offence (High, severe, intentional).

If you're correct we should see 4 weeks or less for Gaff.

We'll see more than 5 weeks for Gaff (I guarantee you) because the context of the offence is different.

I think a punch to the face is different to what Cameron did. If you think they’re the same that’s on you.

"Gaff's list achievements as a junior cricket player, tennis player and footballer are being read out by David Grace QC."

"Having read the full list of Gaff's sporting achievements over almost 10 minutes, Grace asks Gaff if he has ever been cited for any incident before Sunday..."

10 minutes well spent, I imagine.
Maaaaate, have you ever watched a trial or a tribunal appearance.

First, they don't know how severe the sentence will be. They don't pay a silk for PR expertise, and the man has both a reputation and client to protect. The latter is both an ethical and legal responsibility.

Which means no stone is left unturned. Every relevant mitigating factor, will be listed as a just in case. Imagine if they decide to deregister Gaff. Consider the fallout if the QC had done less of a job, because he was worried about the opinion of some numpties.

Second, prolonging testimony and the submission of evidence is a standard courtroom tactic. It's aim is to win concession on a point by attrition and typically to fatigue a jury, or wear them down on a piece of evidence/testimony. Sometimes they will ask odd drawn out questions, confuse and conflate basic information uneccessarily, use painful legalese and frustrate the jury, why, because muddying the waters or breaking the juries attention, obscuring salient points etc. is helpful.

- Andrew was mean to me.
- I only meant to break his ribs.
- Andrew ducked into it.

**** off.

Why would you use first names to differentiate the two parties when both have the same first name?

Gaff will say

'Was targeted all day'.

'He's a mate and I in no way intended for the strike to hit high or that hard. Brayshaws forward motion and crouched stance led to what was supposed to be a chest punch turn into a left hook to his face. That in no way condones what I did, but it is relevant that I was not trying to strike him high'

'Feel awful for what happened, and its totally out of character for me. I am remorseful and my early plea of guilty reflects this'
That approach makes sense to me.

WTF does his achievements as a junior have to do with knocking someone lights out?
Hes showing that unlike say for instance barry hall that he has never ever at any stage crossed a line on the sporting field in his life.

Will give more creedence to him arguing he intended to punch his chest.

Where another player may not be believed when he says that.

I was thinking 4, although he '' should '' get 6. Therefore I'll go in between and say he gets 5 and is back for the Grand Final where they get flogged by Richmond and he has 6 touches.

Maaaaate, have you ever watched a trial or a tribunal appearance.

First, they don't know how severe the sentence will be. They don't pay a silk for PR expertise, and the man has both a reputation and client to protect. The latter is both an ethical and legal responsibility.

Which means no stone is left unturned. Every relevant mitigating factor, will be listed as a just in case. Imagine if they decide to deregister Gaff. Consider the fallout if the QC had done less of a job, because he was worried about the opinion of some numpties.

Second, prolonging testimony and the submission of evidence is a standard courtroom tactic. It's aim is to win concession on a pint by attrition and typically to fatigue a jury, or wear them down on a piece of evidence/testimony.
÷ × = wut wut wut wut .

Interesting to see the differing views here as to Gaff's credibility.

Running off afterwards doesn't help him, but it is explainable. I hope he is asked why. He'll probably say he was slightly in shock, didn't realise how bad it was, instinct was to follow the footy etc. Probably a small piece of him also thought "maybe the camera didn't catch it". Easy to judge these things harshly in hindsight.

So sick when I saw that I dropped him with a hit to the face.... but still ran off like a coward.

Gaff is lower than a dog for letting this be his defence. Good character? Haha what a flog. It was the victims fault. He moved slightly.

It's obvious that:

1. Gaff was frustrated due to the tactics employed by Fremantle
2. He lashed out and tried to smack Brayshaw in the chest
3. He messed up his punch and smacked him in the face
4. The hit must have ended up in the worst possible place to end up in that much damage - unlucky for Brayshaw in that he will have to live with the injuries and Gaff that he will cop a much larger penalty due to the injury

Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?