ah_19

eagles
lets face it, if were going to be a power in 2-3 years we need kids, and kids playing, no hacks taking up valuable games

Cummings - trade -more or less useless
Banfiend - trade -getting slower, still lacks skill
Wilson -delist -was usefull, but face it no future, let buszan have a go
Matera-McIntosh "persuade" to retire
harding -dimboola thirds +10k and they might take him
wooden -trade
prior -i never wanted him at the eagles
donnely is gone
phil - possible trade for some low draft picks (lets face it forward pockets are quick midfielders who arent good enough to be rovers or wingman)
get rid of beek, and #47 (cant remember his name)
promot buszan leave mccarrey there for another year

and get some kids, develop them

How do you suppose to trade some of these players that no one wants?

Anyone who thinks a team full of rookies can be competitive before their confidence is shot has rocks in their head.

There should be an emphasis on rookies, but not quite as drastic as you mentioned.

If by 47 you mean Kris Miller(i don't know his number, but he is another rookie) then yo must be mistaken. He is a talented youngster, and he finished very highly in the Sandover. I have been watching him, he should be elevated i reckon.

Originally posted by ah_19
lets face it, if were going to be a power in 2-3 years we need kids, and kids playing, no hacks taking up valuable games

Cummings - trade -more or less useless
Banfiend - trade -getting slower, still lacks skill
Wilson -delist -was usefull, but face it no future, let buszan have a go
Matera-McIntosh "persuade" to retire
harding -dimboola thirds +10k and they might take him
wooden -trade
prior -i never wanted him at the eagles
donnely is gone
phil - possible trade for some low draft picks (lets face it forward pockets are quick midfielders who arent good enough to be rovers or wingman)
get rid of beek, and #47 (cant remember his name)
promot buszan leave mccarrey there for another year

and get some kids, develop them

Sorry but i dont agree with much of that. Matera, Milli and Banners all gone according to you. We may aswell throw away the heart and soul of the club aswell :rolleyes: Its been tough enough losing Icons of our great club like Lewis, McKenna and Kemp over the past 2 years. Matera, Milli, Jakovich..they represent what we were and can be again, they are vital to getting us back there or at least putting us on the right track.

Young teams dont win premeirships, balanced teams do, we mix the old guard like Jako, Milli, Matera, Banners with the new guard Cuz, Gardy, Wirr, Jones. We then hope to hell that players start taking that next step (Embly, Williams, Kerr, McDougall, Gaspar, Glass) then we use those picks to bring more youth to our team. Then when the proper time comes for Milli, Matera and Banners to retire (hopefully on there own terms instead of being forced with injury) then Cousins, Gardiner Jones ect will be thought of the same way i think of Matera and co.

I dont know about you guys but i still think of Cuz, Gardy, Wirr as the new kids. A distinct line is drawn between the guys that got us there and the guys that didnt. Not in a bad way, i mean that until Matera Milli and Jako are gone, then i will finally start to think of a new WCE. I dont think it is time as Ah-19 said to start the new WCE, we still need time and the wise old timers to show the kids how to win just like they did a decade ago..

Phew :)

I agree with what your basic idea is, ah_19, but i think you took it a bit too far. We should definately offload dead wood like Harding, Turnball, Cummings and maybe even Banfield. But not all our experience, they need to guide the youngsters.

Bring the young players in at a slow pace, let them settle in. You can't expect skinny 19+20yr olds taking on the best footy players in Australia and having any success.

The basic idea I think most people would agree with, get rid of dead wood and blood promising youngsters. There has to be a balance however, otherwise the young players don't learn properly. Thats why we need Banners, Milli and Roo for if be it, one more season each. That way, we have 3rd year players (Glass, Gaspar, Haynes & Munro) who have seen how the experienced players have played and can start playing like that themselves. We are lucky in that our rookie list this year has shown heaps of potential bar Beeck and I wouldn't be surprised if they are all retained. My 2 cents worth anyway...

Vis

I reckon our best bet is to trade away players for draft picks. Try and get as many top line picks as possible and develop our side again in 2002, and then start to make our move the year after.

I reckon with smart trading, we could end up with 5 picks in the top 30, which would be bound to give us a few up and coming stars.

We already have picks 3,6 and 22.

And i reckon we could trade Morrison and/or Braun for 2 late 20's pick, or offer both of them to St Kilda for a number 5 pick (and if we play with them hard enough we could possibly get a mid range player who may be able to offer something to the club). And i recokn we might be able to strike another deal together which would give us another top 30 pick, which should see us pick up some quality in the draft.

And i would definetaly not trade any of our draft picks unless we're going to get a genuine superstar, like Adam Goodes or Chris Tarrant and Trent Croad, but i dont think it will happen.

Does anyone know the exact ruling for the players on a clubs rookie list? Can they be kept for more than 1 year or do you have to either promote them or dump them after a season? As I've said all season, Buszan and Miller should be the 2 players promoted for next season.

I think the club has to look more to the long term future, than the short term. This means any player who is unlikely to be wearing an Eagles jumper in 3 years time should be delisted. The names of Harding, Turnball and possibly Banfield spring to mind.

I'm suprised no trade talks involving Cummings for trade picks/established players has been mentioned this week. I've got a nasty feeling that the club is being too generous to our injury prone players in Braun, Morrison, Prior, Sierakowski, Banfield... it's obvious that not all these players will be able to bounce back to their best - some hard decisions will have to be made.

Matera, McIntosh and Banfield all should be kept. The experience in these guys are vital to the club. Kris Miller should be kept as he is developing well and will have a future with the club.

I noted Adam Hunter's name was not on the list. I don't think he has a future in AFL football, he seems to be one of those good WAFL players who cant seem to step up to the next level......

Still, if he does get delisted and does not get picked up by another club, I'll be happy to see him playing in the WAFL for the black ducks.....:D

IMO we need to get rid of a couple of the knee injuries. We can't afford to rely on them all coming back from serious problems and playing at their best - and not suffering with repeat problems.

Obviously Morrison is our best bet to trade with and seems to be the one getting the most attention at the moment and apparently wants to go - I've never been one to want to keep guys that openly say they want to go.

Balance of longer term experience, mid-range & new young guys is the key. I would rather try & get some younger, potential mid-fielders than guys like Misiti. But, if any of Brisbane's midfield want to come over, I'd reconsider my thoughts on that one :)

Trent Croad still appeals to me - both skills & age.

I think this thread shows how important it was to sign our new coach before the trading period.
The main reason is that the coach could say who he wants to retain and who he wants to get rid of.
If Cummings (for example) was told he was no longer required, we could have traded him for at least draft picks rather than delist him for nothing,(if that is the case)
This applies to other players as well, such as Morrison, Prior and other injury prone players

I think the problem is that Morrison, Banfield and Prior all played pretty well for us in the early par tof the year so it is tough to get rid of them if they still have potential. Seira deserves a chance as he didnt get one this season.

Read is another recon but i think we all know he should stay. If he keeps hold of his temper he could be a really good player.

Originally posted by jod23

Read is another recon but i think we all know he should stay. If he keeps hold of his temper he could be a really good player.

Yes, we need Read, he adds a little colour to the Western Derbies....

:D