Washup from Richmond game

• Thread starter Thread starter catempire

Relief mainly. Really needed to win that to have any hope going into the finals. It was by no means a great display but I think that was mainly due to the conditions and the way Richmond played the game - that is, slowing it right down, chipping it around, playing 2 loose men, etc.

It was encouraging to see guys like SJ, Mooney, Mackie and Kelly have good games again. We need them to be up and running for the finals.

The performance disappointed me, but was probably expected given the situation and what is coming next week.

Nice to get the four points, i trust the gameplan and intensity will differ next weekend.

The four points meant nothing and i would of rather lost given i would rather play the kangs then Melb, Melbs hard running midfield will cause up problems, our midfield looked sluggish today whilst our forward line is just pathetic and incabable i think of kicking big scores, also our defensive pressure from Nathan, Kinglsey and Playfair isnt good enough.

Don't have alot of confidence really and even of we win we then have to play w.Coast or Syd away and we wouldn't win either of those

Byrnes needs to come back in and add abit of zip in the midfield, Mooneu up forward more also is a option i like

We have been down for a while now so i am just hoping more then being confident of next week, we just need our talls to grab the ball, geez its frustrating to watch some times

anyway i wish the boys well next week

Was a horrible game to watch except that one moment of magic in the first quarter. Super mark by Young Gazza.

I am pretty happy with playing Melbourne. Neitz is gone, Miller is under a cloud, green, bruce (if the play are underdone). I think we will be successful.

I am still bitterly disapointed that Geelong earny the right to play a home final and it will be more than likely played at the MCG. MELBOURNE'S HOME.

Why can't a home final mean a home final? We should be permitted to play at Shell stadium regardless of the capacity.

WHERE IS THE JUSTICE?

Someone said to me today it would be better for us to have a close win than an absolute thumping, at least we won't be going into next week overly confident.

First quarter looked like we were going to run away with the game, Johno's goal in the second was just amazing, after that point it got fairly sloppy and defensive, but a win's a win and I can't wait for next week.

That game today was possibly the worst game of football that I have ever seen. For Richmond to start the game with two loose men in defence was an absolute joke, it was admitting that they were going to be beaten before the ball had even been bounced. Then there was the short chip kick game, which was understandable kicking in to the wind but they did not kick a goal against the wind, so did this work, I guess it did if Mr Solariums thought plan was to contain rather than attack. Yes we were lucky to walk away with a one point victory.
Then there is the issue of a home final, what sort of joke is that home final, we would have to be the only team in the competition that does not actually get a home final. But to make matters worse we are playing Melbourne and guess where there home ground is? Why not give us a final at our Melbourne home venue?????

dodgyhodgy said:
But to make matters worse we are playing Melbourne and guess where there home ground is? Why not give us a final at our Melbourne home venue?????

This infuriates me to the point of infuriation! Why are we the only team in the league to earn a home final but not actually get one? Our HOME ground is Skilled Stadium, weather it holds 3000 or 30000 we should play our finals there. Costa/Cooke etc need to get some !@#$%^ balls and go to the AFL and put the Clubs case forward. Don't get even just get angry :mad:

jacmitgee said:
This infuriates me to the point of infuriation! Why are we the only team in the league to earn a home final but not actually get one? Our HOME ground is Skilled Stadium, weather it holds 3000 or 30000 we should play our finals there. Costa/Cooke etc need to get some !@#$%^ balls and go to the AFL and put the Clubs case forward. Don't get even just get angry :mad:

Personally I think that you guys are making excuses before the fact if you are sooking about the game being played at the G.

It's finals footy and I for one want to be there in person to witness whatever happens (good or bad) without any excuses of geographical location.

Cast you mind back to last years finals series because there were bigger injustices inflicted on top 4 teams.......fin

I just glad we will be playing finals and that there was no injuries that came out of such an awful game yesterday.

Looking forward to seeing Nath play his first final.

GO cats.

tusk said:
Personally I think that you guys are making excuses before the fact if you are sooking about the game being played at the G.

It's finals footy and I for one want to be there in person to witness whatever happens (good or bad) without any excuses of geographical location.

Cast you mind back to last years finals series because there were bigger injustices inflicted on top 4 teams.......fin

Wake up and smell the roses tusk old boy, because from where I sit they stink!
I personally am not 'sooking' about playing at the G. My issue here is the 'Home Final' we have earnt but will never get. Aami stadium holds maximum 40000 & Subi 35000 - 38000 could you imagine if the AFL decided to move their home final to the G because the capacity is 60000. It would never happen but Geelong get 'pushed around' by the league heavyweights and just accept it!

della said:
The four points meant nothing and i would of rather lost given i would rather play the kangs then Melb, Melbs hard running midfield will cause up problems, our midfield looked sluggish today whilst our forward line is just pathetic and incabable i think of kicking big scores, also our defensive pressure from Nathan, Kinglsey and Playfair isnt good enough.

Don't have alot of confidence really and even of we win we then have to play w.Coast or Syd away and we wouldn't win either of those

Byrnes needs to come back in and add abit of zip in the midfield, Mooneu up forward more also is a option i like

We have been down for a while now so i am just hoping more then being confident of next week, we just need our talls to grab the ball, geez its frustrating to watch some times

anyway i wish the boys well next week

Glass half empty supporter of the year award goes to you sir!!

Are you sure you are not a Richmond supporter acting as an imposter?

jacmitgee said:
Wake up and smell the roses tusk old boy, because from where I sit they stink!
I personally am not 'sooking' about playing at the G. My issue here is the 'Home Final' we have earnt but will never get. Aami stadium holds maximum 40000 & Subi 35000 - 38000 could you imagine if the AFL decided to move their home final to the G because the capacity is 60000. It would never happen but Geelong get 'pushed around' by the league heavyweights and just accept it!
Keep at them mate, some people just don't get it.

tayls said:
Keep at them mate, some people just don't get it.

I get it tayls. I just don't see the point in complaining about the hand we've been dealt.

You can maintain the rage or get over it and make your way down to the peoples ground and watch finals footy which should be played in front of more then 20 odd thousand.

tusk said:
I get it tayls. I just don't see the point in complaining about the hand we've been dealt.

You can maintain the rage or get over it and make your way down to the peoples ground and watch finals footy which should be played in front of more then 20 odd thousand.
I am over it and i will be there on Saturday, i just don't like double standards.

Sammy D said:
I was pretty disgusted. First time in ages ive walked away after the match before the song has finished and the boys have left the ground.

Pretty bad effort considering the crowd hung around to farewell 1 (maybe) of Geelong greats from the cattery. Sanderson & Ricardi respectively.

Fingers crossed Riccardi heads around again next year and maybe clocks up his 300 games for the club. He deserves it.

Go cats! :D

jacmitgee said:

I would have thought that we should have least been given the phone dome given it is our "Melb Home Ground" when not playing in Geelong.

As frustrating as it is, don't forget Brisbane last year earnt a home prelim and had to play us at the MCG.

As for the game - one of the worst games I have seen for a while - happy for the 4 points, and maybe it is just me, but I thought we were slow to react to Wallace's game plan - it just seemed to be in Richmond's backline being chipped around forever without any pressure from us.

Ugly football - on the bright side there were some dazzling moments - something we havn't seen for a while.