Wayne Campbell

Captain Pee Pee leading the team.
Captain Courageous has just joined the coaching staff.
And the Captain from 'Gilligans Island' is coaching the Seniors.

We now have the greatest, bravest group of men leading the club since we formed as a club.

Upward and onward.....and retreat.

Ok, enough of all this bullshit. Its a shithouse decision and just shows how ****ing useless we are in being able to entice true "champions" to our club as part of coaching panel.

It stinks of Freezer and let's wait for the "jobs for the boys" mentality to begin to cancer our club like its been for the last 20 years.

Spare me the "champion player" comments too. I loved Campbell as a player, was gutted that he didn't make it to 300, but he was a very good player with long service to the team.

Let's also not forget that he has a history of being a dog of a bloke. He was more than happy to shop himself around to anyone that would listen.

My advice...

1) Terry, hide the knives.
2) Board, get a real champion player to our club
3) Freezer, **** off.

;)

Campbell retired only a few years ago so would be still fresh, they wouldnt need to break the bank to hire him. They need someone on a performance based contract rather than a big dollar long 5 year deal so they can scrutinise what happens.:o

Ok, enough of all this bullshit. Its a shithouse decision and just shows how ****ing useless we are in being able to entice true "champions" to our club as part of coaching panel.

It stinks of Freezer and let's wait for the "jobs for the boys" mentality to begin to cancer our club like its been for the last 20 years.

Spare me the "champion player" comments too. I loved Campbell as a player, was gutted that he didn't make it to 300, but he was a very good player with long service to the team.

Let's also not forget that he has a history of being a dog of a bloke. He was more than happy to shop himself around to anyone that would listen.

My advice...

3) Freezer, **** off.

;)

So Wally, just to clarify are not happy with the decision?

:D

Thanks, Kyusss.

Actually I'm secretly rather fond of the SasseGumm boy.
He adds that special something that's missing from other boards...

Apart from that, Wayne Campbell is well respected at the Dogs for his insights. IMO he will make a senior coach. Good luck to him now that he's back home. Always good to see players going back to their original clubs, especially after gaining experience elsewhere. I reckon Leon Cameron's a smarter coach as a result of the time he spent with you guys, albeit as a player.

Win for everyone with Campbell, hope Tiges fans feel the same.
Cameron played under one of the dumbest coaches in the history of footy in his time at Richmond . But to his credit, that dumbness never rubbed off on him and he was very instrumental in one of our rare forays into the finals. Was a positive trade for us getting him into Tiger colors, even if you guys also did well out of the picks you got for him.

Well done Richmond! Great to have a legend and champion of the club back where he belongs.

I suspect though the modern day rivalry of the Dog-Tigers will grow!

My advice...

3) Freezer, **** off.

;)

We finally agree

Thats great if we want to teach our players to pick up soft wide negative possessions and cause no damage going forward

And if we want a no brain dumb ass comment, we will look for your quotes! Great appointment back to the club. we have complained for years that no past players ever return, finally, here is one. Smart football brain, and don't forget all the doubters out there, he was a state rep, in teams that included harvey and the like. So he might have had some ability somewhere. But his 297 games versus your how many in the stands, there's no way he could out coach you:D

It has been said on PRE that Wayne is back as an assistant coach, reported in the Hun today, no link but apparently on page 115.

What are peoples thoughts?

Personally I think it is good he is back, he has had experience away from Richmond and now has come back to where it all started hopefully to tidy up some unfinished buisness.

Thats right, I am talking about flags he couldnt get as a player.

No idea about the Campbell situation, but I LOVE your username.:D:thumbsu:

My advice...

3) Freezer, **** off.

;)

Firstly, why do you need a former champion on the coaching panel? Plenty of good (and premiership) coaches were not champions.
Secondly, how much does a bloke have to do to be considered a champion? Strewth!
I think Campbell earned the right to look elsewhere - he couldn't have done much more in an ordinary team. I assume you've never left a job for something better.

Wally Wally Wally.
Have you forgotten that we have not really had what you would call a true champion of the game (although I believe that we have a few now) since the very early eighties.
Campbell is as close as we have, that would be any use these days.
Most of our true champions are in retirement villages now, they would be so out of touch with the modern game it is not funny.
Actually it is a really sad indictment on the club that this is the case.
Lest face it we let Hoggy captain the club so that speaks volumes.

PS Great to see Campbo back ...... A true Tiger if not a true champion!!:thumbsu:

One of my last memories of Campbell was him speaking to the press,

and let me just say I hope he has had the surgery done on his vocal chords since then

because it sounded as if he had been gargling gravel since birth

I never liked him as a player to be honest always felt he picked up soft possesions and was never very damaging even though he played a lot of games for us, but coaching is different to playing so good luck to him but i feel very uneasy about this appointment.

Yep, but the fact is, Wallace rated his mind when he was at RFC, and Eade rated him after seeing him for 2 years hands on as a coach. So there you go.

Should we go with people's impressions of him as a player from the grandstands, or go with impressions by those in the know about his intellect and capacity to coach?

Glad bigfooty doesn't have a say in anything...:thumbsu:

Thanks, Kyusss.

Actually I'm secretly rather fond of the SasseGumm boy.
He adds that special something that's missing from other boards...

Apart from that, Wayne Campbell is well respected at the Dogs for his insights. IMO he will make a senior coach. Good luck to him now that he's back home. Always good to see players going back to their original clubs, especially after gaining experience elsewhere. I reckon Leon Cameron's a smarter coach as a result of the time he spent with you guys, albeit as a player.

Win for everyone with Campbell, hope Tiges fans feel the same.
Gracious and intelligent post. Thankyou.

Campbell has always been in it for himself. And how long now before Nick Daffy rejoins the club as an assistant?

He wore No.9 on his jumper for a very good reason

a club legend? ease off guys, he stood out in a mediocre side. Legends are Dyer, Bartlett, Hart. This guy does is way off. He was also wanting to leave the club during his playing career so not a true tiger for me. What a great example to our young kids, a soft unaccountable footballer. If they plan for him to take over after Wallace then the place has lost the plot once again. Hope you stick it right up the TW and have a blinder of a year.

dont forget the richo man! :D

a club legend? ease off guys, he stood out in a mediocre side. Legends are Dyer, Bartlett, Hart. This guy does is way off. He was also wanting to leave the club during his playing career so not a true tiger for me. .

ease it up partner, KB entertained offers at one point also...the reality is he played his career in yellow and black as cambo did...I'd stop short of calling him a legend, a Tiger champ nonetheless...a regular Vic player and AA demonstrates the regard he was held in wider footy circles

So did Dyer and Weightman. This criticism that he wanted to leave so he isn't a true tiger is very selective and ignores the fact that a number of the legends of our club looked elsewhere before deciding to stay. The club was a shambles and Campbell was the only one from within to speak out. I've got no idea what he'll be like as an assistant, but he always had a good footy brain so appears as good a choice as anyone else.

Yep, but the fact is, Wallace rated his mind when he was at RFC, and Eade rated him after seeing him for 2 years hands on as a coach. So there you go.

Should we go with people's impressions of him as a player from the grandstands, or go with impressions by those in the know about his intellect and capacity to coach?

Glad bigfooty doesn't have a say in anything...:thumbsu:

Yeh, but Wallace also rates JON ! (There goes your point out the window)

Campbell served us well while we were all over the shop.
But Campbell was a cat! (Yeh, a lot were also like that back then)
But Cambo was Captain Cat.