Sep 26, 2001
Deledio Wonderland
Southampton
Just looking at the kids. There will be recycled players and some from the state leagues as well. Probably 70-80 picks in total so need about 60 kids .. so here is 60 kids.

1. Adam Cooney - Western Bulldogs

Near unanimous choice. Clearly the best available.

2. Kepler Bradley - Carlton

Melbourne got too clever taking Johnstone ahead of Ottens. Carlton shouldn't do the same. Bradley is a freak who could really allow for some great mismatches.

3. Colin Sylvia - Melbourne

Dees need an inside midfielder. If they take Tenace, Dogs will take Sylvia. If they take Syvlia, Dogs won't want another outside midfielder so Melbourne can be cunning and get both Sylvia and Tenace.

4. Fergus Watts - Western Bulldogs

Tim Walsh at CHF and Watts at FF looks a lovely one-two punch.

5. Kane Tenace - Melbourne

A bargain at 5. Dees get an inside midfielder and a running wingman. Reminds a bit of Tingay.

6. Andrew Walker - Richmond

Richmond will be nervous here and might look to trade. Walker is not heaps different to Fiora, in fact Fiora is a better kick. If they could get Sylvia they would be happy, but might look to avoid having to take Walker. They need pace though.

7. Troy Chaplin - Geelong

Hard to pick what Geelong would need, hard to say who the best available player is. Tough spot. Chaplin is rated and a good bigman is normally a safe choice.

8. Raphael Clarke - St Kilda

Reunite the brothers. Raph Clarke is the new Steven Koops. Not quite as intense as his brother.

9. Ryley Dunn - Kangaroos

Flanker who needs to learn to play in the midfield. Looks a Roos type player.

10. David Mundy - Hawthorn

Hawks are never frightened of reaching for a player they like. Mundy is a good fullback who reminds of Hay or Graham. Their style of bigman.

11. Mathew Moody - West Coast

Don't know if they have given up on the Williams, Jones, Embley type flankers, but he is that sort of player.

12. Farren Ray - Fremantle

They love locals. They love soft, unaccountable outside players with pace.

13. Jay Nash - Essendon

Elegant half-back flanker. They love elegance at Windy Hill.

14. Billy Morrison - Adelaide

No real idea when he will be taken, but the Crows have a lot of veteran bigmen and so will be looking to get a good kid who can play key positions in a few years.

15. Brock McLean - Sydney

Swans look for character in their relocations and he has it in spades. Will love the SCG.

16. Tim Schmidt - Port Adelaide

A big bodied midfielder they can stash away for a couple of years. Would combine well with Salopek.

17. William Gayfer - Collingwood

Probably need pace, more than size but with the 2 Shaw boys in the bag they will look for key position.

18. Luke Peel - Brisbane

Have to start preparing the next generation of midfielders. Good wing prospect.

19. Clint Duienicki - Western Bulldogs

Rare to see a ruckman fall this far. He is not that good but is tall and they are desperate. Won't be any left by their next pick so have to take the best available.

20. Mathew Spencer - Melbourne

After adding two midfielders early they go for a bigman. Has a good junior career.

21. Ben Cosgriff - Richmond

Uility. They need a safe pick and this guy can play 10 positions and so that will help.

22. Jacob Surjan - Geelong

Always need pace

23. Brent Hall - St Kilda

Need a good ruck prospect.

24. Ricky Dyson - Kangaroos

He's quick and from the Northern suburbs. Monty for the Roos.

25. Andrew Eriksen - Hawthorn

Another club that needs a ruck apprentice. Act now or miss out as the run-on has begun.

26. Kyle Archibald - West Coast

Athletic freak who poses big mismatch problems. One who could go much earlier if a club is willing to reach.

27. Mathew Priddis - Fremantle

Into good ordinary player territory now. They may as well stay local.

28. Llane Spanderman - Essendon

They probably won't take a ruckman, but it they do we are scraping the bottom now.

29. Brad Symes - Adelaide

Just screams typical SA footballer. Slow maturing, good skills, not overly athletic.

30. David Trotter - Sydney

Rumoured to be the best NSW player available. Utility type.

31. Beau Waters - Port Adelaide

Decision to recruit Salpoek says they wanted tougher midfielders, Waters almost qualifies. More an undersized defender or flanker.

32. Brayden Shaw - Collingwood

Father-son winger.

33. Cameron Illett - Brisbane

Very good in very close. Smart little rover.

34. Shaun Daly - Carlton

Blues need everything but there is not much left. Daly can play in the midfield. Is a slow plodder, but they need someone to win the ball.

35. Scott Chalen - Western Bulldogs

A young full-back. Have to keep recruiting big blokes until they find a good one.

36. Chris Johnson - Melbourne

Father-son, undersized key-forward.

37. Tom Roach - Richmond

Father-son. Big reach for raw centreman

38. Mark Blake - Geelong

Father-son. Bargain to get a ruckman who can play even a little at this point.

39. Joel Campbell - St Kilda

Aboriginal half-back. In for a penny in for a pound. Need a bit of creativity out of the back-half.

40. Daniel McConnell - Kangaroos

Ahtletic CHB prospect. Pretty raw but the Roos like a big bloke who can run.

41. Chris Stewart - Hawthorn

They may need to restock on big blokes. allthough have a couple of developing talls in the 2s.

42. Josh Willoughby - West Coast

He is small, but quick. That might suit Subi best.

43. Michael Pettigrew - Fremantle

A bit more of a traditional FB than the options they have now.

44. Brett Stanton - Essendon

Flashy but inconsistant. Just how the Dons like them.

45. Heath Grundy - Adelaide

Good junior career. FB, might as well stash some big blokes, might get lucky.

46. Jake Furfaro - Sydney

Tough half-back. Swans don't mind recruting mid-sized key position types.

47. Darren Brakenridge - Port Adelaide

A key position type who was overlooked last year.

48. Heath Shaw - Collingwood

Father-son. Less talented winger.

49. Daniel Chidlow - Brisbane

The Lions have probably started passing their picks at this point.

50. Ben Jolley - Carlton

Winger with good stamina.

51. Jed Adcock - Western Bulldogs

Competitive inside player.

52. Theo Adams - Melbourne

Physically mature inside player.

53. Jarrod Silvester - Richmond

Desparatley need some big blokes. Good size, conventional CHB.

54. Ben Davies - Geelong

Sanderson can't play forever.

55. Andrew Lorimor - St Kilda

Extremely raw ruck prospect. Won't play for years.

56. Luke Taylor - Kangaroos

Utility type from traditional Roos hunting ground.

57. Brett Robinson - Hawthorn

Scrappy onballer. Help sell the Tassie adventure.

58. Ryan Murphy - West Coast

Raw CHB who is not performing as well as his rep suggests he should.

59. Adrian Curley - Fremantle

Handy onballer.

60. Nick Kane - Essendon

They love light, running key defenders.

Great work, Weaver. However I've heard a whisper that the Blues have already committed to Tenace, which may mean that Bradley falls to #4, allowing the Dogs to pick a quality tall early so they don't have to experiment too much further down the order

PS. Don't expect anything of this quality from me - I actually have to look like I'm doing some work here!!!

I have to agree. The general consensus among Blues fans is that we will take Tenace, and there is a rumour doing the rounds that we have already committed to him. He has the skills and the pace that we need. But all that could change after draft camp/trade week.

Originally posted by Weaver

Hope he doesn't end up here. Want him at Bomberland. Doubt he will go past Round 1. Very good effort though Weaver

If we get Chris Stewart at 41 I will cream myself. The guy has more raw talent than any tall in the draft. Chaplin may be more athletic, Gayfer may be smarter and Watts more physical but Stewart could be anything. Could be nothing as well.

Ericksen - please no. Mundy is a good player but I'd be surprised if we took him with a top 10 pick.

A lot of WA and SA players in the 2nd and 3rd rounds.

I've just started compiling my thoughts - only written up Qld and NT so far. The final draft camp lists will play a big part as well.

Big difference is I tend to ignore what teams have draft picks when evaluating players. So although Hawthorn might need a tall at 10, I may have Brock McLean there just because I have him as the 10th best youngster available. Although I usually just sort them into rounds after the first 20 or so.

Be surprised if Watts goes that high, and Jed Adcock would be a bargain in the 50's/

Very interesting reading.
I will be happy with Watts if Bradley is already gone.

If any early draft picks are exchanged the whole draft order changes significantly. If Brown, Stevens,Jacobs,Power,Bowden,Rawlings change clubs,top 20 picks will be involved which throws everyone's priorities around.

Great Effort, look forward to MK3 after October 17th.

half back? we aregoing midfield, midfield, midfield!
hmm remember that we have Walsh, Watson and Winderlich from last year. I think that we will go with a midfielder for the first pick and after that the best available, which means it could be Key back/faward anything. Does depend a little on who we can trade for aswell.

Good effort Weaver.

However, Callum Burges will be drafted and Lukas Teague from South Fremantle is also a fair chance. A club may also be willing to use a late pick to draft Brent Bususto (South Fremantle), Brad Smith (Subiaco) or Peter McGennisken (Peel).

Freo are still considering whether we should take Brett Peake (son of Bomber) under the f/s rule with our third rounder.

I'm hoping we will be able to take Matthew Moody (South Fremantle) with our first rounder and Jacob Surjan (South Fremantle) with our second rounder. Is there a chance that Moody will be available at pick 12 and Surjan at pick 27? Or will we have to trade for a lower pick?

Pretty good effort from a guy who obviously watches alot of junior footy.I am no expert but the guys I would have thought would go higher are

Trotter-Some people rave about him.I thought closer to top 15.

Stewart-Totally agree with Goalden Hawk.This guy is one of the few genuine pack markers in the draft.Should go earlier.

Waters-Should go higher IMO.

9. Ryley Dunn - Kangaroos

Flanker who needs to learn to play in the midfield. Looks a Roos type player.

40. Daniel McConnell - Kangaroos

Ahtletic CHB prospect. Pretty raw but the Roos like a big bloke who can run.

56. Luke Taylor - Kangaroos

Utility type from traditional Roos hunting ground.

Can you tell me more about Dyson, McConnell & Taylor

Would be very happy with Dunn at #9.. the word "brilliant" comes to mind.

If you have seen Joel Perry (#31 last years draft), how does he compare with McConnel?

Go Roos

I would not be suprised if Sydney took David Trotter with there first kid, they took local boy McVeigh last year.

Great Work Weaver.

Great effort Weaver.

I was looking forward to your phantom draft ;)

14. Billy Morrison - Adelaide

No real idea when he will be taken, but the Crows have a lot of veteran bigmen and so will be looking to get a good kid who can play key positions in a few years.
If he is as good as you have been saying I would be pleased. Who do you rate as better Gayfer or Morrison????? Can Morrison pinch hit in the ruck??????

29. Brad Symes - Adelaide

Just screams typical SA footballer. Slow maturing, good skills, not overly athletic.
If Beau Waters is still available I am sure we would choose him ahead of Symes. Waters is the sort of player Gary Ayres loves.

45. Heath Grundy - Adelaide

Good junior career. FB, might as well stash some big blokes, might get lucky.
Can you tell us something about him??????

Cheers;)

Good effort mate....but........

Take a good look at how many Draft Picks youve given Carlton after they have been banned from any picks outside of priority round (picks 2&5)....youve given them picks in the following rounds as well when there actually banned from participation arnt they????

And then not to mention that trade period will somewhat change the Draft order,....however if your absolutely correct then your a bloody genius and you can pick my Tattslotto numbers for me.

Well done weaver interesting to see moody so far up, Callum Burges not in and Pat Travers not being picked.
As a geelong supporter would be happy with chaplin but if Raph Clarke and especially Ryley Dunn or Brock Mclean was around would love him, hopefully N Ablett wants to play so our 2nd round may not be there.

if the Dees get Sylvia and Tenace you can pencil down a Demon premiership before theis decade is over

however, the Blues wont let tenace go, they will take him at 2